• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 19, 2005
  • Season #: 1
Surface Image
Metascore
39

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 295 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Ian Anthony Dale, Jay R. Ferguson, Leighton Meester
  • Summary: Strange creatures are found in the sea in NBC's sci-fi adventure which, unlike its last nautical series, is mercifully free of talking dolphins.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 23
  2. Negative: 12 out of 23
  1. "Surface" is steeped in Spielberg, and is better Spielberg than Spielberg has managed in quite some time.
  2. 60
    So far the stern-faced Lake Bell’s independent-minded oceanographer is too conventional a protagonist, while the series’ government cover-up thread... feels globally warmed over.
  3. This by-the-numbers entry is pretty damn toothless. [23 Sep 2005, p.81]
  4. 38
    There isn't a moment of wonder or suspense in Surface, or a single performance or character that is even remotely involving.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    30
    The best thing about "Surface" thus far is NBC's promo campaign, which, sliced into bite-sized bits, actually makes the program look considerably better than it is.
  6. There's nothing particularly appealing about any of the folks having the close encounters.
  7. One of the lead characters is an evolutionary biologist, which makes sense, since there's not a lot of intelligent design here.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 9 out of 229
  1. MinaH
    Feb 4, 2006
    10
    Ignore the know-it all, seen-it-all critics and professional cynics. "Surface" has great storytelling and is consistently well acted and Ignore the know-it all, seen-it-all critics and professional cynics. "Surface" has great storytelling and is consistently well acted and written. This is a great deep sea mystery/conspiracy yarn that maintains multiple suspenseful storylines with just the right mix of action and human drama. Lake Bell is (surprise!) terrific. Expand
  2. TroelsM
    Nov 27, 2009
    10
    I loved this show, and was very dissapointed when they cancelled it.
  3. Brad
    Apr 17, 2006
    10
    GREAT SHOW,,, cannt get enough of it .. to find out at the end of the season that its man made ,, WOW,, Cannt wait for season 2,,, GREAT SHOW,,, cannt get enough of it .. to find out at the end of the season that its man made ,, WOW,, Cannt wait for season 2,,, Cheer's Mates keep it up Expand
  4. NancyW
    Aug 15, 2006
    10
    One of the best sci-fi programs I have ever seen! I could hardly wait for the next show. I really got attached to the story line and the One of the best sci-fi programs I have ever seen! I could hardly wait for the next show. I really got attached to the story line and the people in the show. I can't believe they cut this show, every one of my friends are/were Surface junkies Expand
  5. PaulL
    Sep 9, 2006
    10
    NBC needs to fire those in charge of cancelling surface. Great show---bring it back please!
  6. rong
    Jul 11, 2006
    9
    I think that critics look too hard for what's wrong, instead of giving it a chance first. all of my family and friends loved this show, I think that critics look too hard for what's wrong, instead of giving it a chance first. all of my family and friends loved this show, and were disappointed when it was canned. what a shame. i still hold out hope. the plot has a lot of potential, the effects are good, and the characters are genuine people you root for. Expand
  7. Dan
    Jan 27, 2006
    0
    Suckage. If you want good sci-fi, watch Stargate SG-1, Stargate Atlantis, and/or Battlestar Galactica. On Sci-Fi channel 122 (satellite). New Suckage. If you want good sci-fi, watch Stargate SG-1, Stargate Atlantis, and/or Battlestar Galactica. On Sci-Fi channel 122 (satellite). New episodes every Friday. Watch it. The Neilson meter will look good if you do. Expand

See all 229 User Reviews