• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 28, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (2012) Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 2 Critics Awaiting 2 more reviews What's this?

User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 34 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Sean Astin, Mae Whitman, Kevin Michael Richardson
  • Summary: Leonardo, Michelangelo, Donatello, and Raphael return in the third animated series with Sean Austin, Jason Biggs, Rob Paulsen and Greg Cipes providing the voices to the heroes in a half shell.
  • Genre(s): Animation, Action & Adventure, Kids
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Oct 3, 2012
    83
    They almost seem to jump off the screen; they have depth and dimension, and vivid colors proliferate. This new series retains its trademark humor, and trademark violence, too
  2. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Oct 3, 2012
    80
    It's loud, silly, rambunctious -- in short, just what most 9-year-old boys were born to like.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    I grew up in the 80s and 90s, I bought the toys, watched the movies, and ate the pizza, not since I was a kid has the Turtles captured my imagination, the folks at Nickelodeon has really done their homework and made something special, I can not suggest tuning in with your own little ones enough... TURTLE POWER!! Collapse
  2. Mar 13, 2013
    10
    I'm in my late 20's and was a fan of the original show. This version is absolutely amazing! They really did a fantastic job at pleasing the old fans but making sure the main priority was simply a great show to watch. It is fun and does not have that procedural feel many Saturday morning cartoon shows (even the decent ones) have. The voice acting is awesome. The pacing, dialogue, humor, all wonderfully done. It's intelligently written and genuinely funny. The cross focus on character development (significantly more characterization) and story, as well as the action and humor is superbly balanced, and is (what I think) what makes the show so fun to watch. It also has substance in it, but manages to do that without having to resort to cheesy cliches. I'm really amazed and happy with what they did with this series. Many reboots of 80's shows fail. This one has taken everything good from the previous incarnations and embellished it all with the most tasteful creative decisions; breathing new life into a worthy franchise. Expand
  3. Nov 12, 2012
    10
    As a 27 year old male this show brings back a fantastic nostalgia of my childhood. The show retains much of it's original qualities, improves in other areas and 1 only have one complaint, Mikey's mask tails are too short, a guy like Mikey if anything would be the one with the long mask tails, so that's ass backwards but they really have done an amazing job. I find myself even chuckling at the show quite often, almost as if they knew people my age would tune in lol, it has great humor, it's a bit tougher even but I am hoping it gets a bit more rugged, it doesn't have to be much tougher since children will be watching it, but I think it could be pulled off; the acting is great the visuals are mind blowing. I do sincerely hope they change Mikey's mask tails since he was and is always gonna be my favorite; this is a highly recommended show. Expand
  4. Aug 9, 2013
    9
    I really like this show its a predecessor to my original favorites of the tv show from 2003 but the movie was a big disappointment. This show gets everything right the story is the same as always and its different actors prizing their roles as the turtle. I thing I have a big issue with is that I miss the old actors the people were way different. I even watch the movie event that came out. Expand
  5. Nov 6, 2013
    9
    Let me say that this series has totally got me back into TMNT. I'm 32 years old, and the cartoon when I was a 9-10 years old was one of my favorite things ever.. Then the live action movie came out. Then the sequel. Then the horrible time-travel sequel, and I really lost interest, and kind of grew up.

    I tried to give the 2003 cartoon a watch, and the live action tv show they had, but both were atrocious in my opinion.. They tried to give each turtle a Razor Scooter, or something stupid like that. (I thought they skateboarded?)

    The 2007 TMNT move was pretty solid though, imo.

    Enter the 2012 series. It's nothing but brilliant. The writing is intelligent enough for older viewers without being inappropriate for younger viewers. The series has awesomely animated fighting scenes, and some of the best CG animation on TV ever. The voice cast is excellent, and does a terrific job of really giving each turtle his own identity.

    This show really hit the nostalgia button hard with me. I turned it on to almost see "how they screwed up the turtles THIS time" and got stuck on a 3 hour marathon on Nickeloden.
    Expand
  6. Oct 8, 2012
    8
    This version finally understands what so many versions before have failed to (and only the film series seemed to realize): that wise cracks and different weapons was never enough to differentiate the turtles themselves. Every one is a well developed character in it's own right, and every one has distinct methods of interacting with it's siblings. For example, watch as Raphael feels superior to Michelangelo and Donatello, but attempts to tear down Leonardo's confidence. It's a welcome change, and an exciting one. And the writers clearly understand how much the brotherhood between the turtles is worth - for once we have a TMNT series without an obligatory audience surrogate - a decision I fully welcome, as an "outsider" would interfere with this formula and recenter the focus from the brother's interaction to 'dealing with the outsider and it's antics". It would have been easy to drop in a 16 year old Casey Jones to match the 16 year old April, but the series doesn't stoop to that level. What's most exciting about this new iteration is that it doesn't want to stand on the shoulders of any previous version. It doesn't want to manufacture a version of what's "cool" like the original series, nor does it want to be westernized anime like the 2000's series (or a sentai show like the best-left-unspoken live action one). Instead, it wants to be Mars Attacks. It has a pulp sensibility modified by more modern stylistic choices, and is very jarring at times. But the sudden shock is the point, and it uses some of the same tricks that made Invader Zim work so well.

    Some of the humor does fall flat, and the third episode is too formulaic for my tastes (despite Lewis Black's role, which he does a fine job with). But this version of the turtles we all know and love is more than just a new advertising scheme made to sell toys. It has a beating heart, one driven by some amazing writing and a solid grasp of comedic timing and tension. Speaking as a 30 year old man I've subjected this new show on all of my friends, and every one of them has liked it. You can find it streaming on Nick's site, commercial free. They may not say Cowabunga anymore, but don't worry. It's better this way.
    Expand
  7. May 23, 2014
    2
    This probably should be higher, and I really really REALLY want it to be, but I'm stuck on something stupid. I just CAN'T get past the graphics! It's not the graphics really, it's the art style. Throughout the comics the styles changed continuously, but I just can't get past it with this new show. Shame on me. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews