• Network: The CW
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 19, 2014
Season #: 1, 2
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 258 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 40 out of 258

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 19, 2014
    1
    Yet another sci-fi teen drama that kicks any slightest semblance of science, logic, rationality and common sense into the gutter for ... hitting up that all important hormone crazed scientifically illiterate teen demographic I guess. Dreck.
  2. Jul 30, 2014
    0
    One of the worst shows on tv .Attacked by a very large water creature, left only a scratch ,Speared by a very large spear that embedded right in chest , yet surviving ,Some of the males in the show, not the best looking, yet not ugly and the females on this ARK ,all the ugly fat ones must have been spaced .How the hell did Terra Nova get cancelled and rubbish like this makes it on tv .AllOne of the worst shows on tv .Attacked by a very large water creature, left only a scratch ,Speared by a very large spear that embedded right in chest , yet surviving ,Some of the males in the show, not the best looking, yet not ugly and the females on this ARK ,all the ugly fat ones must have been spaced .How the hell did Terra Nova get cancelled and rubbish like this makes it on tv .All the teens clothes are well laundered and the teens themselves are all well groomed ,perfect hair etc .So much for roughing it trying to survive in a jungle lol .Come on Directors / Writers get a clue don,t insult our intelligence.They have supposed to have lived in space for years ,they also would have been suffering dizzy spells sickness having different gravity ,also they would be prone to suffer from different bacteria etc .Take it off re think and re write as the show does have potential but currently 0 stars out of 5 . Expand
  3. Nov 12, 2014
    8
    Okay its not the BEST show ever, but I'm guessing a lot of the negative scorers didn't make it past the first 3 or 4 episodes. That's their prerogative of course, but actually this show grows quite well. By the end of the first season, I actually felt more connected to a lot of the characters than i felt with characters from plenty of other TV series I've watched recently - despite theirOkay its not the BEST show ever, but I'm guessing a lot of the negative scorers didn't make it past the first 3 or 4 episodes. That's their prerogative of course, but actually this show grows quite well. By the end of the first season, I actually felt more connected to a lot of the characters than i felt with characters from plenty of other TV series I've watched recently - despite their age. The local politics on the ground are reminiscent of 'Lost' but hopefully actually going somewhere, unlike that series that ended up being a series of random ideas thrown together for shock factor.

    It's The Walking Dead meets Lost meets Battlestar Galactica really. Oh, and with a hint of The Lord of the Rings if that's somehow possible...

    Seriously, give it a try - despite the dodgy science at times (especially some of the medical emergencies) there's a real visceral earthiness to the surroundings and survival story arc that's compelling and rewarding.
    Expand
  4. May 12, 2014
    7
    The show has promise and potential but unfortunately it will never reach it because of the mediocre writing and directing. If only those guys over at HBO could have picked this one up. We'd be looking at something special
  5. Nov 24, 2014
    2
    Extremely predictable with an awful story line. It is filled with plot holes and extremely loose logic. For example, how do you break your leg with the bone popping out and begin walking again after 12 hours? No, that just does not happen. And the lust in this show is ridiculous. Lets just say if one of the teen girls meets another guy, they will 100% get it on and "love" each other onExtremely predictable with an awful story line. It is filled with plot holes and extremely loose logic. For example, how do you break your leg with the bone popping out and begin walking again after 12 hours? No, that just does not happen. And the lust in this show is ridiculous. Lets just say if one of the teen girls meets another guy, they will 100% get it on and "love" each other on first sight. Expand
  6. Jul 15, 2014
    5
    Apparently in the future all teenagers are photogenic and act as if they are only 12, cringeworthy behavior, pop songs and bland characters. The science is poor too - weightless whilst hurtling to Earth on re-entry. Targeted directly at young teenage girls this is another poor American attempt at sci-fi (Falling Skies anyone?) simply embarrassing.
  7. Jan 25, 2015
    3
    The science is flawed in the science fiction. Making the premise ridiculous from the beginning. The technology already exists to measure radiation levels from space. Also, a culture advance enough to build and operate the Ark would know how to control their population with out killing people. It's called birth control and vasectomies. What, they go 97 years with out knowing they areThe science is flawed in the science fiction. Making the premise ridiculous from the beginning. The technology already exists to measure radiation levels from space. Also, a culture advance enough to build and operate the Ark would know how to control their population with out killing people. It's called birth control and vasectomies. What, they go 97 years with out knowing they are becoming over-populated? That's just not workable. Sloppy Sci-Fi writing. I can write better stuff than this. I actually think before I write a script. Expand
  8. Nov 25, 2014
    4
    While 'The 100' offers some taut tense moments and an intriguing science fiction premise, it tumbles right into unavoidable young adult trappings with cheesy dialogue, forced love triangles and plot clichés.
  9. Oct 29, 2014
    3
    This is a good plot line with horrible development. When a smear of blood would do gallons are used and used and used and used. Whenever a decision has to be made it is the wrong one and teenagers are made to look like mindless morons. This crew makes Lord of the flies look erudite. A pity, because I like the concept and the possibilities. It could have been Stargate but it fails to riseThis is a good plot line with horrible development. When a smear of blood would do gallons are used and used and used and used. Whenever a decision has to be made it is the wrong one and teenagers are made to look like mindless morons. This crew makes Lord of the flies look erudite. A pity, because I like the concept and the possibilities. It could have been Stargate but it fails to rise even to Galaxy Quest. I love my science fiction, but this faceplants. Expand
  10. Nov 20, 2014
    2
    I generously gave it a 2 because I was able to watch the entire pilot. Review by psoomah was right on target "..hitting up that all important hormone crazed scientifically illiterate teen demographic...."

    1. Poison sumac is not a kind of moss growing pretty purple flowers. You don't even want to get anywhere close to it. And yes, the small white flower clusters in real poison sumac are
    I generously gave it a 2 because I was able to watch the entire pilot. Review by psoomah was right on target "..hitting up that all important hormone crazed scientifically illiterate teen demographic...."

    1. Poison sumac is not a kind of moss growing pretty purple flowers. You don't even want to get anywhere close to it. And yes, the small white flower clusters in real poison sumac are poisonous to the touch, so if some cute guy sticks some in your ear, your ear will look and feel unsexy. Hey, if your gonna make something up, fine, but don't call it something that already exists.

    2. Hmm, those wrist bands have some pretty kick ass transmission power to send bio stats to an orbiting station. Somehow all other transmission requires a centralized communication center.

    3. Amazingly stupid doctors have to argue the blatantly obvious out loud. I'm not a doctor, but I think I would be able to perform a differential diagnosis to rule out death by radiation poisoning.

    4. That vine they used to cross the river was totally lame. I could clearly see three ropes twisted together, thinly disguised by a little vegetation. High school play level quality.

    I can't believe I'm actually watching the second episode....
    Expand
  11. Dec 18, 2014
    1
    OK, first off: this show is very hard to watch for someone who isn't in their teens and likes logic, and has common sense.

    I am most bothered by is the fact that this show is advertised as a Sci-Fi. It is not. This is a teen drama, set in a Sci-Fi-esque theme. Right, so putting aside the fact that that it is NOT a Sci-Fi show, the viewers can enjoy the: abysmal acting, terrible
    OK, first off: this show is very hard to watch for someone who isn't in their teens and likes logic, and has common sense.

    I am most bothered by is the fact that this show is advertised as a Sci-Fi. It is not. This is a teen drama, set in a Sci-Fi-esque theme.

    Right, so putting aside the fact that that it is NOT a Sci-Fi show, the viewers can enjoy the: abysmal acting, terrible script and obnoxious dialogue. Oh, and do not try to look for rational explanations for any of the decisions characters in this show make. There are none.

    It is bedazzling to me why anyone past their 15-s with a fair share of intelligence and common sense would want to watch this. It is SO cringeworthy. Do teens these days enjoy stuff like this? Seriously, watching this show for an extended period of time can give you cancer.

    If you are a Sci-Fi fan or just a fan of decent quality TV shows, I would not recommend wasting your time on The 100.
    Expand
  12. Apr 23, 2015
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A perfect show for naive, angst-ridden, zombie loving teenagers. Un-typed and unmatched transfused blood would kill them all. Bone marrow can't be injected subcutaneously. The writers for this show are imbeciles ... or they're all teenagers who dropped out of school about the fifth grade. Delusional cowards and psychopaths are rivals for leadership. Very few, if any really, of the main characters have any redeeming qualities. Nuke them all. Expand
  13. Jul 8, 2014
    6
    this show lost me after a few episodes, too teen orientated i decided. pretty weak story and characters. then whilst bored i gave it another shot. i found it progressively improves throughout th series. i put this in the watchably trashy scifi basket. nothig about it is great, but there's enough to keep low expectations satisfied. lot's of people dying is aplus
  14. Mar 26, 2014
    0
    Shame on those who greenlighted this trash. I agree completely with all that was said in other negative reviews. The writer is not qualified for writing sci.fi shows, or anything that requires thinking. It is obvious that the mind of the writer is way too much ignorant and confused for this kind of show, he better stick to simple minded soap operas for sheeple, or even better quit theShame on those who greenlighted this trash. I agree completely with all that was said in other negative reviews. The writer is not qualified for writing sci.fi shows, or anything that requires thinking. It is obvious that the mind of the writer is way too much ignorant and confused for this kind of show, he better stick to simple minded soap operas for sheeple, or even better quit the writing job. There is nothing good in this production, even the music is wrong and misplaced. The whole show is just cheesy, brainless unwatchable trash. I hope it will be cancelled as soon as possible, so there will be space on air for a good show instead. Expand
  15. Mar 20, 2014
    6
    I have to admit, I was slightly disappointed by quite a few elements of the pilot. Having got a sense of what the show was about from the exciting, suspenseful and highly genre-specific trailer, I knew what to expect. Intentionally however, the trailer doesn't give you any backstory as to why the 100 are sent to earth 97 years after it's been abandoned. You find out why in the pilot andI have to admit, I was slightly disappointed by quite a few elements of the pilot. Having got a sense of what the show was about from the exciting, suspenseful and highly genre-specific trailer, I knew what to expect. Intentionally however, the trailer doesn't give you any backstory as to why the 100 are sent to earth 97 years after it's been abandoned. You find out why in the pilot and its disappointing. Essentially, the 100 are sent to earth as punishment, to die, and possibly to send back some trivial scientific information. Certainly, the 100's survival on native Earth can still make for a very cool show, however, there is no sense that they are on an epic mission, like they could have been. Rather, they are just abaondened and stranded and we know they are going to start dying in the masses, moving the show from Sci-fi to elements of horror and survival adventure, like "The River" which was promptly canceled after its first season.

    This isn't to say I didn't enjoy the pilot, I did, it was decent as far as pilots go, and the previews for the rest of the season looked very interesting and I will certainly continue to watch this highly anticipated series.
    As for things they did right, there are plenty of sci-fi elements which play to fans of the genre, a recognizable cast of mostly veteran tv actors, and beautiful high-budget CG that from what we've seen so far, Rivals Terra Nova.
    Expand
  16. Apr 17, 2014
    2
    I read the professional critics review on this site and thought I'd give a go. What a mistake. The visuals are well done but then its all down hill let down by pantomime level acting and script written for a specific target audience who probably won't watch it because it is 'sci-fi'. This show had promise with a good premise and could go in any number of directions but I for one won'tI read the professional critics review on this site and thought I'd give a go. What a mistake. The visuals are well done but then its all down hill let down by pantomime level acting and script written for a specific target audience who probably won't watch it because it is 'sci-fi'. This show had promise with a good premise and could go in any number of directions but I for one won't bother seeing where it goes. Expand
  17. Jul 10, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Well I think a 10 year old could see through the plot holes. The capsule was undergoing rapid deceleration when passing trough the atmosphere, yet guys were in free fall. Bipedal monkeys?? WTF?? There are no bipedal monkeys. A resource poor space station that throws valuable resources in the form of human bodies into space - why not use them as fertilizer or food or at least take their blood and organs (this was even a plot point that someone wasted blood)? Who writes this crap?? 100 people waiting for 5 to come back with food for them all. A rubbish aquatic predator that can't eat a non-swimming human - all it can do is inflict a slight graze. An advanced space station that can't send one radio down with their explorers - not even one? It could be funny but didn't even manage that. Expand
  18. Apr 14, 2014
    2
    Another CW Sci-fi show with more teenage drama than actual science fiction. Set in the future: 100 young people are sent to repopulate an abandoned planet Earth. It has the potential to be interesting, however, once again, the CW assumes that young people will only watch a show if the majority of the characters are attractive high school-age teenagers (played by adults in their late 20s orAnother CW Sci-fi show with more teenage drama than actual science fiction. Set in the future: 100 young people are sent to repopulate an abandoned planet Earth. It has the potential to be interesting, however, once again, the CW assumes that young people will only watch a show if the majority of the characters are attractive high school-age teenagers (played by adults in their late 20s or early 30s), or if there are a few romantic couples that they can ship. The story has no substance and it's attempts to create a "Lord of the Flies vibe is almost laughable. And since the lead characters aren't particularly interesting or charismatic, then there really is nothing left to enjoy. This show should have been cancelled on arrival. The two points are for Henry Ian Cusick. This show is a waste of his talent....he would have been better off staying on Scandal. Expand
  19. Mar 20, 2014
    6
    I like watching hot, young, teen-age girls...in my porn; not in my sci-fi's where it makes more sense to send a group of scientists and soldiers (e.g. Avatar). I like bubble-gum TV as much as anybody, but really, CW? Do we really need another One Tree Hill in the future? A sister-show to Starcrossed? Indeed, the basic premise of this movie was done quite well already in 1954; a book calledI like watching hot, young, teen-age girls...in my porn; not in my sci-fi's where it makes more sense to send a group of scientists and soldiers (e.g. Avatar). I like bubble-gum TV as much as anybody, but really, CW? Do we really need another One Tree Hill in the future? A sister-show to Starcrossed? Indeed, the basic premise of this movie was done quite well already in 1954; a book called "Lord of the Flies." Teens, tell 'em you want more. If you're watching this, you've probably missed some good sci-fi's. Turn it off and watch Orphan Black, Battlestar Galactica, Fringe, The Returned (French subs), Lost (I still cry when Charlie dies), or X-Files. Or for the more macabre, try American Horror Story and The Walking Dead. Expand
  20. May 19, 2014
    0
    The visuals have some merit, but I have a hard time pardoning such things as the wooden acting, the general mean spiritedness and self righteousness of the characters. gravity in the space station? agnsty teen music at almost every scene interrupted by grisly and unexpected scenes of violence? this mess will have you rooting for the poisonous green fog in no time or the hypotheticalThe visuals have some merit, but I have a hard time pardoning such things as the wooden acting, the general mean spiritedness and self righteousness of the characters. gravity in the space station? agnsty teen music at almost every scene interrupted by grisly and unexpected scenes of violence? this mess will have you rooting for the poisonous green fog in no time or the hypothetical socially and technologically advanced apes. Expand
  21. Jun 12, 2014
    4
    After Episode 1:

    since the "Nuclear pocalypse" ... Come on mr Director. TAKE 2 ffs.The opening sentence of the series. It's not like you have to buy film by the foot in this day and age. And if you mean to say "time is money" your crew's time is worth a lot less if the result of your endeavors is sub par. Also. Radioactive Half Life means "Forever" in practice not an arbitrary 100
    After Episode 1:

    since the "Nuclear pocalypse" ... Come on mr Director. TAKE 2 ffs.The opening sentence of the series. It's not like you have to buy film by the foot in this day and age. And if you mean to say "time is money" your crew's time is worth a lot less if the result of your endeavors is sub par. Also. Radioactive Half Life means "Forever" in practice not an arbitrary 100 years.

    The wrist bands send back complex real time bio data. Yet are unable to send a few characters extra with a message?

    Do not use a tourniquet to bind off a flesh wound, only an arterial bleed. This is about the worst example you could set for helping someone after an accident. This gets people killed.

    A bundle of vines tied together magically transforms into a rope ?? Was the rope attached to a magical cloud floating over the middle of the river?

    Absolutely absurd. You take your audience for idiots. This sin't science fiction . This is just a half baked tall fairy tale. It's not about budget , it's about giving a damn. It's about continuity , it's about putting in an EFFORT. You have no excuses.
    Expand
  22. Apr 18, 2014
    5
    All the good reviews here are hormonal teenagers. All the bad reviews are cynical old-timers. This show is obviously targeting the teenage audience, so in the end it matters what they say. They will probably watch this show because they don't know any better and could care less about the quality of this show. It will probably get renewed for a second season. However, that's sad because IAll the good reviews here are hormonal teenagers. All the bad reviews are cynical old-timers. This show is obviously targeting the teenage audience, so in the end it matters what they say. They will probably watch this show because they don't know any better and could care less about the quality of this show. It will probably get renewed for a second season. However, that's sad because I expect more from the CW (mostly because of Arrow). This show's plot is illogical a bit and cliched. The actors there are chosen simply for looks. (All of the 100 are juvenile delinquents yet they look like models. The girls and boys are too attractive to be believable.)

    As others pointed out, why not send scientists to earth? Or a robot or a drone? Not the teenagers convicted of crimes (some major, some minor) who will surely rebel and screw up. How come they don't have better technology to communicate with the 100 then stupid bracelets/collars? How come there are mostly Americans? Few or no Asians, Hispanics, and African-Americans. Or are there, and I just don't remember because I don't really care about the show and it's characters? This is the first show I feel like giving up on, which is weird because I watch shows until the last episode. It could improve, but how much?

    Read my other reviews on a wide variety of movies and TV shows and please mark my review as helpful.
    Expand
  23. May 22, 2014
    5
    Well I was willing to give the show a chance but the writers are painting themselves into a corner, and any ways to build stable character growth are becoming cloudy with a chance of fail! I like the idea but the over entitled thinking with to quick a plot does not give me hope I will continue to be a fan or even watch. I'll get back to you on that, was 8/10 declined to 5/10
  24. Jul 24, 2014
    2
    Poor acting, fast paced and obvious plots that occur so frequently in a single episode that it is impossible to form an opinion on any of the characters. It almost seems as though the director is making it up as it is filmed. The actors look as though they have strolled into the wrong set at the studio and should actually be filming a new high school musical. No grit, just polishedPoor acting, fast paced and obvious plots that occur so frequently in a single episode that it is impossible to form an opinion on any of the characters. It almost seems as though the director is making it up as it is filmed. The actors look as though they have strolled into the wrong set at the studio and should actually be filming a new high school musical. No grit, just polished American rubbish. This will not be successful amongst a British audience. Expand
  25. Nov 13, 2014
    10
    Great show. very interesting to see how the characters grow and change due to the trauma of their experiences on earth. highly recommended. first episode was ok, but the second and third really started to get this series rolling and giving views a better back story.
  26. May 9, 2014
    10
    This show is another amazing and intriguing apocalyptic show that has caught my attention. I was sceptical at first as I am not a huge fan of the CW's channel however I realised that this is an exception to that thought. I have so far really enjoyed watching it and am hooked. If you like The Walking Dead, Revolution, or Lost, then you will love this show! Some people on here give sillyThis show is another amazing and intriguing apocalyptic show that has caught my attention. I was sceptical at first as I am not a huge fan of the CW's channel however I realised that this is an exception to that thought. I have so far really enjoyed watching it and am hooked. If you like The Walking Dead, Revolution, or Lost, then you will love this show! Some people on here give silly reviews for shows... don't buy into their lies! If you like apocalytic, intense, thrilling, quality dramas, this is your show. It has a nuclear and isolated feel to it and it has yet to disappoint me. If you like the show too, please spread the word as much as possible, the show can't survive without support and good ratings so encourage those around you! Expand
  27. Mar 21, 2014
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I had to sign up to metacritic just to express how awful this show is. I didn't know anything about the 100, had not even seen a trailer before watching it. The first couple of minutes caught my attention with a bit of back story and a interesting premise. BUT... from the moment that I saw that they put 100 teenagers on the ship and sent to Earth I thought: "This is not going well". After that it became another uninteresting teen sci-fy drama, full of cliches and bad acting. I am not going to bother to watch the second episode! Expand
  28. Oct 30, 2014
    0
    New review for Season 2: Nothing has changed...terrible acting, terrible story-lines, terrible scientific basis...terrible, terrible, terrible. Again, all execs attached to this show (as well as the writer) should lose their jobs; let them go back to flipping burgers since that's what they're obviously good at.

    The one thing this show does represent correctly is the lazy, entitled
    New review for Season 2: Nothing has changed...terrible acting, terrible story-lines, terrible scientific basis...terrible, terrible, terrible. Again, all execs attached to this show (as well as the writer) should lose their jobs; let them go back to flipping burgers since that's what they're obviously good at.

    The one thing this show does represent correctly is the lazy, entitled millennial generation. No wonder the prior generations are 'cutting cords' so as not to waste hard earned cash (which is a foreign concept to the majority of millennial's today) on this trash.
    Expand
  29. Mar 22, 2014
    0
    This pilot sucked in a Champion fashion.
    Yet another 'sci-fi' series which has already devolved to teenage bickering.
    We are to believe giant water snakes inhabit the rivers and some sort of ape man inhabits the world after only 97 years of post nuclear apocalypse ? Not to mention several thousand people surviving on space stations for a century;what did they eat;Shoes? Cross 'Prisoner
    This pilot sucked in a Champion fashion.
    Yet another 'sci-fi' series which has already devolved to teenage bickering.
    We are to believe giant water snakes inhabit the rivers and some sort of ape man inhabits the world after only
    97 years of post nuclear apocalypse ? Not to mention several thousand people surviving on space stations for a century;what did they eat;Shoes?
    Cross 'Prisoner cell block H' with any 'pants'
    teen sci-fi trash and you will find something like this absolute waste of time. The writer should be sectioned..
    Its Doomed. Complete and utter BXLLXXKS.
    Expand
  30. Apr 4, 2014
    5
    There's no doubting that Sci-Fi is hard to pull off on TV. One thing that The 100 does better than most is its spectacular visuals. When you look beyond the surface, however, you've got a show that isn't really all that noteworthy.

    First of all, there's no exciting personalities whatsoever. Bellamy, the show's figurehead for chaos, is the only character that is remotely memorable, but
    There's no doubting that Sci-Fi is hard to pull off on TV. One thing that The 100 does better than most is its spectacular visuals. When you look beyond the surface, however, you've got a show that isn't really all that noteworthy.

    First of all, there's no exciting personalities whatsoever. Bellamy, the show's figurehead for chaos, is the only character that is remotely memorable, but the latest episode, "Earth Kills", it seems the writers have taken a lot of his edge off. He previously suffered from bad to average dialogue (like the rest of the bunch) but his "do whatever the hell you want, when you want" motto did a lot of damage in the first two episodes. I'd hope his attitude would come back in future episodes if I had the patience to watch more. He's certainly a hell of a lot more interesting than the others when he's disrupting the already fragmented order. For long-term storytelling, when you realize that you don't care for any of the characters, it's hard to incentivize coming back week after week.

    What really pushed me into pulling the plug on this show was its blatantly obvious Lost rip-offs in "Earth Kills". Did that toxic cloud of smoke remind you of anything? Good ol' smokie definitely came to my mind (this is also hugely similar to something in last year's Catching Fire). Also, those flashbacks sprinkled throughout absolutely screamed Lost at the top of its lungs. Hell, Bellamy's personality (and the writer's odd decision to soften both them) reminded me a lot of Sawyer. And there were instances in both franchises when someone was screaming from pain, and conflicts arised on whether to put him out of his misery or save his life. Less obvious 'refrences' come when the characters find a hatch and a vehicle, and decide to hunt boar of all things, but these things add up. The show is already very Lost-esque with its visuals, mysteries, and the fact that Earth has its own version of The Others. You'd think that The 100 would try to do more than distinguish itself.

    So, in short, if you like Lost and The Hunger Games... re-watch Lost and The Hunger Games.
    Expand
  31. May 10, 2014
    2
    As a lover of hard sci-fi, I've tried to stay with this show, but in two episodes they have shown people dodging bullets! I don't know about you, but that insults my intelligence! I'm now convinced this series is made for clueless millennials.
  32. Mar 22, 2014
    1
    Simply not watchable. For a sci-fi show with a lot of potential, CW seems to be aiming for the lowest common denominator. It seems whoever makes the trailers for the shows is painfully aware of how terrible most of the show is, and actively avoids putting any of the clumsy teenage drama angst in the trailers. The show however, is littered with the what I can only describe as a grumpy man'sSimply not watchable. For a sci-fi show with a lot of potential, CW seems to be aiming for the lowest common denominator. It seems whoever makes the trailers for the shows is painfully aware of how terrible most of the show is, and actively avoids putting any of the clumsy teenage drama angst in the trailers. The show however, is littered with the what I can only describe as a grumpy man's view of what teenagers are.

    Teenagers are the ones that mainly fought in the vietnam war. They are very capable when great things are demanded from them, but what we see in this show is petty squabbling and ridiculous silly one liners.

    The attempt at sex appeal is the most pathetic, once again reducing what should be a gritty survivor trek into Teenage Bachelor. The writing is terrible, the choice in cliche "song of the month" is terrible, and there seems to be little originality in any aspect of the show. The premise may have been interesting, but the execution makes the viewer wonder why he would sit through 35 minutes of agonizingly cringe worthy dialogue for 2 minutes of scenery and special effects.

    This looks to be less original and less successful than even 'No Ordinary Family'. Which is saying something that the most cliche superpower movie lacking any originality in thought process or execution has more substance than your show.

    I gave it a 1/10 because of the intriguing 1 minute opener, what an utter disappointment.
    Expand
  33. Mar 24, 2014
    1
    The teenagers' dialogue felt as if it was written by a 15yr old girl who watches too much MTV, and apparently in this future teenagers are mentally challenged.
  34. Apr 9, 2014
    0
    lana lang, elena gibert all over again. CW step it up, pls. it just another story glorified cheating sluts with low class romance. a teen drama masked with scifi elements. so disappointing.
  35. Apr 19, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Another High School drama with out the school. Lets not mention they killed there main african american supporting actor. Great move kill the black guy first to show us all your original. Guy gets hit with a spear through the chest and He carry's on!! Sorry just was really hoping that in the future humanity had made some changes to its popular hero stereotype. pass..... Expand
  36. Apr 21, 2014
    1
    i really wanted to give the series a chance , but as said before the script is very very childish , so does who don't care about SCFI sense and want a american pie serie , ENJOY ( she born on a space station and come back to earth when she is 18 or 17 to brace all the planet earth bacterias and micros without even getting sick ) okok
  37. May 15, 2014
    3
    This show is bad, sorry.Great visuals, you can see that there is some effort in the show.But it all falls apart with the unlikeable characters.They have no morale and the positions they are taking changes often.Clark is a good example.Ive watched EP9 today and i hope EVERYONE dies in the end.They deserve it.Besides that the show lacks logic.The writers did a poor job when it comes toThis show is bad, sorry.Great visuals, you can see that there is some effort in the show.But it all falls apart with the unlikeable characters.They have no morale and the positions they are taking changes often.Clark is a good example.Ive watched EP9 today and i hope EVERYONE dies in the end.They deserve it.Besides that the show lacks logic.The writers did a poor job when it comes to logic, one example is EP9.Clark runs around and threaten the grounders with "tech that could wipe them out".WTF?What "tech"?They cant maintain the Ark properly.What could they have?Guns?With limited ammo?There could be tenthausands of grounders plus this "fog of death" and some mutants.Sorry, thats bad writing.The acting is ok but the there are too many stupid characters.Like Ophelia.Shes dumb as hell and **** nearly everyone.Now its the grounder or how i call him:The stalker.Hes helping her(and only her!!!) because shes pretty.Yeaaaah, thats the bad teenstuff.It was a stupid idea to bring in a bunch of teens for the cast.This sucks.This is from teens for teens and i dont know why its still on the air.Oh and to have enough time for the **** and the gyus hitting each other in the face they cut out the important stuff.SURVIVAL!!!!1 EP with a mutant snake and 1 EP with the fog of death.WTF???This show should be about survival.How hard it is to hunt for food or something like that.But nooo, its about getting laid.Great...... Expand
  38. May 19, 2014
    2
    Is bad and already got renewed, i dont know if further gets any better but the first 3 episodes put me to sleep
    1- bad acting
    2-recycled story
    3- they cancelled tomorrow people and not this?? come on!!!
  39. Mar 24, 2014
    7
    A scf-fi show for those who know nothing about science. If you are used to other high quality sci-fi entertainment then this show will be a sore disappointment. Obviously targeted at the teenage age group. Certain things don't make sense while other plot lines are just silly. I wont be watching episode 2.
  40. May 10, 2014
    4
    I had super high hopes for this show, but it became extremely ordinary in very short order. I am frankly shocked that they decided to renew this sucker so quickly. Other then the actress who falls in love with the grounder, the rest of the young actors are far too lightweight for the material. The adult actors on the ship are actually very good, but there has not been enough of them so far.
  41. May 22, 2014
    10
    The 100 is another amazing show i am hooked to the 100 now and so is my sister from the begging it got my attention straight away the show all together is interesting the crew too
  42. Jun 15, 2014
    10
    Me and my wife loved it and hope for a second season. i give it A 100. The 100 is the best show that i have seen in quite awhile. The cast done a great job playing their roles also. We personally cannot wait for season 2. We were sad to see the season end so soon. Waiting for season 2!
  43. May 9, 2014
    7
    So people ranted after watching one episode. If you watch more this show grows. The CW writers still hit cliches but at times work away from them. First season is close to over and I would say this show has a chance to be a great and new thing or it will drop and the show will get to a point where it should be cancelled. This show has more potential than most shows that appear and drag on.So people ranted after watching one episode. If you watch more this show grows. The CW writers still hit cliches but at times work away from them. First season is close to over and I would say this show has a chance to be a great and new thing or it will drop and the show will get to a point where it should be cancelled. This show has more potential than most shows that appear and drag on. Hopefully it lives up to it. Expand
  44. Oct 5, 2014
    9
    I think the 100 is the best show I have ever watched. Not because it has attractive teenagers or that it's has pretty atmospheres (which they do) it's because they do everything right. Now people are complaining that the teenagers are to attractive and stuff. 1 word. Stereotypes. Would you watch a show when every one isn't appealing to look at. Probably not. If you would you are eitherI think the 100 is the best show I have ever watched. Not because it has attractive teenagers or that it's has pretty atmospheres (which they do) it's because they do everything right. Now people are complaining that the teenagers are to attractive and stuff. 1 word. Stereotypes. Would you watch a show when every one isn't appealing to look at. Probably not. If you would you are either lying or you are just a unjudge mental person. I love the 100 because it has a unique story line. 97 years after a nuclear apocalypse, 100 prisoners sent down to the earth to see if it is survivable for the ark and it's lacking resources. Never seen that. The only thing I'm suprised at was the finale for season 1. There has been no activity of that place they are in in the earlier episodes. You wouldn't know that would be there. Besides that i think that the acting is great and it can be quite freaky to hallucinating nuts to bleeding out your eyes. But sometimes they disimbandon the storylines a bit. Like mnt weather, they said they dropped them on the wrong mountain but that was never brought up again. It was probably because mnt weather is on the rounders side, and the place Lincoln went, that was never really brought up, maybe future episodes.9/10 Expand
  45. Dec 13, 2014
    10
    This show starts very teenager-esque, but by episode 3 is like crack and becomes increasingly addicting with big shockers. Clarke and Bellamy steal the show with a couple of strong side stories. This is a thrill ride that gets increasingly complex and dark. It shows the grit, strength, and darkness of humanity, often all in one character.
  46. Dec 16, 2014
    10
    This is one of the best shows ever!!! I give it a 10 out of 10. It kind of reminds me of the shows Lost, and Stargate Universe, where the main themes are survival, in space, and on Earth, but a billion times better. Maybe like the first 1 or 2 episodes seems like it's geared more towards teens, but as the show progresses, it starts taking on a more mature, and serious vibe. The adults onThis is one of the best shows ever!!! I give it a 10 out of 10. It kind of reminds me of the shows Lost, and Stargate Universe, where the main themes are survival, in space, and on Earth, but a billion times better. Maybe like the first 1 or 2 episodes seems like it's geared more towards teens, but as the show progresses, it starts taking on a more mature, and serious vibe. The adults on the space station play as big as a role as the teens that are sent to Earth. There really are no slow, or dull parts in the show at all. The episodes has the pace of a James Patterson novel, where every scene is a cliffhanger, and keeps you on the edge of your seat. Also, I haven't really had any favorite shows since Dexter, and Breaking Bad ended, but this show is now my new favorite. Expand
  47. May 26, 2014
    9
    Love the show its non stop action you don't have to wait weeks for something interesting to happen the main characters are young talented actors and think new characters recently introduced are as well. Looking forward to another season
  48. Jun 11, 2014
    10
    Excellent Show!! If you are not already watching this show you def should be...Each week gets more intense and I find myself hating to see the credits (which is the mark of a great show) I am not at all a CW fan as most of their shows are "twilighty" teen romance garbage...although this one has a bit of romance, it is a very well put together thrill ride each week.
  49. Apr 8, 2014
    4
    The show isn't horrible, but it's far from good-quality. The premise is interesting, but seriously flawed. Gaping plot holes abound and attempted explanations are weak. Most of the characters are extremely difficult to like; they are cliché and most attempts at making a character multi-layered feels forced and faked or fails dismally Many of the teenagers have personalities that do notThe show isn't horrible, but it's far from good-quality. The premise is interesting, but seriously flawed. Gaping plot holes abound and attempted explanations are weak. Most of the characters are extremely difficult to like; they are cliché and most attempts at making a character multi-layered feels forced and faked or fails dismally Many of the teenagers have personalities that do not match their backstories and the non-leading characters are completely devoid of personalities and follow the either of the two quickly-established leaders with unexplainable loyalty. The series is also annoyingly heavy in the teenage-angst element.

    However, if you can ignore all of this, the show raises enough interesting philosophical and ethical questions to keep it interesting and - despite its general predictability - throws in enough plot twists to keep us guessing.
    Expand
  50. May 23, 2014
    9
    Cool show with a lot of possibilities. Sort of a combination of Lost and Hunger Games with a hint of Battlestar Galactica and Outcasts. Good story and each episode leaves you wanting more. Hope it keeps going.
  51. Apr 14, 2014
    8
    I have my ups and downs with this show.. but, I haven't given up on it. Tho there was a moment where I screeched at the two headed deer. I hope it gets better and that there is more insight as to what could we really expect after being away from earth for 97 years.
  52. Dec 29, 2014
    10
    This show is essentialy a mix of Lost and the hunger games. I was a huge fan of lost and have rewatched all 6 seasons many times. This is the first show that has got my blood pumping as much as Lost did.
  53. Jun 19, 2014
    9
    All the bad reviews only talk about watching the first or second episode and how they stopped watching after that. And to be honest I wasn't impressed with the first two episodes either. BUT WOW DOES THIS SHOW EVER GET GOOD. YOU SHOULD WATCH IT... NOW. GO. GO DO IT
  54. Apr 22, 2014
    10
    Watched it on Netflixx, i had no Idea it was a CW show but regardless its actually really cool! Good characters mixed with a large amount of questions makes for an exciting post apocalyptic drama.
  55. Mar 19, 2014
    9
    another great scifi series. reminds me of the hunger games but is different. the story is good so far showing how the group of teens called the 100 are sent to earth to see if its inhabitable after 97 years of it being "destroyed". though the world is far from safe as mutated creatures and other beings are inhabiting the world now. Its a show worth watching if you like scifi and the hungeranother great scifi series. reminds me of the hunger games but is different. the story is good so far showing how the group of teens called the 100 are sent to earth to see if its inhabitable after 97 years of it being "destroyed". though the world is far from safe as mutated creatures and other beings are inhabiting the world now. Its a show worth watching if you like scifi and the hunger games movies. Some may call it a ripoff but it really isn't and from the look of things it only seems like it will get better and darker. Expand
  56. May 22, 2014
    10
    great sc-ifi series the story is heaps good so far showing how the group of teens who broke the law up in space are sent to the ground to die and found out the ground was nothing like they imagined a great drama Show and I hope it continues
  57. May 13, 2014
    7
    Lost meets Battlestar Galactica with a twist of teen drama (and a cast to match). I'm not sure if people have watched more than one episode of this show, but it gets better. Way better. Actually, once you get past the pilot it quickly steamrolls into strong and unpredictable plotlines, decently written scenes with tight acting, and great production value. There is a little teen drama,Lost meets Battlestar Galactica with a twist of teen drama (and a cast to match). I'm not sure if people have watched more than one episode of this show, but it gets better. Way better. Actually, once you get past the pilot it quickly steamrolls into strong and unpredictable plotlines, decently written scenes with tight acting, and great production value. There is a little teen drama, in particular the love triangles, but I find all of the teen characters to be engaging enough to not mind too much. The plots still on board the Ark (comprised of 12 space stations, not just one) are EXCELLENT, actually some of the better TV I've seen this year. Can't wait for more! Expand
  58. Apr 20, 2014
    10
    wait a minute and......... now! Finally i found a series interesting in this period of my life where all good series had remembered to end. dont say this suck! the subject are interesting, the crew too!
    just one thing i think is sad but is the life: everyone dies down here!
  59. Mar 20, 2014
    8
    Watched the series premier last night and from what I've seen looks like this show is going to have very cool story lines. Suspense, action, fantasy, and maybe even a good love story all rolled into one. I'm looking forward to what the writers have in -store!
  60. Jan 22, 2015
    0
    Not another trog like band camp featuring those wannabe make a hipster production.

    Heck most here would not survive the scouts, basic training, let alone anywhere else, but, get us the hell outta here. Sporting kiddie douchie fake tans, hair gelled, made up much into all that ever affected CGI importance. Although due restriction watershed, was never ever going to be much more then
    Not another trog like band camp featuring those wannabe make a hipster production.

    Heck most here would not survive the scouts, basic training, let alone anywhere else, but, get us the hell outta here. Sporting kiddie douchie fake tans, hair gelled, made up much into all that ever affected CGI importance. Although due restriction watershed, was never ever going to be much more then those brady's that bunch coming home from outer space. What? Often amounting to those similar family feuds, resulting in. Omg, omg broke a nail. NOOOOO you broken miiii Fone. Helpppp Prease. Look watch mehh now, I'mmm just soooo super awesome epic, firing this bow, holding a spear. Whhhhaaaa they ded. They cannott ded Nooo, really don't look ded, eye can smell breathing, wasn't it jello? Best go & attack them Nawww, Kidzzzz. Yay finally, weee have found our home on earth, because weeee win.

    Never ever the dreaded alternate universe of ultimate survival. Or any kind of battle royale, lord of the flies, anything even remotely survivable fallout. Rather some mocking attempt at a hunger game audience although really must have been for any 12 year olds. Made up into some kind of spin off from all of those 100 other places. They might have also been given some super powers, or vampire fangs, when arriving from space, to go along with their coolaid hipster tights...

    Avoid altogether unless suffering junior school, kidz watching kidz.
    Expand
  61. Apr 24, 2014
    9
    Amazing story and great characters! For a TV show from CW it is accurate and does not allow for plot holes or good characters making bad choices. Feels real, unlike most shows today; does sci-fi a favor promoting intelligent young adults in a harsh environment.
  62. May 15, 2014
    10
    This has been a great show so far i mean it is really hard for me to get into a series and the more i watch this show the more i want to see interesting ,thought well through! I hope they continue this show! :)
  63. Jul 25, 2014
    10
    I like the fact that there are whole bunch of moving pieces at play.
    I may be wrong, but I feel like there aren't a ton of sci-fi shows (especially on netflix) that are in this type of setting. Sure, its a bit drama-ey because its a bunch of teenagers reclaiming Earth, but I think it is well executed and never. It runs faster than the walking dead, and that is something I want so
    I like the fact that there are whole bunch of moving pieces at play.
    I may be wrong, but I feel like there aren't a ton of sci-fi shows (especially on netflix) that are in this type of setting. Sure, its a bit drama-ey because its a bunch of teenagers reclaiming Earth, but I think it is well executed and never. It runs faster than the walking dead, and that is something I want so desperately to like. I don't understand everyone flaming against it. I would sooner watch the 100 than Avatar any day (pochahontis (sp) with mechs, no thanks). Love the concept of a generation ship, love the concept of the whole thing. Wish there would be a bit more "radiation messed up creatures" and bit more explination to what the hell the grounders are ... but in terms of intensity, I like it, I like Jasper and feel like that love triangle with Raven/Clarke/Finn is slgihtly annoying - but if I have to watch the 100 or barbie pricness goes to paris, it'll be the 100. I feel it is like Gravity meets Jurassic Park.
    Expand
  64. Feb 19, 2015
    3
    Interesting concept. Shame they had to ruin it with nonsensical feminist plotlines, cheap writing and plot, shoddy direction and terrible acting. They portray women being leaders, fighting and saving men while completely ignoring the point that their small primitive society needs to reproduce and women need to be protected in order to do that (as you only need 1 man to populate a villageInteresting concept. Shame they had to ruin it with nonsensical feminist plotlines, cheap writing and plot, shoddy direction and terrible acting. They portray women being leaders, fighting and saving men while completely ignoring the point that their small primitive society needs to reproduce and women need to be protected in order to do that (as you only need 1 man to populate a village but 1 woman won't do so men should fight and risk dying not women). I do approve of the occasional piece of eye candy though. Expand
  65. Oct 24, 2014
    10
    this a a great post apocalyptic/Armageddon type show. it is intriguing and semi-thought provoking and makes you wonder what if...what if you were in that situation? It pushes moral conflicts, intense adversaries, and decent acting by unknown actors and actresses.
  66. Jan 15, 2015
    9
    Lord of the Flies X Battle Star Galactica X Walking Dead (without zombies).
    Ignore all the complaints about about "good looking teens" "teens this, teens that"... Non of the actors are teenagers!! And it's never really crystal clear how old they are in the show. Yes they are supposed to be teens, but it's open to interpretation as they look about 20+ up to 30 years of age. Besides that,
    Lord of the Flies X Battle Star Galactica X Walking Dead (without zombies).
    Ignore all the complaints about about "good looking teens" "teens this, teens that"... Non of the actors are teenagers!! And it's never really crystal clear how old they are in the show. Yes they are supposed to be teens, but it's open to interpretation as they look about 20+ up to 30 years of age. Besides that, age isn't even a valid issue! Especially when the other half of the main cast are the adult groups, the relatives and the council!
    And "good looking" is now a complaint? What, really? See past that and give it a few episodes and you'll find a kick ass show that isn't afraid to give you answers and satisfy you with every episode. All the main cast are great. It's a show about survival and conundrums. What I really like about this show is... the choices our main casts have to make.. this means it's not long before we realize that their are no "good guys" on this show. I'm an oldie at 37 years of age. Don't let this Youth Adult category put you off. A lot of YA property is just as good as the so called "grown up" stuff. Replace the "supposed" teens with craggy looking adults and you still have the same show! Dark, action packed with intrigue. With season 3 green lit and a fan base quickly gathering, they must be doing something right!
    Expand
  67. Mar 8, 2015
    8
    The space station crew is wasteful beyond belief and I'm shocked that they've survived for 97 years. On the other hand, the ground story is interesting enough, and all the characters are suitably attractive to look at, even if their dialog sometimes leaves quite a bit to be desired.
  68. Aug 17, 2014
    8
    Better than anything currently on SyFy.

    I very much enjoy this "Star-Lord of the Flies" CW Soap. It has energy and the good sense not to bog down in the cringe-worthy romance bits that hobble similar outings like "Dominion" and "Defiance." While it doesn't rise to the quality of "Utopia" or "Misfits" it is at least as good as the other attempts at the genre by other mainstream US
    Better than anything currently on SyFy.

    I very much enjoy this "Star-Lord of the Flies" CW Soap.

    It has energy and the good sense not to bog down in the cringe-worthy romance bits that hobble similar outings like "Dominion" and "Defiance."

    While it doesn't rise to the quality of "Utopia" or "Misfits" it is at least as good as the other attempts at the genre by other mainstream US networks.
    Expand
  69. Aug 14, 2014
    5
    Episode 4 was last one and my patience ended. Very low quality TV show with extremely poor developed plot and very, very, very, very stupid characters. I cant understand how some people are rating this TV show for 10, 9, 8 or so on. It is ok show if your standards are very low and you have not seen anything good or at least decent (or you are just a teenager). Just do not waste your time.Episode 4 was last one and my patience ended. Very low quality TV show with extremely poor developed plot and very, very, very, very stupid characters. I cant understand how some people are rating this TV show for 10, 9, 8 or so on. It is ok show if your standards are very low and you have not seen anything good or at least decent (or you are just a teenager). Just do not waste your time.

    In short - teenagers dropped from space rebelling against their droppers and then rebelling against each other and dying... Everything else is just underdeveloped and not significant. Forget about relationships and psychology - this to low level to be significant.

    And there is another one ruined hope about good sci-fi show... I just forgot that good shows are only canceled ones.

    P.S.
    Just to counter some good scores keep in mind:
    There is no intrigue
    There is no originality. Just different version.

    Acting might look bad (or is it?) because of poor dialog.

    God damn it - it is pointless to look for good show just by average score...
    Expand
  70. Nov 2, 2014
    8
    What a nice show. It's a little to much teeny treated in my view.
    Another thing that weakens the series is the absence of a geiger counter so far.
    I understand that dramatically it could turn things a bit harder to make work as well but it can be done. Anyhow i love it. Aside the teeny feel and the geiger counter absence, it's a catchy, realist and very interesting series. It think it
    What a nice show. It's a little to much teeny treated in my view.
    Another thing that weakens the series is the absence of a geiger counter so far.
    I understand that dramatically it could turn things a bit harder to make work as well but it can be done.
    Anyhow i love it.
    Aside the teeny feel and the geiger counter absence, it's a catchy, realist and very interesting series.
    It think it has all it needs to be an all times iconic sci fiction series, and that it will probably manage to achieve that status.
    Expand
  71. Nov 13, 2014
    9
    I can't believe the overall score for this show is this low. It takes all the best elements of Battlestar Galactica, Lost, and Lord of the Flies, and mixes them together in a post-apocalyptic drama that feels fairly fresh, but entirely watchable. In just a few episodes, my wife and I were hooked. I absolutely love it.
  72. Dec 2, 2014
    8
    I like futuristic TV like Terra Nova, which was cancelled, many more like that....
    The 100 is great action, drama, and survival for those who like reality this comes pretty close...
    A lot better than all the other trash on TV read my blogs to see the list of most hated shows...
  73. Dec 23, 2014
    6
    I really enjoy the concept and some of the cast have the charisma and acting chops to carry the show for several seasons. However, much of the dialogue and story ends portraying most of the characters at one point or another as a bunch of whiny, emotionally inept, and narcissistic morons. If you have characters such as that you need strong, moral, leading characters to offset and evenI really enjoy the concept and some of the cast have the charisma and acting chops to carry the show for several seasons. However, much of the dialogue and story ends portraying most of the characters at one point or another as a bunch of whiny, emotionally inept, and narcissistic morons. If you have characters such as that you need strong, moral, leading characters to offset and even contrast the whiners. Otherwise, I might as well watch the real housewives of wherever. Expand
  74. Dec 25, 2014
    10
    This show = greatness. It's too addicting not to watch. I think this could be as big as Walking Dead if done right. Once again, good job on the show. I plan on watching it until the very end.
  75. Jan 3, 2015
    9
    I agree with many of the other positive reviews in that after 2 or 3 episodes I wasn't too impressed. I figured it was going to end up getting cheesy and stupid. I really was only watching a few episodes to kill time one night. But I decided to watch a bit more and was very pleasantly surprised. It actually got interesting and way more complex than just 19 and 20 year olds on a planet.I agree with many of the other positive reviews in that after 2 or 3 episodes I wasn't too impressed. I figured it was going to end up getting cheesy and stupid. I really was only watching a few episodes to kill time one night. But I decided to watch a bit more and was very pleasantly surprised. It actually got interesting and way more complex than just 19 and 20 year olds on a planet. It started to remind me of Lost, which I loved. Sure, you can discount the science behind some of the stuff, but its not THAT far out of whack. If you aren't trying to disprove everything and just be entertained, then you will like this. Let them have the poetic license on a few things and just enjoy. Expand
  76. Jan 5, 2015
    10
    Wow- I have to say I'm surprised by all the negative comments. I had two other set of friends who loved it and told me about it! I too had to get past the 1st or 2nd episode, but then it gets intense and so good that I had to keep watching and powered through the entire season 1 and 2 in a few days. I now can't wait for more! It's that good! I loved the multiple scenes going on at theWow- I have to say I'm surprised by all the negative comments. I had two other set of friends who loved it and told me about it! I too had to get past the 1st or 2nd episode, but then it gets intense and so good that I had to keep watching and powered through the entire season 1 and 2 in a few days. I now can't wait for more! It's that good! I loved the multiple scenes going on at the same time and the suspense, action, thrilling etc. This show is like Lord of the Flies meets Hunger Games meets BSG. I'm not a huge sci-fi fan so for me I like that it's a little of everything mixed into one show and not totally all about sci-fi! I pray CW doesn't cancel this show and makes more seasons to come! Those of us who loved this show will spread the word and it will continue to catch on! Yes, there are a few cheesy parts here or there but the thrill and intensity of this show will have you overlooking those few scenes and keep you wanting more! Don't go by all the negative reviews-judge for yourself by watching season 1 and 2! Expand
  77. Jan 12, 2015
    1
    Show sucks i made it all the way to season 2 episode 8 and that's the conclusion ive come too i wont continue watching it anymore there's better shows out there then this crap i was rooting for the fog to just wipe everyone out the entire time only actors that are actually decent in here is the octavo chick and Lincoln that's it ....other then that it should get canceled!!!
  78. Mar 6, 2015
    10
    This show is brilliant. From the very first episode to the last I was taken. I always like me some future apocalyptic scenarios. Nice story. Nice acting. Its great. You guys should watch this show.
  79. Mar 28, 2015
    10
    Just love this series. My son to,d me about it and thought id give it a go. I cant wait to watch each episode. Easy and addictive watching and im 54years old..lol:-) keep up the good work!
  80. Apr 5, 2015
    7
    As the nuclear apocalypse , zombie apocalypse and whatever killer dogs or something appeared , world anarchy seems to be a high filming point in many tv series like the 100. The 100 pulls this genre off quite well and does make some very good advancements in the first season. But its because of this big advancement that too much is packed into one season , no time is spend building upAs the nuclear apocalypse , zombie apocalypse and whatever killer dogs or something appeared , world anarchy seems to be a high filming point in many tv series like the 100. The 100 pulls this genre off quite well and does make some very good advancements in the first season. But its because of this big advancement that too much is packed into one season , no time is spend building up relationships with the characters , very little time was investigated bringing a understanding to what its like to live on the ark . In a few episodes , or a few days possibly 1 and a half weeks in the current setting of the story , all characters are full on working without any breaks . There was no signs of the director showing anyone sleeping , anything close to that would be the teasing sex scenes. So in reality they would be all walking zombies that all seem to have bullet holes and wounds in the obliques. Whenever somebody gets injured and seems as if there dying , there is always so much camera action on something that's quite easy recoverable. yes a knife or bullet to the obliques would hurt , but every character in the setting must have a permanent scar there. But negatives aside the 100 combines a great deal of action and romance , with exceptional camera quality and a reasonably good story line . Many demands the the viewer is greatly met and is a good recommendation for apocalypse lovers. But as being a good recommendation , you must have to like teens , and i mean teens a lot . The whole story and 70-80% of camera time is set on the teenage delinquents.The average person to aim at , according to the directors would be teens and middle aged persons, as the characters personalities might have a lot to relate to the viewers. So overall this is greatly recommended to someone who doesn't mind the apocalyptic , emotional trauma type series with occasional to high stabbing in the obliques. And this may be a spoiler so dont read on , but main characters never die , we all have learnt this. Expand
  81. Apr 6, 2015
    10
    I recommend this show. it is a lot better then I thought it would be................................................................................ :)
  82. Apr 10, 2015
    4
    I've been watching this lately, and while I find it interesting, it's also very annoying. It's annoying because it's just too fake - the science seems fake and the characters seem fake and also don't have good chemistry.

    It's almost like they're trying to copy Lost with teenagers, but Lost had some cool stuff in it that made you think. But this show doesn't have anything that makes me
    I've been watching this lately, and while I find it interesting, it's also very annoying. It's annoying because it's just too fake - the science seems fake and the characters seem fake and also don't have good chemistry.

    It's almost like they're trying to copy Lost with teenagers, but Lost had some cool stuff in it that made you think. But this show doesn't have anything that makes me think. Just a bunch of kids running around and talking about making war or making peace with the grounders.

    It's not much of science fiction, since they don't seem to have any technology beyond what we currently have. And, I'm no environmental engineer, but the whole idea that they are running out of oxygen, yet have more than enough food and water, seems silly. Another thing that I noticed was that the space station was rotating, maybe that's where they get their 'gravity'? But if that is the case, their 'gravity' (centripetal force) is going in the wrong direction. In the other case, if they do have artificial gravity, why can't they land a space ship? I mean, they crashed on every single landing. And yet almost everybody lives.

    Then, the characters are so totally predictably stupid. Totally cliche. Oh ya, and it's always like they're trying to kill one of their friends or torture them, but in the next episode all is forgiven and they're best buds again. Also, Clark and her mom, even though they're the main characters, are total elitists. They're always right and so much better than everybody else. And everybody else just loves them because of what? The title of the show could really just be "Clark and her mom tell everybody else what to do and everybody else goes crazy".
    Expand
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. Reviewed by: Jeff Korbelik
    Mar 27, 2014
    75
    This one has promise because it’s not formulaic. I have no idea where it’s headed, which is kind of nice for a change.
  2. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Mar 19, 2014
    50
    As The 100 goes along, you can feel it becoming more and more the show that Rothenberg and his writers want it to be, but it sure starts off at a great distance from from that destination. And even as it gets closer, there are still too many moments of mind-numbing illogic.
  3. 80
    The 100 is better than it has to be, a little more exciting and surprising and intense.