The Americans : Season 1

  • Network: FX
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 30, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 29, 2013
    60
    The Americans is an intriguing and provocative concept.... The execution, alas, initially isn't worthy of the premise, becoming fairly standard spy stuff, and relying heavily on awkward flashbacks to fill in the backstory.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Jan 30, 2013
    58
    Russell and Rhys seem adept at the disguises and stunts. But their characters are practically flipped from pilot to second episode, and some of the black humor here is awkwardly executed.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Jan 30, 2013
    60
    There are enough interesting ideas inherent in the material to warrant giving The Americans a chance, and interesting enough ideas that one wishes a little more attention were being paid to them, and a little less to the usual spy-jinks.
  4. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jan 30, 2013
    60
    As a drama, The Americans struggles to crack a certain code; the concept is tantalizing, but the follow-through lacks the momentum that gets viewers to commit.
  5. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Jan 28, 2013
    50
    The Americans at the moment seems to fall uneasily between the methodical and the campy.
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 337 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 68
  2. Negative: 5 out of 68
  1. Jan 31, 2013
    10
    Great pilot! To begin, what's not to like about a spy thriller set in the 80's with a huge twist. It actually had me, a patriotic militaryGreat pilot! To begin, what's not to like about a spy thriller set in the 80's with a huge twist. It actually had me, a patriotic military member, routing for the Ruskies. The character relationships are off to a great start and will no doubt become more in depth as well as a huge part of the show. I can't wait for the next episode! I still don't know if I should be routing for the FBI or the sleeper agents! Full Review »
  2. Jan 31, 2013
    9
    The Americans may prove to be one of the best series of 2013 in the upcoming episodes. The premise is excellent, no one has touched it on theThe Americans may prove to be one of the best series of 2013 in the upcoming episodes. The premise is excellent, no one has touched it on the television level and it is an absolute treat to watch this, hats off to FX for making this project. Matthew Rhys and Keri Russell, the two lead cast members are wonderful, their characters seem believable especially with the merger of their personal lives with their professional lives. It's a shame that FX has been making wonderful series like the Shield, Nip/Tuck, Sons of Anarchy, Justified, American Horror Story and now, the Americans, but doesn't get the recognition it deserves. Maybe it's time when that happened. I waited so long to watch it and I must say that the pilot didn't ruin the anticipation but that doesn't mean it had the best start.. The beginning is superb, but the rest of the episode doesn't seem too exciting with the exception of the ending which gives rise to a whole new intense future of the series. You can't judge the entire show on the basis of only one episode, so we are gonna have to wait for how things turn out to be. The Americans, if dealt with properly, might become one of the best series in no time and possibly get nominated for major awards. Full Review »
  3. Jan 31, 2013
    0
    Weak show a version of Alias meet Homeland without the good parts. Russel and Ryhs are flat and not believable and Emmerich scares theWeak show a version of Alias meet Homeland without the good parts. Russel and Ryhs are flat and not believable and Emmerich scares the audience with every appearance on screen. All in all a must miss. Full Review »