• Network: ABC
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 2, 2011
  • Season #: 1
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 24, 2011
    6
    OK so it's quite hard to hide a box of cash in an hour. But I'm surprised, I mean really surprised that these contestants fall to pieces during their 48 hour lock up. They go in knowing it isn't for real and what the payoff will be but they go all flabby and start whingeing about it being so HARD to endure the interrogative part of the show. I mean, go to sleep already and keep your mouths SHUT. How hard can it be? Expand
  2. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    I really looked forward to this new show after having seen the previews and advertising but both episodes to date have been a big let-downs. Whimpering men falling to pieces after a day and a half in solitary confinement have been the downfall of both pairs of contestants. What's up? I mean really! I have to assume that the interview process has given ABC a list of psychological train wrecks to choose from. This evening I got to watch some guy crumbled into a heap on the floor crying that he can't take it any more and that someone took his tooth brush. Maybe $100K isn't enough money. They do after all live in Chicago. Am I the only one who feels this way? Expand
  3. Aug 17, 2011
    8
    Although not perfect, the show provides an entertaining hour (especially during the "hide" stage) based on an exciting premise. The main problem with the show was most obvious in the first episode--an over-emphasis on interrogation vs. detective work. In the episodes that followed; however, we saw that if the detectives put more effort and creativity into solving the puzzle, it made a more entertaining and nail biting hour of television. I would still like to see less of an emphasis on interrogations--but that is difficult to remove from the show. The producers should take care, though, to pick investigators willing to go the extra mile to find the case, otherwise, the show will go bland. Expand
  4. Aug 11, 2011
    5
    Maybe an idea is great, but Take The Money and Run is just too boring. Great series for detectives lovers, but it's nothing special for a rest of human population. By the way- Is it necessary to have a family member with cancer to get into the show?
  5. Aug 6, 2011
    8
    I really like this show. It is funny, and very unique. The way the detectives work is very neat to watch, and it is great to see the two different "criminals" and how they deal with being interrogated.
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Aug 2, 2011
    50
    CSI producer Jerry Bruckheimer and Amazing Race producer Bertram Van Munster combine the worst elements of their shows for this six-episode time-killer.
  2. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Aug 2, 2011
    50
    Keep the money and run like hell if you're tired of reality shows that border on surreality.
  3. Reviewed by: Jon Caramanica
    Aug 1, 2011
    70
    This sometimes gripping show isn't so benign. First, the adversaries are worthy.