The Americans : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 30, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
The Americans Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 421 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Elizabeth (Keri Russell) and Philip Jennings (Matthew Rhys) are KGB agents posing as married Americans just outside of Washington D.C. during the 1980s.
  • Genre(s): Drama

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jan 30, 2013
    91
    Based on the admittedly small sample size of two episodes, The Americans feels like it could very comfortably slot in with the upper tier of FX dramas. That's about as good as it gets.
  2. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Jan 25, 2013
    90
    The Americans unfolds a thoroughly seductive tale of sleeper KGB agents.
  3. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Jan 29, 2013
    80
    It's a subtle, complex portrait of a relationship etched into an engaging espionage thriller set in 1981.
  4. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jan 29, 2013
    80
    By episode 2, though, after the crammed (and super-sized) premiere, [creator] Weisberg reveals a sure sense of detail that bodes well for the future of the series.
  5. Reviewed by: Sara Smith
    Feb 1, 2013
    80
    [A] smart espionage drama.
  6. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Jan 30, 2013
    75
    [An] exciting but frustrating spy thriller from former CIA employee and writer-executive producer Joe Weisberg, skillfully captures the anxiety of the age.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Jan 28, 2013
    50
    The Americans at the moment seems to fall uneasily between the methodical and the campy.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 75
  2. Negative: 6 out of 75
  1. Mar 30, 2015
    10
    This show is fantastic. Keri Russell is just amazing and the writing and plot lines are great. As someone that remembers the cold war and theThis show is fantastic. Keri Russell is just amazing and the writing and plot lines are great. As someone that remembers the cold war and the USSR, it also seems fairly historically accurate. I mean it is a television show, but Casper Weinberger and Alexander Haig actually had those roles, so it is a little walk down memory lane. This is such a recent piece of history and I work with people in their 30's (I am in my late 40's) that do not remember this at all, nor did they learn of it in school. Considering the enemy today, it is almost a "remember the good old days" feeling when you knew exactly who your enemy was and the reason you were fighting. They also reference Afghanistan and the war with Russia and our part in that little piece of history as well. Anyway, very excellent show. I hope it stays on for years to come. Expand
  2. Sep 18, 2014
    10
    The Americans prove again that if you have a good script, great cast and pitch-perfect direction, its a recipe for success. Any John Le CarreThe Americans prove again that if you have a good script, great cast and pitch-perfect direction, its a recipe for success. Any John Le Carre fan would love this show-a no gimmick spy thriller where real-life spies live their lives through uncertainties and dangers that lurked in every corner during the Cold War! Can't wait to see the second season. Expand
  3. Jan 31, 2013
    10
    Great pilot! To begin, what's not to like about a spy thriller set in the 80's with a huge twist. It actually had me, a patriotic militaryGreat pilot! To begin, what's not to like about a spy thriller set in the 80's with a huge twist. It actually had me, a patriotic military member, routing for the Ruskies. The character relationships are off to a great start and will no doubt become more in depth as well as a huge part of the show. I can't wait for the next episode! I still don't know if I should be routing for the FBI or the sleeper agents! Collapse
  4. Feb 28, 2014
    9
    I've started watching this show somewhat by chance, reading some reviews on Metacritic.
    Well, I really get enthusiastic for doing it! I
    I've started watching this show somewhat by chance, reading some reviews on Metacritic.
    Well, I really get enthusiastic for doing it! I don't want to speak about the storyline because, you know, it'll take too much time; but I just want to give you a tip: watch it and you won't regret it!
    Expand
  5. Mar 4, 2013
    8
    THis show has come on slowly but has me almost entranced. I grew up in the 80's and the paranoia is definetly identifiable. Which the showTHis show has come on slowly but has me almost entranced. I grew up in the 80's and the paranoia is definetly identifiable. Which the show portrays well. There is also something about watching the hatred for America thru these characters, although some more than others. The storyline has become more intense, and although the show is only 4 or so episodes deep, I have no idea where it is going to lead.Which leads me to continue watching it. Expand
  6. Mar 2, 2014
    8
    I watched the pilot episode, and I thought it was a great show. Unfortunately, at $3.49 (CAD) per episode on iTunes, I won't be watching anyI watched the pilot episode, and I thought it was a great show. Unfortunately, at $3.49 (CAD) per episode on iTunes, I won't be watching any more episodes unless they are released on Netflix. Whoever set that price is pretty greedy. I wouldn't pay any more than $0.99 per episode for any TV show. Expand
  7. Jan 31, 2013
    0
    Weak show a version of Alias meet Homeland without the good parts. Russel and Ryhs are flat and not believable and Emmerich scares theWeak show a version of Alias meet Homeland without the good parts. Russel and Ryhs are flat and not believable and Emmerich scares the audience with every appearance on screen. All in all a must miss. Expand

See all 75 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Best TV Shows of the 2015-16 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2015-16 Season Image
    Published: August 9, 2016
    We reveal the top TV programs of the 2015-16 season, including the shows receiving the most award nominations as well as the highest grades from critics.
  2. Television Critics Announce 2016 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2016 Award Winners Image
    Published: August 7, 2016
    Find a full list of winners and nominees for the 32nd Annual TCA Awards, given out Saturday by the organization of TV critics and journalists.
  3. Spring TV Preview: The 30 Most-Anticipated Shows

    Spring TV Preview: The 30 Most-Anticipated Shows Image
    Published: March 2, 2016
    Preview 30 intriguing shows scheduled to debut between now and early May, including the returns of Game of Thrones and The Americans and the season's most promising newcomers.
  4. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  5. The Best New TV Shows of 2013

    The Best New TV Shows of 2013 Image
    Published: December 11, 2013
    We reveal the 10 best-reviewed first-year TV series that debuted this year. Plus, get a list of the top TV movies, miniseries, and specials, and rankings of all new shows by network.
  6. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).