The 100 : Season 1

  • Network: The CW
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 19, 2014
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 578 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Feb 5, 2017
    6
    Very off and on . The original concepts are few and far between but are nice to see and it is hard to enjoy when so much agenda is being forced down your throat and so many characters appear to be created to fit a particular political viewpoint. Add to that the oh so trendy adult teenager cast
    The show had potential , but every-time it got to a good place it seemed to ruin it with the
    Very off and on . The original concepts are few and far between but are nice to see and it is hard to enjoy when so much agenda is being forced down your throat and so many characters appear to be created to fit a particular political viewpoint. Add to that the oh so trendy adult teenager cast
    The show had potential , but every-time it got to a good place it seemed to ruin it with the criticisms listed above . Overall , not horrible and it is watchable . If trying at times . But it could so easily of been improved
    Expand
  2. Feb 16, 2017
    5
    I used to be the biggest fan but that was just in season 1 and 2. They were really my cup of tea and even though there was too much relationship drama I loved it. In season 3 it became too unreal, too weird and too twisted. I lost my interest. Season 4 actually looks like something I could love again so I am giving it a shot but I don't know if it can come back to where it used to be. TheI used to be the biggest fan but that was just in season 1 and 2. They were really my cup of tea and even though there was too much relationship drama I loved it. In season 3 it became too unreal, too weird and too twisted. I lost my interest. Season 4 actually looks like something I could love again so I am giving it a shot but I don't know if it can come back to where it used to be. The characters either became really annoying or they died and there's too much of something that really doesn't feel good but I just can't name it. Expand
  3. Jul 8, 2014
    6
    this show lost me after a few episodes, too teen orientated i decided. pretty weak story and characters. then whilst bored i gave it another shot. i found it progressively improves throughout th series. i put this in the watchably trashy scifi basket. nothig about it is great, but there's enough to keep low expectations satisfied. lot's of people dying is aplus
  4. Nov 25, 2014
    4
    While 'The 100' offers some taut tense moments and an intriguing science fiction premise, it tumbles right into unavoidable young adult trappings with cheesy dialogue, forced love triangles and plot clichés.
  5. Mar 20, 2014
    6
    I have to admit, I was slightly disappointed by quite a few elements of the pilot. Having got a sense of what the show was about from the exciting, suspenseful and highly genre-specific trailer, I knew what to expect. Intentionally however, the trailer doesn't give you any backstory as to why the 100 are sent to earth 97 years after it's been abandoned. You find out why in the pilot andI have to admit, I was slightly disappointed by quite a few elements of the pilot. Having got a sense of what the show was about from the exciting, suspenseful and highly genre-specific trailer, I knew what to expect. Intentionally however, the trailer doesn't give you any backstory as to why the 100 are sent to earth 97 years after it's been abandoned. You find out why in the pilot and its disappointing. Essentially, the 100 are sent to earth as punishment, to die, and possibly to send back some trivial scientific information. Certainly, the 100's survival on native Earth can still make for a very cool show, however, there is no sense that they are on an epic mission, like they could have been. Rather, they are just abaondened and stranded and we know they are going to start dying in the masses, moving the show from Sci-fi to elements of horror and survival adventure, like "The River" which was promptly canceled after its first season.

    This isn't to say I didn't enjoy the pilot, I did, it was decent as far as pilots go, and the previews for the rest of the season looked very interesting and I will certainly continue to watch this highly anticipated series.
    As for things they did right, there are plenty of sci-fi elements which play to fans of the genre, a recognizable cast of mostly veteran tv actors, and beautiful high-budget CG that from what we've seen so far, Rivals Terra Nova.
    Expand
  6. Jun 12, 2014
    4
    After Episode 1:

    since the "Nuclear pocalypse" ... Come on mr Director. TAKE 2 ffs.The opening sentence of the series. It's not like you have to buy film by the foot in this day and age. And if you mean to say "time is money" your crew's time is worth a lot less if the result of your endeavors is sub par. Also. Radioactive Half Life means "Forever" in practice not an arbitrary 100
    After Episode 1:

    since the "Nuclear pocalypse" ... Come on mr Director. TAKE 2 ffs.The opening sentence of the series. It's not like you have to buy film by the foot in this day and age. And if you mean to say "time is money" your crew's time is worth a lot less if the result of your endeavors is sub par. Also. Radioactive Half Life means "Forever" in practice not an arbitrary 100 years.

    The wrist bands send back complex real time bio data. Yet are unable to send a few characters extra with a message?

    Do not use a tourniquet to bind off a flesh wound, only an arterial bleed. This is about the worst example you could set for helping someone after an accident. This gets people killed.

    A bundle of vines tied together magically transforms into a rope ?? Was the rope attached to a magical cloud floating over the middle of the river?

    Absolutely absurd. You take your audience for idiots. This sin't science fiction . This is just a half baked tall fairy tale. It's not about budget , it's about giving a damn. It's about continuity , it's about putting in an EFFORT. You have no excuses.
    Expand
  7. Apr 18, 2014
    5
    All the good reviews here are hormonal teenagers. All the bad reviews are cynical old-timers. This show is obviously targeting the teenage audience, so in the end it matters what they say. They will probably watch this show because they don't know any better and could care less about the quality of this show. It will probably get renewed for a second season. However, that's sad because IAll the good reviews here are hormonal teenagers. All the bad reviews are cynical old-timers. This show is obviously targeting the teenage audience, so in the end it matters what they say. They will probably watch this show because they don't know any better and could care less about the quality of this show. It will probably get renewed for a second season. However, that's sad because I expect more from the CW (mostly because of Arrow). This show's plot is illogical a bit and cliched. The actors there are chosen simply for looks. (All of the 100 are juvenile delinquents yet they look like models. The girls and boys are too attractive to be believable.)

    As others pointed out, why not send scientists to earth? Or a robot or a drone? Not the teenagers convicted of crimes (some major, some minor) who will surely rebel and screw up. How come they don't have better technology to communicate with the 100 then stupid bracelets/collars? How come there are mostly Americans? Few or no Asians, Hispanics, and African-Americans. Or are there, and I just don't remember because I don't really care about the show and it's characters? This is the first show I feel like giving up on, which is weird because I watch shows until the last episode. It could improve, but how much?

    Read my other reviews on a wide variety of movies and TV shows and please mark my review as helpful.
    Expand
  8. May 22, 2014
    5
    Well I was willing to give the show a chance but the writers are painting themselves into a corner, and any ways to build stable character growth are becoming cloudy with a chance of fail! I like the idea but the over entitled thinking with to quick a plot does not give me hope I will continue to be a fan or even watch. I'll get back to you on that, was 8/10 declined to 5/10
  9. Apr 4, 2014
    5
    There's no doubting that Sci-Fi is hard to pull off on TV. One thing that The 100 does better than most is its spectacular visuals. When you look beyond the surface, however, you've got a show that isn't really all that noteworthy.

    First of all, there's no exciting personalities whatsoever. Bellamy, the show's figurehead for chaos, is the only character that is remotely memorable, but
    There's no doubting that Sci-Fi is hard to pull off on TV. One thing that The 100 does better than most is its spectacular visuals. When you look beyond the surface, however, you've got a show that isn't really all that noteworthy.

    First of all, there's no exciting personalities whatsoever. Bellamy, the show's figurehead for chaos, is the only character that is remotely memorable, but the latest episode, "Earth Kills", it seems the writers have taken a lot of his edge off. He previously suffered from bad to average dialogue (like the rest of the bunch) but his "do whatever the hell you want, when you want" motto did a lot of damage in the first two episodes. I'd hope his attitude would come back in future episodes if I had the patience to watch more. He's certainly a hell of a lot more interesting than the others when he's disrupting the already fragmented order. For long-term storytelling, when you realize that you don't care for any of the characters, it's hard to incentivize coming back week after week.

    What really pushed me into pulling the plug on this show was its blatantly obvious Lost rip-offs in "Earth Kills". Did that toxic cloud of smoke remind you of anything? Good ol' smokie definitely came to my mind (this is also hugely similar to something in last year's Catching Fire). Also, those flashbacks sprinkled throughout absolutely screamed Lost at the top of its lungs. Hell, Bellamy's personality (and the writer's odd decision to soften both them) reminded me a lot of Sawyer. And there were instances in both franchises when someone was screaming from pain, and conflicts arised on whether to put him out of his misery or save his life. Less obvious 'refrences' come when the characters find a hatch and a vehicle, and decide to hunt boar of all things, but these things add up. The show is already very Lost-esque with its visuals, mysteries, and the fact that Earth has its own version of The Others. You'd think that The 100 would try to do more than distinguish itself.

    So, in short, if you like Lost and The Hunger Games... re-watch Lost and The Hunger Games.
    Expand
  10. Mar 26, 2016
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm hooked on this show, but it features a monumentally flawed premise, terrible logic, and some of the worst, most bipolar characters I've seen in any TV show. If you're thinking of watching it, and don't mind me spoiling some plot devices--only the horrible parts--read on.

    SPOILERS BELOW
    The most basic premise is alright. 97 afters a nuclear apocalypse, a group of survivors on a space station are running out of oxygen. They send 100 juvenile delinquents to Earth fully expecting them to die from radiation exposure but hopeful that they won't. Okay, I can live with that. But then things get stupid.

    This space station, the Ark, is made of 12 international space stations. Why does everyone speak English? 97 years is not long enough for 11 languages and cultures to up and vanish. This was the first case of faulty internal logic. I could forgive it. The 100 have been launched to Earth. Obviously they survive, or this show wouldn't exist. Thing is, they later discover that it's not that the Earth is radiation-free, it's that their genetic enhancement (which they never mentioned before) and expsure to solar radiation has made them immune to radiation. Cool, but how did they not know this on the Ark?

    Surprise! There are people living on the ground! Any reasonable person would have expected this. 7.13 billion people on Earth, and they honestly thought that all of them died? People living on space stations tend to be highly intelligent and highly educated, so that they believed they were the last humans is pretty unforgivable to me. The Grounders, as they're called, are tribalistic, hardy, and super dangerous. The CW went to some trouble to craft a language for them to speak, called Grounder Creole. Let me remind you, it's only been 97 years, and the 100 landed near Washington, DC. Where did this Grounder Creole come from? Of course they would all speak English, not some Northern-European-sounding mixture of languages. Many people on Earth routinely live more than 97 years. It's simply not long enough for a Creole language to develop that barely uses English. But don't worry, all the Grounders also speak English, they just don't like to? Why not?

    And the characters...Murphy is a bipolar murderer who doesn't seem to understand why everyone hates him, yet the show spends a great deal of time with him despite the fact that I want him to die. Octavia can't decide if she's a Grounder or a Sky Person--she was born on the Ark and her brother is one of the main characters. She gets accepted and then rejected by the Grounders, and by her own people, and yet she still doesn't seem to understand anything about the politics between the two groups of people. She's a weak plot device who only exists so she can be a sort of go-between to suit the writers. Some of the characters have real depth and flaws, and they make choices they believe in at the time and regret later. That's lovely, but it's far more common that they make choices without any consistency.

    The pace of the show is what is addicting. It really moves along, but that's probably its greatest flaw, and it's already becoming apparent after just a few seasons. To maintain this pace, it's going to either recycle plots over and over, or go so far into the realm of the absurd that it will kill itself off. It was never good enough to become the joke that Lost became, but it's following the same trajectory at this point. Like Lost, I will watch it until I can no longer stomach the absurdity
    Expand
  11. Aug 14, 2014
    5
    Episode 4 was last one and my patience ended. Very low quality TV show with extremely poor developed plot and very, very, very, very stupid characters. I cant understand how some people are rating this TV show for 10, 9, 8 or so on. It is ok show if your standards are very low and you have not seen anything good or at least decent (or you are just a teenager). Just do not waste your time.Episode 4 was last one and my patience ended. Very low quality TV show with extremely poor developed plot and very, very, very, very stupid characters. I cant understand how some people are rating this TV show for 10, 9, 8 or so on. It is ok show if your standards are very low and you have not seen anything good or at least decent (or you are just a teenager). Just do not waste your time.

    In short - teenagers dropped from space rebelling against their droppers and then rebelling against each other and dying... Everything else is just underdeveloped and not significant. Forget about relationships and psychology - this to low level to be significant.

    And there is another one ruined hope about good sci-fi show... I just forgot that good shows are only canceled ones.

    P.S.
    Just to counter some good scores keep in mind:
    There is no intrigue
    There is no originality. Just different version.

    Acting might look bad (or is it?) because of poor dialog.

    God damn it - it is pointless to look for good show just by average score...
    Expand
  12. Dec 23, 2014
    6
    I really enjoy the concept and some of the cast have the charisma and acting chops to carry the show for several seasons. However, much of the dialogue and story ends portraying most of the characters at one point or another as a bunch of whiny, emotionally inept, and narcissistic morons. If you have characters such as that you need strong, moral, leading characters to offset and evenI really enjoy the concept and some of the cast have the charisma and acting chops to carry the show for several seasons. However, much of the dialogue and story ends portraying most of the characters at one point or another as a bunch of whiny, emotionally inept, and narcissistic morons. If you have characters such as that you need strong, moral, leading characters to offset and even contrast the whiners. Otherwise, I might as well watch the real housewives of wherever. Expand
  13. May 10, 2014
    4
    I had super high hopes for this show, but it became extremely ordinary in very short order. I am frankly shocked that they decided to renew this sucker so quickly. Other then the actress who falls in love with the grounder, the rest of the young actors are far too lightweight for the material. The adult actors on the ship are actually very good, but there has not been enough of them so far.
  14. Mar 20, 2014
    6
    I like watching hot, young, teen-age girls...in my porn; not in my sci-fi's where it makes more sense to send a group of scientists and soldiers (e.g. Avatar). I like bubble-gum TV as much as anybody, but really, CW? Do we really need another One Tree Hill in the future? A sister-show to Starcrossed? Indeed, the basic premise of this movie was done quite well already in 1954; a book calledI like watching hot, young, teen-age girls...in my porn; not in my sci-fi's where it makes more sense to send a group of scientists and soldiers (e.g. Avatar). I like bubble-gum TV as much as anybody, but really, CW? Do we really need another One Tree Hill in the future? A sister-show to Starcrossed? Indeed, the basic premise of this movie was done quite well already in 1954; a book called "Lord of the Flies." Teens, tell 'em you want more. If you're watching this, you've probably missed some good sci-fi's. Turn it off and watch Orphan Black, Battlestar Galactica, Fringe, The Returned (French subs), Lost (I still cry when Charlie dies), or X-Files. Or for the more macabre, try American Horror Story and The Walking Dead. Expand
  15. Jul 30, 2015
    4
    The two words that best summarize this series are 'wasted potential.'
    Here is a great concept with so many possibilities; 100 juvenile delinquents dropped onto a post-nuclear war Earth so see if it is survivable; it's Lord of the Flies meets The Road Warrior.
    Instead what we get is One Tree Hill with some ripped-off costumes and story lines from Fallout. Not surprisingly, pretty
    The two words that best summarize this series are 'wasted potential.'
    Here is a great concept with so many possibilities; 100 juvenile delinquents dropped onto a post-nuclear war Earth so see if it is survivable; it's Lord of the Flies meets The Road Warrior.
    Instead what we get is One Tree Hill with some ripped-off costumes and story lines from Fallout.

    Not surprisingly, pretty teen-age girls end up running everything which of course is what you'd expect in a savage, tribal setting with no rules where only the strong survive - oh wait, that's the opposite of what always happens when anarchy reigns. The teenagers even consistently beat the crap out of guys twice their size which I suppose is supposed to represent the teenage desire to be independent or something but is simply forced and absurd. Here we could have shown how girls can find ways around physical domination through cleverness (like in the real world) but instead, all of them are female Bruce Lee whom the men blindly follow.

    Of course we also have a token lesbian here to show how hip-and-now the show is and once again, we could have had an interesting story with this character dealing with her homosexuality in the face of oppression but no, everyone accepts it like good little politically-correct savages.

    On the plus side, the show does rarely come up with an interesting twist such as killing a character that you didn't expect or having the characters do something terrible to survive. However, such things are supposed to be what the show is about in the first place, so it's like saying that this hamburger does occasionally taste like a hamburger and the rest of the time has all the appeal of a toilet rag.
    Expand
  16. Jul 15, 2014
    5
    Apparently in the future all teenagers are photogenic and act as if they are only 12, cringeworthy behavior, pop songs and bland characters. The science is poor too - weightless whilst hurtling to Earth on re-entry. Targeted directly at young teenage girls this is another poor American attempt at sci-fi (Falling Skies anyone?) simply embarrassing.
  17. Apr 10, 2015
    4
    I've been watching this lately, and while I find it interesting, it's also very annoying. It's annoying because it's just too fake - the science seems fake and the characters seem fake and also don't have good chemistry.

    It's almost like they're trying to copy Lost with teenagers, but Lost had some cool stuff in it that made you think. But this show doesn't have anything that makes me
    I've been watching this lately, and while I find it interesting, it's also very annoying. It's annoying because it's just too fake - the science seems fake and the characters seem fake and also don't have good chemistry.

    It's almost like they're trying to copy Lost with teenagers, but Lost had some cool stuff in it that made you think. But this show doesn't have anything that makes me think. Just a bunch of kids running around and talking about making war or making peace with the grounders.

    It's not much of science fiction, since they don't seem to have any technology beyond what we currently have. And, I'm no environmental engineer, but the whole idea that they are running out of oxygen, yet have more than enough food and water, seems silly. Another thing that I noticed was that the space station was rotating, maybe that's where they get their 'gravity'? But if that is the case, their 'gravity' (centripetal force) is going in the wrong direction. In the other case, if they do have artificial gravity, why can't they land a space ship? I mean, they crashed on every single landing. And yet almost everybody lives.

    Then, the characters are so totally predictably stupid. Totally cliche. Oh ya, and it's always like they're trying to kill one of their friends or torture them, but in the next episode all is forgiven and they're best buds again. Also, Clark and her mom, even though they're the main characters, are total elitists. They're always right and so much better than everybody else. And everybody else just loves them because of what? The title of the show could really just be "Clark and her mom tell everybody else what to do and everybody else goes crazy".
    Expand
  18. Apr 8, 2014
    4
    The show isn't horrible, but it's far from good-quality. The premise is interesting, but seriously flawed. Gaping plot holes abound and attempted explanations are weak. Most of the characters are extremely difficult to like; they are cliché and most attempts at making a character multi-layered feels forced and faked or fails dismally Many of the teenagers have personalities that do notThe show isn't horrible, but it's far from good-quality. The premise is interesting, but seriously flawed. Gaping plot holes abound and attempted explanations are weak. Most of the characters are extremely difficult to like; they are cliché and most attempts at making a character multi-layered feels forced and faked or fails dismally Many of the teenagers have personalities that do not match their backstories and the non-leading characters are completely devoid of personalities and follow the either of the two quickly-established leaders with unexplainable loyalty. The series is also annoyingly heavy in the teenage-angst element.

    However, if you can ignore all of this, the show raises enough interesting philosophical and ethical questions to keep it interesting and - despite its general predictability - throws in enough plot twists to keep us guessing.
    Expand
  19. Jul 9, 2015
    5
    This has to be one of the most annoying shows that i have watched, every time someone does something stupid i die a little inside. But for some reason i am still hooked.
  20. Oct 1, 2015
    6
    The 100 is a show that starts in a an amazing way and then you get more and more disappointment with each episode. First season is enjoyable. Nothing amazingly great, but it is fun. However the second season is honestly just boring and/or frustrating.

    Pros: - Decent acting - Environment - Plot - Good fighting scenes Cons: - Script/Dialogues - Boring characters/no depth -
    The 100 is a show that starts in a an amazing way and then you get more and more disappointment with each episode. First season is enjoyable. Nothing amazingly great, but it is fun. However the second season is honestly just boring and/or frustrating.

    Pros:
    - Decent acting
    - Environment
    - Plot
    - Good fighting scenes

    Cons:
    - Script/Dialogues
    - Boring characters/no depth
    - Useless episodes with boring side-stories
    - Season final episodes are disappointing
    - Predictable
    - Entire Season 2

    I would recommend you to watch the first season if you got a Netflix subscription. It does finish with some kind of cliff hanger, but it's not worth it, don't waste your time on the second season.
    Expand
  21. Sep 26, 2016
    6
    Considering it is a CW show, I was lenient and expected a show that relied more on teenage love triangles to steer the plot more than science fiction. It was exactly that and while it is undoubtedly entertaining, there just isn't enough to make me care for the characters throughout an entire season.
  22. Feb 2, 2017
    5
    Who in the heck thinks it's a good idea to play music throughout the entire show? Most of the time the actors speak in low and whispered voices and because of that darn music, you can't hear what they are saying. It's very distracting, annoying, and unnecessary. And for that reason, I give it a 5 out of 10 rating.
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Jeff Korbelik
    Mar 27, 2014
    75
    This one has promise because it’s not formulaic. I have no idea where it’s headed, which is kind of nice for a change.
  2. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Mar 19, 2014
    50
    As The 100 goes along, you can feel it becoming more and more the show that Rothenberg and his writers want it to be, but it sure starts off at a great distance from from that destination. And even as it gets closer, there are still too many moments of mind-numbing illogic.
  3. 80
    The 100 is better than it has to be, a little more exciting and surprising and intense.