• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 8, 2010
  • Season #: 1
Terriers Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 107 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Laura Allen, Donal Logue, Rockmond Dunbar
  • Summary: Donal Logue plays Hank, an ex-cop who partners with his best friend to launch a P.I. business. The duo solve crimes while trying to avoid danger and responsibility.
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Drama
  • Creator: Ted Griffin
  • Show Type: Ended
  • Season 1 premiere date: Sep 8, 2010
  • Episode Length: 30
  • Air Time: 10:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. 100
    Here's one of the most offbeat new shows of the new season. Also one of the best. [13 Sep 2010, p.48]
  2. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    80
    Like its characters themselves, Terriers has higher aims, but its appeal comes from being likeable and familiar. It balances its running storyline with individual cases, carried largely by Logue and Raymond-James' charm.
  3. 80
    Every so often, a show arrives and instantly feels lived-in, like a comfortable old couch with slight depressions in all the right places. FX's Terriers is one of those shows, beautifully torn and frayed from the get-go.
  4. 80
    Terriers teases out both the pleasures and the perversities.
  5. Terriers is unlike any private detective series and it more than upholds FX's tradition of original programming with clever writing and solid acting.
  6. Logue and Raymond-James are, straight out of the gate, the two most believable and funny buddies you'll see on the screen.
  7. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    25
    It's lackadaisical, weary, bland and off-center.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. Oct 26, 2010
    10
    "Terriers" is currently my favorite show. It's smart, funny, well written, and well acted. Best written show I've seen in awhile. Dialogue"Terriers" is currently my favorite show. It's smart, funny, well written, and well acted. Best written show I've seen in awhile. Dialogue and story telling. The characters are so well drawn. Complex and real. I don't see how anyone wouldn't get absorbed in Hank's and Britt's lives, if they give the show a chance. Too bad more people aren't watching. It's much better than any program on network. I hope FX sticks with it based on critical reception. Collapse
  2. Jun 4, 2011
    10
    My husband started to watch the show with me and became a huge fan. He felt the hour was too short. We both looked forward to seeing theMy husband started to watch the show with me and became a huge fan. He felt the hour was too short. We both looked forward to seeing the show the following week. We are sorry that they took off the show. Maybe USA can pick it up since they have such good shows. Expand
  3. Jan 24, 2013
    10
    Terriers first (and unfortunately only) season was near perfection. The story was captivating and the characters were interesting. TheTerriers first (and unfortunately only) season was near perfection. The story was captivating and the characters were interesting. The biggest thing that sets Terriers apart from the competition is its believability. I have never felt more connected to a group of fictional characters. Highly recommended. Expand
  4. Nov 2, 2010
    9
    Smartly written, well acted and an obvious refusal to go overboard. There is a simplicity to the shows format but a true depth to both theSmartly written, well acted and an obvious refusal to go overboard. There is a simplicity to the shows format but a true depth to both the characters and the world they inhabit. You can enjoy it for the witty humor, original story lines or (hopefully) both. It is still too early to tell if there will be a larger arc to this first season but the first 5 episodes string together nicely to encourage the viewer to keep up and to also make itself accessible to new viewers. Few shows this new season seem to offer the same fun and attraction that Terriers does. Try the first three episodes on and you'll have a very good picture for what you're in for. More than likely, you'll like what you see. Expand
  5. Dec 19, 2010
    9
    This was one of the best new shows on telly and I find it hard to take that a show of this quality, gets cancelled after an amazing firstThis was one of the best new shows on telly and I find it hard to take that a show of this quality, gets cancelled after an amazing first season. When you see some of the long running and painful garbage that just keeps going and going... anyway don't let the fact that this show has been cancelled put you off from an amazing first season. Great cast, fresh and funny r.i.p terriers. Expand
  6. Oct 8, 2010
    8
    This show is really growing on me. Big fan of Donal Logue and the guy from TrueBlood does a great job as well... How catchy is that damn theme song?!
  7. Dec 28, 2010
    3
    Terriers begins a right ship that heads in the completely wrong direction. The two main stars have great chemistry outside of "Hank" beingTerriers begins a right ship that heads in the completely wrong direction. The two main stars have great chemistry outside of "Hank" being unrealistically altruistic at times. The episode by episode cases as well as multi-episode plots than transpire in the first half dozen episodes are well paced, however this is unfortunately a short lived peak for the show. We are then treated to soap opera like themes, endless cliffhanger sub-plots, uninspired cases and no overall direction related to the fact that they are two guys doing PI work. If you are looking for cases of romance and infidelity this is your show. If you are looking for a show mainly about two guys and their endeavors as PIs this is not a good place to look, Expand

See all 32 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks

    2010-11 TV Scorecard: The Best and Worst Shows and Networks Image
    Published: May 3, 2011
    It's time for our annual look at the best and worst of the past television season. Find out which first-year broadcast and cable shows impressed critics and users the most, and see how the major networks compared.
  2. 2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7]

    2010 Television Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 7] Image
    Published: December 13, 2010
    Over the next month, we
  3. Fall 2010 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows

    Fall 2010 TV Scorecard: The Best & Worst New Shows Image
    Published: November 2, 2010
    Now that all of the season's major new series have debuted, we reveal the fall television season's winners and losers.