• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 30, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
The Americans Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 257 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Elizabeth (Keri Russell) and Philip Jennings (Matthew Rhys) are KGB agents posing as married Americans just outside of Washington D.C. during the 1980s.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jan 30, 2013
    91
    Based on the admittedly small sample size of two episodes, The Americans feels like it could very comfortably slot in with the upper tier of FX dramas. That's about as good as it gets.
  2. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Jan 25, 2013
    90
    The Americans unfolds a thoroughly seductive tale of sleeper KGB agents.
  3. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Jan 29, 2013
    80
    The Americans is delightfully cunning, exactly the quality, along with fight scenes and ridiculous disguises, one desires in a spy show.
  4. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jan 29, 2013
    80
    By episode 2, though, after the crammed (and super-sized) premiere, [creator] Weisberg reveals a sure sense of detail that bodes well for the future of the series.
  5. Reviewed by: Sara Smith
    Feb 1, 2013
    80
    [A] smart espionage drama.
  6. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Jan 30, 2013
    75
    [An] exciting but frustrating spy thriller from former CIA employee and writer-executive producer Joe Weisberg, skillfully captures the anxiety of the age.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Jan 28, 2013
    50
    The Americans at the moment seems to fall uneasily between the methodical and the campy.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 59
  2. Negative: 5 out of 59
  1. Jan 31, 2013
    10
    Great pilot! To begin, what's not to like about a spy thriller set in the 80's with a huge twist. It actually had me, a patriotic military member, routing for the Ruskies. The character relationships are off to a great start and will no doubt become more in depth as well as a huge part of the show. I can't wait for the next episode! I still don't know if I should be routing for the FBI or the sleeper agents! Expand
  2. Feb 28, 2014
    10
    Best show on television. The finale was just amazing. Great realism with good politics combined with fantastic charter development.

    Oh ..
    and not afraid to kill off major characters which always keeps you guessing. Expand
  3. Oct 5, 2013
    10
    Hands down, one of the best TV shows of all time. This is a show where clever people outsmart each other, unlike Breaking Bad, where you can mostly bet the characters to do the wrong thing. Expand
  4. Mar 17, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Very good show. One of the very best new TV dramas this year. Well written and well acted (though I am not entirely sold on Kerri Russell) Really spot on portrayal of the the cold war; really find myself rooting for the Russian spies, which I imagine is quite common and is actually a testament to how well this show is written. Expand
  5. Jan 31, 2014
    9
    Great show, good acting, and far from boring. Loved every episode so far, but a few too many sex scenes. Sometimes I feel like I'm watching a high-production porno and not a TV show. Expand
  6. May 10, 2014
    8
    I loved season one of this series.

    It's a unique approach taken by focusing on the KGB agents as opposed to the FBI guys, presenting the
    viewer with an odd sense of duality in routing for both groups of agents to succeed.

    The acting is good, and the sub plots help flesh out some of the episodes that otherwise could be a bit mundane.

    Very enjoyable.
    Expand
  7. Jan 31, 2013
    0
    Weak show a version of Alias meet Homeland without the good parts. Russel and Ryhs are flat and not believable and Emmerich scares the audience with every appearance on screen. All in all a must miss. Expand

See all 59 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  2. The Best New TV Shows of 2013

    The Best New TV Shows of 2013 Image
    Published: December 11, 2013
    We reveal the 10 best-reviewed first-year TV series that debuted this year. Plus, get a list of the top TV movies, miniseries, and specials, and rankings of all new shows by network.
  3. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).