• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 2, 2011
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Aug 2, 2011
    50
    CSI producer Jerry Bruckheimer and Amazing Race producer Bertram Van Munster combine the worst elements of their shows for this six-episode time-killer.
  2. Reviewed by: Keith Staskiewicz
    Jul 29, 2011
    50
    It's a relatively interesting premise, but once the interrogations start, it turns silly very fast.
  3. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Aug 2, 2011
    50
    Keep the money and run like hell if you're tired of reality shows that border on surreality.
  4. Reviewed by: Jon Caramanica
    Aug 1, 2011
    70
    This sometimes gripping show isn't so benign. First, the adversaries are worthy.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Aug 1, 2011
    60
    The show (slated for a six-episode summer flight) represents a breezy diversion, with obvious potential to return and plug a gap left by a canceled series come fall.
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    I really looked forward to this new show after having seen the previews and advertising but both episodes to date have been a big let-downs. Whimpering men falling to pieces after a day and a half in solitary confinement have been the downfall of both pairs of contestants. What's up? I mean really! I have to assume that the interview process has given ABC a list of psychological train wrecks to choose from. This evening I got to watch some guy crumbled into a heap on the floor crying that he can't take it any more and that someone took his tooth brush. Maybe $100K isn't enough money. They do after all live in Chicago. Am I the only one who feels this way? Full Review »
  2. Aug 17, 2011
    8
    Although not perfect, the show provides an entertaining hour (especially during the "hide" stage) based on an exciting premise. The main problem with the show was most obvious in the first episode--an over-emphasis on interrogation vs. detective work. In the episodes that followed; however, we saw that if the detectives put more effort and creativity into solving the puzzle, it made a more entertaining and nail biting hour of television. I would still like to see less of an emphasis on interrogations--but that is difficult to remove from the show. The producers should take care, though, to pick investigators willing to go the extra mile to find the case, otherwise, the show will go bland. Full Review »
  3. Aug 24, 2011
    6
    OK so it's quite hard to hide a box of cash in an hour. But I'm surprised, I mean really surprised that these contestants fall to pieces during their 48 hour lock up. They go in knowing it isn't for real and what the payoff will be but they go all flabby and start whingeing about it being so HARD to endure the interrogative part of the show. I mean, go to sleep already and keep your mouths SHUT. How hard can it be? Full Review »