• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 30, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 328 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Elizabeth (Keri Russell) and Philip Jennings (Matthew Rhys) are KGB agents posing as married Americans just outside of Washington D.C. during the 1980s.
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jan 30, 2013
    91
    Based on the admittedly small sample size of two episodes, The Americans feels like it could very comfortably slot in with the upper tier of FX dramas. That's about as good as it gets.
  2. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Jan 25, 2013
    90
    The Americans unfolds a thoroughly seductive tale of sleeper KGB agents.
  3. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Jan 29, 2013
    80
    It's a subtle, complex portrait of a relationship etched into an engaging espionage thriller set in 1981.
  4. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jan 29, 2013
    80
    By episode 2, though, after the crammed (and super-sized) premiere, [creator] Weisberg reveals a sure sense of detail that bodes well for the future of the series.
  5. Reviewed by: Sara Smith
    Feb 1, 2013
    80
    [A] smart espionage drama.
  6. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Jan 30, 2013
    75
    [An] exciting but frustrating spy thriller from former CIA employee and writer-executive producer Joe Weisberg, skillfully captures the anxiety of the age.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Jan 28, 2013
    50
    The Americans at the moment seems to fall uneasily between the methodical and the campy.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 67
  2. Negative: 5 out of 67
  1. Jan 31, 2013
    10
    Great pilot! To begin, what's not to like about a spy thriller set in the 80's with a huge twist. It actually had me, a patriotic militaryGreat pilot! To begin, what's not to like about a spy thriller set in the 80's with a huge twist. It actually had me, a patriotic military member, routing for the Ruskies. The character relationships are off to a great start and will no doubt become more in depth as well as a huge part of the show. I can't wait for the next episode! I still don't know if I should be routing for the FBI or the sleeper agents! Expand
  2. Mar 24, 2015
    10
    One of my favorite shows Brings back memories of the early eighties when Reagan was president. The different lives they portray while playingOne of my favorite shows Brings back memories of the early eighties when Reagan was president. The different lives they portray while playing the all American family is exciting.
    I have to admit I thought the first season was better but things are picking up
    Expand
  3. Dec 12, 2013
    10
    One of the best shows ever produced by american television. It has the right pace and stays within the realms of plausibility, characters lookOne of the best shows ever produced by american television. It has the right pace and stays within the realms of plausibility, characters look like any other flawed human being, with their own dramas and inner conflicts. The show doesn't try to portrait anyone as the "bad" guy, its just a bunch of people tied into a messed world trying to do their best to protect what they believe is right.

    People seem to criticize this show for being slow paced, yes it is slow paced, but that is the goal, do we need another completely unbelievable and ridiculous show with the usual cliche bad commies and the strong patriotic american hero?

    It's refreshing to see american television evolving and producing good shows that actually have a plot and believable characters.
    Expand
  4. May 2, 2013
    9
    Ok... To reiterate a previous post "This is without doubt my most favorite show just now. Its brilliant. I cant stand waiting week by week,Ok... To reiterate a previous post "This is without doubt my most favorite show just now. Its brilliant. I cant stand waiting week by week, so I'm going to wait until the season end and watch
    the remainder back on back."

    So... Just watched them all and yeah, just excellent. There has been some comparisons with
    Homeland, but this? Well, I find Homeland to be a sort of high end commercial great production but
    ultimately slightly oily, too full of its message, and even cheesy at times. This has none of that, as you actually care about the protagonists, our anti-heroes, who are (or were) after all, the enemy.

    Even the poison Granny, who fell in love with her current section boss 40 years earlier on a 1942 battlefield has pathos.

    For my taste this just works fine on so many levels and I cant wait until next January for season
    two.
    Expand
  5. Sep 6, 2013
    9
    The Americans stands on its own as a great drama, but it is simply fun to revisit a time in history where the world seemed so etched in stone.The Americans stands on its own as a great drama, but it is simply fun to revisit a time in history where the world seemed so etched in stone. How we have changed...maybe. Expand
  6. Mar 8, 2013
    8
    I'm starting to think FX does no wrong. Their programming has been incredible lately. I decided to watch The Americans for two reasons, 1.I'm starting to think FX does no wrong. Their programming has been incredible lately. I decided to watch The Americans for two reasons, 1. American Horror Story season 2 came to an end and I needed to fill that void. 2. I love history, and the idea of Russian spies intrigued me. It's a quick show. A bit hard to grab at first but if you stick with it, It's one hell of a ride! The fighting scenes are terrific and the dialog is incredibly smart. Expand
  7. Jan 31, 2013
    0
    Weak show a version of Alias meet Homeland without the good parts. Russel and Ryhs are flat and not believable and Emmerich scares theWeak show a version of Alias meet Homeland without the good parts. Russel and Ryhs are flat and not believable and Emmerich scares the audience with every appearance on screen. All in all a must miss. Expand

See all 67 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  2. The Best New TV Shows of 2013

    The Best New TV Shows of 2013 Image
    Published: December 11, 2013
    We reveal the 10 best-reviewed first-year TV series that debuted this year. Plus, get a list of the top TV movies, miniseries, and specials, and rankings of all new shows by network.
  3. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).