• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 13, 2008
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 135 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The Terminator franchise arrives on TV with this serial drama. The series picks up a year after the events of Terminator 2: Judgment Day with John and Sarah Connor hiding from the government. After two years in one place Sarah decides they need a change of scenery and in doing so they exposeThe Terminator franchise arrives on TV with this serial drama. The series picks up a year after the events of Terminator 2: Judgment Day with John and Sarah Connor hiding from the government. After two years in one place Sarah decides they need a change of scenery and in doing so they expose themselves to FBI Agent James Ellison and Skynet's army of Terminators including Cameron Phillips a reprogrammed Terminator sent to protect John. She informs them that Judgment Day was not stopped and will take place in 2011. John convinces Sarah to stop hiding and fight so Cameron takes them to a time machine the resistance has set up to take them to the year Skynet was created 2007. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Science Fiction
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. 88
    The Sarah Connor Chronicles" begins as an intense, thoughtful, exciting, fun spectacle. The first episode will kick your ass.
  2. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    80
    Under director David Nutter and show-runner Josh Friedman, the first two hours roll a slick brand extension off this profitable assembly line.
  3. One of the more humanizing adventures in science fiction to arrive in quite a while, the series is taut, haunting, relevant and an exploration of adolescent exceptionalism rendered without the cheerleading uniforms and parody of “Heroes.”
  4. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    80
    Humans vs. cyborgs in a movie spin-off that's surprisingly effective for fans of both action and character drama.
  5. While it's hard to predict how this new chapter will play among deeper fans of the "Terminator" mythology, the rest of us have to ask ourselves if watching reboots of robot battles once a week is worth our time.
  6. Some die-hards may be frustrated by inconsistencies in the timeline with "Terminator 3," but unless you get overly wrapped up in the details of time travel, tonight's pilot is an intense adventure.
  7. By the time the second hour comes on Monday and tries to give these characters some dimension, you already know that the talent on both sides of the camera simply isn't there to make this a worthwhile trip.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 52
  2. Negative: 5 out of 52
  1. OnticT.
    Feb 5, 2008
    10
    Great show, a must keep. Hope they don't cancel this one.
  2. EmmanuelB.
    Nov 6, 2008
    10
    Probably the best show on TV today ! Great story, characters and actors.... I was very septic before I saw it, and now, I can't wait to Probably the best show on TV today ! Great story, characters and actors.... I was very septic before I saw it, and now, I can't wait to see the next episodes. Expand
  3. Jan 28, 2011
    10
    Long-time terminator fan here. I thought the shows were engaging and action packed! Characters are true to the movies, and the additionalLong-time terminator fan here. I thought the shows were engaging and action packed! Characters are true to the movies, and the additional story in between the movies is definitely welcomed. Collapse
  4. BenI.
    Jan 15, 2008
    9
    One of my favorite franchises hits TV with a bang! I love Lena as Sarah Connor and Summer Glau makes a great terminatrix.
  5. TheSwami
    Feb 24, 2008
    8
    A good, solid entry into the action genre. If you like the Terminator movies, it goes without saying you'll probably like this. My only A good, solid entry into the action genre. If you like the Terminator movies, it goes without saying you'll probably like this. My only complaint is the issue that the plot of this series somewhat ignores the plot outline from the third Terminator movie. That being said, it is still more than worth watching, and certainly better than 99% of the reality show garbage on TV today. Expand
  6. Mar 26, 2013
    7
    Its different, i know that. If you are expecting an exact same replica of Terminator 2 then you are in the wrong place. It focuses less onIts different, i know that. If you are expecting an exact same replica of Terminator 2 then you are in the wrong place. It focuses less on action and more of the emotional side of the whole ordeal, I'm not saying that it hasn't got action in it because it has plenty! The action scenes don't follow too much on James Cameron's massive flamy explosions and focus more on Terminator vs Terminator melee fighting and on the guns, but unfortunately doesn't quite live up to the state of the art visuals of T2, mostly because of the budget constraints... the visuals mainly suffered when it showed full CGI endoskeletons or when it showed people shooting lasers at HKs or just in general really. Even though the characters are different to the originals, I reckon the actors bring on a new side of them. Some acting that I would have nag about is that of the Terminators that are sent back, they just don't get it. I mean some of them are actually really good (e.g Garret Dillahunt as Cromatrie/John Henry, Summer Glau as Cameron and the machine from Sarah's dream in the pilot episode: Aaron Cash.) Others just can't do it, I know they're robots but when they walk and talk they aren't completely robotic, some of the people just presume that their movements are stiff and limited but they can actually move quite freely (like humans). So overall this show brings a lot of warmth and humanises the Terminator franachise Expand
  7. johndoe
    Jan 14, 2008
    0
    im assuming these good reviews are a kind of conspiracy due to the writers strike. the entire industry needs this show to do well because its im assuming these good reviews are a kind of conspiracy due to the writers strike. the entire industry needs this show to do well because its their obi wan (only hope). i cant imagine real, intelligent television reviewers such as brian lowry at variety actually think this show is decent. the times called it "relevant." what does that mean? this show is garbage. really really bad. viva laughlin bad. no viva terminator. Expand

See all 52 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Movies

    Ranked: The Best & Worst TV Shows Based on Movies Image
    Published: June 11, 2014
    Making the jump from the big screen to the TV screen is something that few television shows have pulled off successfully. We look at the best and worst film-to-TV adaptations of the past 30 years, including shows like The Returned, Fargo, and Buffy the Vampire Slayer.