Texas Ranch House : Season 1

  • Network: PBS
  • Series Premiere Date: May 1, 2006
User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 43
  2. Negative: 7 out of 43

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. DedeB
    Jul 13, 2006
    1
    I watched only one episode, the one where the ranch hands got reamed & Moira was sent to train for the ride. I was so appalled by the actions & behavior of the Cooke family that I will not watch anything else. I grew up in the Northwest & my grandparents & their parents were true ranch families. I believe the Cooke family forgot the purpose of the show, it was to be lifestyle of the I watched only one episode, the one where the ranch hands got reamed & Moira was sent to train for the ride. I was so appalled by the actions & behavior of the Cooke family that I will not watch anything else. I grew up in the Northwest & my grandparents & their parents were true ranch families. I believe the Cooke family forgot the purpose of the show, it was to be lifestyle of the 1860's! The women were thinking & behaving like they were in the 21st century. Mr. Cooke at times seemed to get a glimpse of the purpose of the show, but his wife would not let up on him. I am all for equalness among the sexes & stand up for these beliefs today, but this show was based in the 1860's! I applaud the cowboys for staying true to the cowboy rules, even when the ranch owners were so ignorant! They truly took the high road & led by example. This was the only good thing in the whole show. Expand
  2. AnthonyC
    Jun 19, 2006
    0
    stinks
  3. R.R.L.
    May 21, 2006
    1
    The Cooke family apparently didn't realize that they were supposed to leave the new century behind and fully participate in showing us life on a Texas ranch in the late 1800s. That means keeping up the garden and washing the dishes, not laying around in petticoats making little dollies while the flies gather. Mr. Cooke didn't get it either, mistakenly applying present-day The Cooke family apparently didn't realize that they were supposed to leave the new century behind and fully participate in showing us life on a Texas ranch in the late 1800s. That means keeping up the garden and washing the dishes, not laying around in petticoats making little dollies while the flies gather. Mr. Cooke didn't get it either, mistakenly applying present-day terrorist negotiations to what should have been a "historically aware" and respectful relationship with the native Americans. Putting his own spin on the situation with Jared's horse was the last straw, and his dismissal of Jared, at Mrs. Cooke's behest, resulted in the loss of all the cowboys. Yet the Cooke's seemed to leave the experiment, thinking that their ranch would succeed. Huh? I see on the PBS web site that there are resources for teachers to use in the classroom. Other than costuming and scenery and watching the cowboys do their work, there's more here to confuse our young people about this period in history than to inform and enlighten them. PBS, if you plan another program of this kind, would you please do a better job of interviewing and screening the families who participate? Expand
  4. DonnaA
    May 21, 2006
    2
    Come on... these people couldn't get their act together if you lite a fire under their ass. There were a few of the cow hands that seemed to really try and some that even knew exactly what they were doing. But of course, all that got screwed up by the Cooke's.
  5. crystalp
    May 5, 2006
    2
    The Cooke family was by far the most chilling self-serving family with the worst work ethic on the ranch. I really didn't like this show.
  6. JimZ
    May 4, 2006
    1
    The Cooke family, beginning with Mr. Cooke, were about as feckless a group of people I've ever seen, even on an entertainment/reality project such as this. Were they deliberately chosen for their treachery and incompetence?
  7. joellineo
    May 4, 2006
    3
    The review of 3 is for Mr. and MRs. Cooke, Moira, the first cook, the first head cowboy. I'd give a 9 or 10 to the regular cowboys! Mr. Cooke is an idiot-wimp, Mrs Cooke is a "rhymes with witch," Moira is pathetic in her 21st century feminism. These 5 people were are the result of exceptionally poor casting by the producers and directors of the show. If, as they also did in Colonial The review of 3 is for Mr. and MRs. Cooke, Moira, the first cook, the first head cowboy. I'd give a 9 or 10 to the regular cowboys! Mr. Cooke is an idiot-wimp, Mrs Cooke is a "rhymes with witch," Moira is pathetic in her 21st century feminism. These 5 people were are the result of exceptionally poor casting by the producers and directors of the show. If, as they also did in Colonial House, they can't find people who will absolutely agree to leave behind their 21st century sensibiliites and politcal correctness, and sign a contract to that effect, they should not even be considered for inclusion in the show. There also should be intelligence tests administered to these people! What person of even average intention would leave out rotting food for 8 days in 100+ degree temperatures? What "cowboys" would refuse to have a night watch and then spend 3-4 hours every a.m. re-rounding up the cattle who strayed during the night? Etc. Etc. I think I'll stick to the British re-inactments in the future. They have, certainly, some of these flaws, but many, many fewer people who seem just to want to be on TV!. Expand
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. 30
    A plodding series that really just proves life was unrelentingly hard and pretty monotonous in the not-so-wild West.
  2. "Ranch House" is engaging, droll commentary on the American dream and how we became the nation we are today.
  3. So it turns out that being cowboys isn't so romantic after all. It's also mighty slow-moving from an entertainment standpoint.