The Americans : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 30, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3
The Americans Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 362 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Elizabeth (Keri Russell) and Philip Jennings (Matthew Rhys) are KGB agents posing as married Americans just outside of Washington D.C. during the 1980s.
  • Genre(s): Drama

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jan 30, 2013
    91
    Based on the admittedly small sample size of two episodes, The Americans feels like it could very comfortably slot in with the upper tier of FX dramas. That's about as good as it gets.
  2. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Jan 25, 2013
    90
    The Americans unfolds a thoroughly seductive tale of sleeper KGB agents.
  3. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Jan 29, 2013
    80
    It's a subtle, complex portrait of a relationship etched into an engaging espionage thriller set in 1981.
  4. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jan 29, 2013
    80
    By episode 2, though, after the crammed (and super-sized) premiere, [creator] Weisberg reveals a sure sense of detail that bodes well for the future of the series.
  5. Reviewed by: Sara Smith
    Feb 1, 2013
    80
    [A] smart espionage drama.
  6. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Jan 30, 2013
    75
    [An] exciting but frustrating spy thriller from former CIA employee and writer-executive producer Joe Weisberg, skillfully captures the anxiety of the age.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Jan 28, 2013
    50
    The Americans at the moment seems to fall uneasily between the methodical and the campy.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 71
  2. Negative: 6 out of 71
  1. Jan 31, 2013
    10
    Great pilot! To begin, what's not to like about a spy thriller set in the 80's with a huge twist. It actually had me, a patriotic militaryGreat pilot! To begin, what's not to like about a spy thriller set in the 80's with a huge twist. It actually had me, a patriotic military member, routing for the Ruskies. The character relationships are off to a great start and will no doubt become more in depth as well as a huge part of the show. I can't wait for the next episode! I still don't know if I should be routing for the FBI or the sleeper agents! Expand
  2. Jun 10, 2015
    10
    As a 1982 high school graduate, it's amazing to be taken back to my adolescent area in such a truthful yet dark way. In my opinion, it's theAs a 1982 high school graduate, it's amazing to be taken back to my adolescent area in such a truthful yet dark way. In my opinion, it's the best show on TV at the moment. Expand
  3. Sep 18, 2014
    10
    The Americans prove again that if you have a good script, great cast and pitch-perfect direction, its a recipe for success. Any John Le CarreThe Americans prove again that if you have a good script, great cast and pitch-perfect direction, its a recipe for success. Any John Le Carre fan would love this show-a no gimmick spy thriller where real-life spies live their lives through uncertainties and dangers that lurked in every corner during the Cold War! Can't wait to see the second season. Expand
  4. May 2, 2013
    9
    Ok... To reiterate a previous post "This is without doubt my most favorite show just now. Its brilliant. I cant stand waiting week by week,Ok... To reiterate a previous post "This is without doubt my most favorite show just now. Its brilliant. I cant stand waiting week by week, so I'm going to wait until the season end and watch
    the remainder back on back."

    So... Just watched them all and yeah, just excellent. There has been some comparisons with
    Homeland, but this? Well, I find Homeland to be a sort of high end commercial great production but
    ultimately slightly oily, too full of its message, and even cheesy at times. This has none of that, as you actually care about the protagonists, our anti-heroes, who are (or were) after all, the enemy.

    Even the poison Granny, who fell in love with her current section boss 40 years earlier on a 1942 battlefield has pathos.

    For my taste this just works fine on so many levels and I cant wait until next January for season
    two.
    Expand
  5. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    T-:¦:-E-:¦:-R-:¦:-I-:¦:-F-:¦:-F-:¦:-I-:¦:-C!!! The Bonnie and Clyde of spies. The Americans have a brilliant way of grooming the audience toT-:¦:-E-:¦:-R-:¦:-I-:¦:-F-:¦:-F-:¦:-I-:¦:-C!!! The Bonnie and Clyde of spies. The Americans have a brilliant way of grooming the audience to see how our enemies sees and thinks against the U.S. The show allows you to observe how agent Russian spy terrorist are transformed into U.S. citizens, so they can destroy this country from within. There is great choreography action like Bourne Identity, plenty of drama, light humor, as well as intelligence. It flows well with lots of flashbacks and comes together through the editing. The show is like a snake, if you don't see what's coming, it will bite you. Some Americans also had a sympathetic heart and twisted love affair for Bonnie and Clyde which murdered innocent people and committed felonies, because they seemed like romantic criminals in the category of Romeo and Juliette. We as an audience have become seduced and drawn in by shows like Dexter True Blood and The Bible series which provides us with a mask to become something other than human for a moment. It allows us to disguise our dysfunctional corrupt fantasies that feeds our hunger for blood and vengeance that we may have against our enemies or those we want to take our anger out on. Since we can't commit the crime, we allow the illusion of Hollywood to produce this craving for us and say its just TV. So we wash our hands from guilt and shame. We claim innocent because we are just witnesses to a sick fantasy. But in truth we know that we are curious like the cat. We as an audience desire evil and good, because we are underneath still children with a sweet tooth for eye candy, wanting Scandal and to be The Americans, even if it asks you to look through the Russian enemies eyes for a moment as a spy against your country and see how they think, feel, just like human beings who are terrorist but still hate The Americans and wish to see harm. Whether the show is sympathizing to glorify enemies of this countries or terrorist attempting to see harm come to innocent children and citizens of this country, through War or attacks, remember its just TV and innocent entertainment. Hollywood allows you to root for the terrorist as the hero for a season, because even terrorist have feelings, family and enemies just like The Americans. Expand
  6. Feb 21, 2013
    8
    Really good plot. The last episode d r a g g e d a little at the end. Can't wait to see what else they have in store for this show.Really good plot. The last episode d r a g g e d a little at the end. Can't wait to see what else they have in store for this show. However, I don't think this show will ever be as great as Homeland. Will continue to watch anyway. Expand
  7. Jan 31, 2013
    0
    Weak show a version of Alias meet Homeland without the good parts. Russel and Ryhs are flat and not believable and Emmerich scares theWeak show a version of Alias meet Homeland without the good parts. Russel and Ryhs are flat and not believable and Emmerich scares the audience with every appearance on screen. All in all a must miss. Collapse

See all 71 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  2. The Best New TV Shows of 2013

    The Best New TV Shows of 2013 Image
    Published: December 11, 2013
    We reveal the 10 best-reviewed first-year TV series that debuted this year. Plus, get a list of the top TV movies, miniseries, and specials, and rankings of all new shows by network.
  3. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).