• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 26, 2011
  • Season #: 1
Terra Nova Image
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 290 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Jason O'Mara, Rod Hallett, Shelley Conn
  • Summary: In the year 2149, humankind seeks escape from the polluted Earth by traveling to the past to establish a new colony.
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Drama, Science Fiction, Science
  • Creator: Craig Silverstein, Kelly Marcel
  • Show Type: Ended
  • Season 1 premiere date: Sep 26, 2011
  • Episode Length: 60
  • Air Time: 08:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Sep 21, 2011
    83
    As a weekly series, the effects need to remain impressive and the writers need to avoid falling into "Lost" and "Walking Dead" band-of-survivors rehash.
  2. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Sep 26, 2011
    75
    The Shannons overall are about the last reason I would recommend this show, after the cool visuals, some effective action set pieces and the expected strong supporting performance by Stephen Lang.
  3. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Sep 26, 2011
    75
    If they keep the cute at bay for more dinosaurs and dirty dealings, this should be a great ride.
  4. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 26, 2011
    67
    So long as the dinos roam, Terra Nova has a future.
  5. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Sep 26, 2011
    60
    The idea that in the long-ago past there were differing versions of how to reinvent humanity's future could make for compelling drama, and those kind of story lines are more likely to be more intriguing than what will transpire among the Shannons, unless this bland family's character development takes a great leap forward very quickly.
  6. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Sep 26, 2011
    60
    The question is what they'll be given to do going forward, beyond generic relationship material, domestic comedy and the occasional action set piece.
  7. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Sep 26, 2011
    30
    By the end of a couple of episodes, most viewers will be wishing Spielberg and his henchmen had spent more time on scripts and less on special effects, even if it meant splicing old outtakes of Barney and Friends into the action sequences.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 109
  2. Negative: 40 out of 109
  1. Sep 27, 2011
    10
    Premise is good and it has a lot of potential! I will be tuning in to see where it all goes. The pilot of any show is always a work in progress but few have the potential, this is one of the few! Expand
  2. Dec 13, 2011
    10
    Our family loves this show. Writing isn't always great, but it has a good theme we all enjoy. If someone can't appreciate what terra nova brings to the table, it's only because they don't realize how hard it is to find a show that's interesting for parents, friendly enough for kids, and doesn't shove god up your a$$ with that combination. It's a television series. It's not a movie. Different budgets. Not disappointed with special effects. We hope there are more seasons to come. We will be very disappointed if it gets canceled. Expand
  3. Sep 28, 2011
    8
    I think I can some this show up by saying that if Earth2, Jurassic Park, and Lost had a baby it would be Terra Nova. I think this show could have a great future. The dinosaurs looked a bit too cartoonish at times but this was the pilot episode and one can only hope the CGI will get better. This was far better than anything you would get from the Syfy network in production value. I am extremely curious what direction the show will take. I think there will be no middle ground with Terra Nova by episode ten people will either love it or hate as was the case with Lost. Expand
  4. Sep 28, 2011
    5
    A disappointment. Terra Nova managed to use all the clichés within one and half hour. This show does not know what is wants to be, and that's exactly what it is. It's everything from a family drama to a teen love story mixed up with some random action elements. The cast isn't that convincing because of some annoying characters, and I'm not just talking about the bad acting. This pilot is being eaten alive, question is... will help come in time? Expand
  5. Sep 27, 2011
    4
    One can see the same crap on the sci-fi channel with better cheesy effects and the same stupid plot points! Is Spielberg afraid to show a man-eating dino killed by humans? Peter Jackson and James Cameron are better fantasy directors and producers! I'll try to stick with it, although it could get as boring and soap opera laden as Falling Skies! Expand
  6. Oct 15, 2011
    2
    One of the most important things for lending credibility to fictional characters is them them ask the questions and think the thoughts that normal human beings in their place would ask and think. The characters in Terra Nova fail doing so over and over again, leading to a cast made up mostly of zombies, staggering their way through badly written storywork. While the basic concepts of time travel, pollution and exodus are all potentially interesting, the execution is very bad. The Terra Nova colony is doomed to fail, because it's colonists have neither any frontier spirit, not much in the way of brains to make up for it.

    Yet, sometimes when stories and acting are bad, at least the design, props and special effects make up for it a little bit. This is not the case here, unfortunately. The visual impression suggests that someone went through the concept art trashcans of Jurassic Park, Avatar, Earth 2 and Lost, then picked all the worst pieces he could find and copy them badly.

    It is not a complete waste of time, but it is second to almost anything.
    Expand
  7. Oct 29, 2011
    0
    Opps- my review for this went on as a 10. Definitely not what I wanted so this evens things out. Default ratings really shouldn't be ten. And where is the edit option??? Expand

See all 109 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. A Second Look: Critics Reassess the New Fall Shows

    A Second Look: Critics Reassess the New Fall Shows Image
    Published: October 11, 2011
    Nearly one month into the fall season, some new shows are holding up better than others. We survey critics and recappers to get the latest consensus about over a dozen new series after their second, third, or fourth episodes.