• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 30, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
The Americans Image
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 304 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
The Americans
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Feb 27, 2014
    100
    Sometimes watching greatness expand and realizing that a foundation is in place for the future (excellent writing, superb acting, a clear conceptual vision) is just the kind of assurance you need to cement your allegiance.
  2. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Feb 25, 2014
    100
    Season 2 finds ways to introduce even greater tension, even as [Philip and Elizabeth are] a more fundamentally sound unit, while also adding a whodunnit element that spices things up nicely.... Absolutely dynamite.
  3. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Feb 25, 2014
    91
    Still excellent, still hard to love.
  4. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Feb 21, 2014
    90
    The new season--suspenseful as ever, more brutal in its violence, perhaps, and more expansive in its reach into history--easily upholds the standard of the first.
  5. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Feb 24, 2014
    90
    Watching, it is almost impossible not to root for these two Communists as they do any and everything they can to undermine America. In this regard, The Americans works its American audience as effectively as its heroes work their marks: It makes double agents of us all.
  6. Reviewed by: Robert Bianco
    Feb 26, 2014
    88
    what these two characters, so fabulously played by Keri Russell and Matthew Rhys, are about to realize as this excellent series returns is that their jobs put their children at risk.
  7. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Feb 26, 2014
    60
    Credibility starts to fray when our heroes, or anti-heroes, keep needing miraculous last-second evasions and escapes.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23
  1. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    What a great program!

    The acting, dialog and plotting are fantastic. How else can you explain the fact that one can feel real empathy for
    What a great program!

    The acting, dialog and plotting are fantastic. How else can you explain the fact that one can feel real empathy for the leads as dedicated and loving parents who also happen to be stone cold killers who are sworn enemies of our country?

    It is one of the most intelligently written programs on TV, one that never ceases to surprise and entertain.
    Expand
  2. Apr 7, 2014
    10
    Several episodes in, The Americans continues as strong as ever. If you were afraid the writers were going to resort to lazy plot devices,Several episodes in, The Americans continues as strong as ever. If you were afraid the writers were going to resort to lazy plot devices, especially the usual one (the previously clever characters start inexplicably doing stupid things) in an attempt to make it more accessible or exciting, then you can relax. The plotlines are still complex yet subtle, as is the brilliant acting from both leads. The writing is perceptive - it feels like you're watching real people, and compassionate - you actually care about them. The only thing not to like about this is that it will remind you how terrible almost everything else on TV is. Expand
  3. Mar 1, 2014
    10
    Only 1 episode of this new season aired but 'The Americans' is a much more confident show than it ever was. It's well acted, well written andOnly 1 episode of this new season aired but 'The Americans' is a much more confident show than it ever was. It's well acted, well written and the story the show is telling is extremely compelling. Must watch tv. Absolutely loved it. Expand
  4. Jan 29, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It was great to see my favorite TV couple back again, but I felt like I needed Cliff's Notes to get through this first episode. I'm fairly good at keeping track of the plot and character details of a complicated TV show or movie and my wife is not very good at it. But we are both avid watchers of this show and have seen all the episodes. Well, I was more confused than usual and my wife was completely lost. We had to pause the show at least a dozen times so I could explain to her what was going on and once or twice I wasn't completely sure. For example, that lady from the Canadian-American whatever. Have we seen her before, or was this a new sub-plot? I think this is a new thing, but I wasn't sure.

    I miss Margo Martindale, but I love Frank Langella. I think he will be a great addition to the show.

    My wife was also a little put out by by what she thought was an increase in violence, like the explicit head-shot in that video. I was surprised by it, and not particularly put off, but I hope that explicit violence does not become a regular part of the show. I don't think it adds anything to the tension. If anything, I find myself taken out of the show for a moment while I reflect on the creative choice that the violence represents. I'd rather not be jolted by not necessary (for dramatic purposes) explicit violence that takes me out of the story.

    They could have pulled away at the last second from the video and cut to a character's face so you see their reaction to the gunshot. You'd still know it was a head-shot. You'd still know it was brutal and gory. And the character's reaction is actually the most important part of the scene to the story.

    I hope we haven't seen the last of Nina. And if they do end up executing her in some Russian prison, I hope that Annet Mahendru gets her own TV show.

    I loved the depiction of the est training. I'm not saying that est and it's spin-offs were completely lacking in value, but they were pretty stupid and they certainly empowered a lot of people to do and say completely rude and ridiculous things. For example, it's possible that focusing on your partner's orgasm could be a non-experience, but it could also be a wonderful experience. Things aren't so cut and dried in the way that est portrayed them.

    I look forward to the coming season. I think the season's focus on the Paige question will be a very fruitful plot choice.

    One of the things I think is interesting about this show is that you find yourself rooting for KGB agents. Not so much for their mission, but for them as people. It's similar to when we were watching The Sopranos and rooting for thuggish mobsters. We're kind of horrified by what they're doing, but care about them as people. There's something kind of cool about that.
    Expand
  5. Mar 15, 2014
    8
    It's really hard to fault "The Americans" and its an interesting feeling to be rooting for the supposed bad guys. Keri Russell and MatthewIt's really hard to fault "The Americans" and its an interesting feeling to be rooting for the supposed bad guys. Keri Russell and Matthew Rhys are a great pairing of solid actors, especially Rhys. My only qualm is that Annet Mahendru's character Nina is probably getting too much screen time this season. The subplot is dull and the time could be better spent elsewhere. Expand
  6. May 16, 2014
    8
    I really love this show but its soo boring. It takes a lot of effort to get through an episode without falling asleep. Its a good show though,I really love this show but its soo boring. It takes a lot of effort to get through an episode without falling asleep. Its a good show though, maybe just not for me. Expand
  7. Feb 28, 2014
    2
    Am I missing something, I watched the first season and wondered what all the hype was about. A couple of psychopaths living together who haveAm I missing something, I watched the first season and wondered what all the hype was about. A couple of psychopaths living together who have no problem killing and manipulating everyone they come into contact with, are we supposed to care what happens to them ? I certainly didn't. Season two more of the same. Expand

See all 23 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Spring TV Preview: 25 Shows to Watch

    Spring TV Preview: 25 Shows to Watch Image
    Published: March 3, 2017
    We pick out the 25 most intriguing shows debuting this spring, including newcomers like American Gods and The Handmaid's Tale and returning favorites such as MST3K, Fargo, and Better Call Saul.
  2. Best TV Shows of the 2015-16 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2015-16 Season Image
    Published: August 9, 2016
    We reveal the top TV programs of the 2015-16 season, including the shows receiving the most award nominations as well as the highest grades from critics.
  3. Television Critics Announce 2016 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2016 Award Winners Image
    Published: August 7, 2016
    Find a full list of winners and nominees for the 32nd Annual TCA Awards, given out Saturday by the organization of TV critics and journalists.
  4. Spring TV Preview: The 30 Most-Anticipated Shows

    Spring TV Preview: The 30 Most-Anticipated Shows Image
    Published: March 2, 2016
    Preview 30 intriguing shows scheduled to debut between now and early May, including the returns of Game of Thrones and The Americans and the season's most promising newcomers.
  5. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  6. The Best New TV Shows of 2013

    The Best New TV Shows of 2013 Image
    Published: December 11, 2013
    We reveal the 10 best-reviewed first-year TV series that debuted this year. Plus, get a list of the top TV movies, miniseries, and specials, and rankings of all new shows by network.
  7. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).