Terra Nova : Season 1

  • Network: FOX
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 26, 2011
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Sep 28, 2011
    50
    Nothing in this pilot is as compelling as the idea for the show, which begs philosophical and ethical questions that Spielberg and company (for now, at least) aren't interested in addressing.
  2. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 26, 2011
    50
    The slowdown of the show's pace is one thing, but the real issue here is that the family element often feels inauthentic and just isn't up to the quality of the CGI-fueled action sequences.
  3. Reviewed by: Troy Patterson
    Sep 26, 2011
    60
    Indeed, it is hard to knock Terra Nova overall, such does it succeed on its own terms, which involve working over the pituitary brain and the sympathetic soul.
  4. Reviewed by: Mike Lechevallier
    Sep 26, 2011
    50
    It's no mystery how the overproduced Terra Nova managed to turn out so drastically underwhelming.
  5. Reviewed by: Jonathan Storm
    Sep 26, 2011
    40
    The show lacks important elements that have been available to storytellers for 2,000 years, most notably compelling character development.
  6. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Sep 26, 2011
    60
    The idea that in the long-ago past there were differing versions of how to reinvent humanity's future could make for compelling drama, and those kind of story lines are more likely to be more intriguing than what will transpire among the Shannons, unless this bland family's character development takes a great leap forward very quickly.
  7. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Sep 26, 2011
    60
    After you've suspended about a 10-year supply of disbelief, Fox's new epic drama Terra Nova turns out to be an okay adventure story.
  8. Reviewed by: Marisa LaScala
    Sep 26, 2011
    60
    There's a lot of clunky setup, a lot of piece-moving to send the main characters back to Terra Nova, and a lot of explaining of rules once they get there.
  9. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Sep 26, 2011
    60
    The question is what they'll be given to do going forward, beyond generic relationship material, domestic comedy and the occasional action set piece.
  10. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Sep 26, 2011
    58
    Terra Nova certainly doesn't lack ambition and scope, which is a plus. But its first two hours fall short in the storytelling department.
  11. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Sep 22, 2011
    60
    There is a lot of potential in this series. It's just a shame that it appears to be veering away from something completely different--something darker and more sci-fi and ambitious, and settling into the feel-good, be-safe vibes of both Jurassic Park and Avatar.
User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 303 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 111
  2. Negative: 40 out of 111
  1. Sep 27, 2011
    1
    Incredibly awful writing. Inconsistent characters and annoying out-of-the-blue emo son who suddenly, inexplicably blames his dad. PoorIncredibly awful writing. Inconsistent characters and annoying out-of-the-blue emo son who suddenly, inexplicably blames his dad. Poor production value on the sets. Wooden acting. No subtlety to the story. Really, really, really bad. It's like George Lucas wrote it. Full Review »
  2. Sep 26, 2011
    2
    A 65 average critic score for this debacle of a show? Are you serious? I just wasted 2 hours of my life that I can't get back. I was hopingA 65 average critic score for this debacle of a show? Are you serious? I just wasted 2 hours of my life that I can't get back. I was hoping for way more of a sci-fi/adventure type story but this ended up being a soap opera in the prehistoric days. Awful, really really awful. Do not waste your time with this show as it will be canceled during the first season. Full Review »
  3. Sep 27, 2011
    7
    Terra Nova was a very entertaining show. As with most pilots, the groundwork is laid for what may be a fantastic ride. Some questionsTerra Nova was a very entertaining show. As with most pilots, the groundwork is laid for what may be a fantastic ride. Some questions answered, many more left for us to discover during our weekly visit. The production quality (i.e. FX) are pretty decent for a TV show, I didn't walk away with that cheesy feeling you often get just after watching a program that tries to pull off too much. All in all, I think the pilot did a good job of filling us in on what we need to know while giving us a reason to return, and I will be returning. Maybe I'm a sucker for anything Sci-fi, but I like the premise, the actors and the stage that has been set for future content. Now they just need to keep it up. Full Review »