The Americans : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 30, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
The Americans Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 457 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Elizabeth (Keri Russell) and Philip Jennings (Matthew Rhys) are KGB agents posing as married Americans just outside of Washington D.C. during the 1980s.
  • Genre(s): Drama

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jan 30, 2013
    91
    Based on the admittedly small sample size of two episodes, The Americans feels like it could very comfortably slot in with the upper tier of FX dramas. That's about as good as it gets.
  2. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Jan 25, 2013
    90
    The Americans unfolds a thoroughly seductive tale of sleeper KGB agents.
  3. Reviewed by: Alessandra Stanley
    Jan 29, 2013
    80
    It's a subtle, complex portrait of a relationship etched into an engaging espionage thriller set in 1981.
  4. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jan 29, 2013
    80
    By episode 2, though, after the crammed (and super-sized) premiere, [creator] Weisberg reveals a sure sense of detail that bodes well for the future of the series.
  5. Reviewed by: Sara Smith
    Feb 1, 2013
    80
    [A] smart espionage drama.
  6. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Jan 30, 2013
    75
    [An] exciting but frustrating spy thriller from former CIA employee and writer-executive producer Joe Weisberg, skillfully captures the anxiety of the age.
  7. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Jan 28, 2013
    50
    The Americans at the moment seems to fall uneasily between the methodical and the campy.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 77
  2. Negative: 6 out of 77
  1. Jun 10, 2015
    10
    As a 1982 high school graduate, it's amazing to be taken back to my adolescent area in such a truthful yet dark way. In my opinion, it's theAs a 1982 high school graduate, it's amazing to be taken back to my adolescent area in such a truthful yet dark way. In my opinion, it's the best show on TV at the moment. Expand
  2. Sep 18, 2014
    10
    The Americans prove again that if you have a good script, great cast and pitch-perfect direction, its a recipe for success. Any John Le CarreThe Americans prove again that if you have a good script, great cast and pitch-perfect direction, its a recipe for success. Any John Le Carre fan would love this show-a no gimmick spy thriller where real-life spies live their lives through uncertainties and dangers that lurked in every corner during the Cold War! Can't wait to see the second season. Expand
  3. Jan 31, 2013
    10
    Great pilot! To begin, what's not to like about a spy thriller set in the 80's with a huge twist. It actually had me, a patriotic militaryGreat pilot! To begin, what's not to like about a spy thriller set in the 80's with a huge twist. It actually had me, a patriotic military member, routing for the Ruskies. The character relationships are off to a great start and will no doubt become more in depth as well as a huge part of the show. I can't wait for the next episode! I still don't know if I should be routing for the FBI or the sleeper agents! Expand
  4. Oct 5, 2016
    9
    One of my very favourite series, it starts with a bang (a kidnapping attempt with Tusk by Fleetwood Mac as soundtrack) and brings back distantOne of my very favourite series, it starts with a bang (a kidnapping attempt with Tusk by Fleetwood Mac as soundtrack) and brings back distant memories of Cold war.

    But the focal point, besides spying, murdering and general betrayal, is the relationship between Philip and Elizabeth, who live thier life as a cover until the moment they realise they might actually love each other.

    Some humour is of the surrealistic type, such as Elizabeth posing as her husband's sister and attending his wedding with another woman.

    The actors do a fantastic job, the cast is working well together. One of the best shows ever
    Expand
  5. Jan 31, 2013
    8
    I think this one's a lot of fun. It reminded me (very broadly) of "I Led Three Lives," the mid-50s TV drama about Herbert Philbrick, an adI think this one's a lot of fun. It reminded me (very broadly) of "I Led Three Lives," the mid-50s TV drama about Herbert Philbrick, an ad executive who got inside the Communist party as a spy for the FBI. My only complaint has to do with the contrivance of the next door neighbor who just happens to be a counterspy, not to mention that neighbor's brazen move to scope out the spy couple by breaking into their garage just a bit too soon in the series. S'OK though. I'm not going to nit pick the script any further. Much better to just lie back and enjoy the capers. Expand
  6. May 10, 2014
    8
    I loved season one of this series.

    It's a unique approach taken by focusing on the KGB agents as opposed to the FBI guys, presenting the
    I loved season one of this series.

    It's a unique approach taken by focusing on the KGB agents as opposed to the FBI guys, presenting the viewer with an odd sense of duality in routing for both groups of agents to succeed.

    The acting is good, and the sub plots help flesh out some of the episodes that otherwise could be a bit mundane.

    Very enjoyable.
    Expand
  7. Jan 31, 2013
    0
    Weak show a version of Alias meet Homeland without the good parts. Russel and Ryhs are flat and not believable and Emmerich scares theWeak show a version of Alias meet Homeland without the good parts. Russel and Ryhs are flat and not believable and Emmerich scares the audience with every appearance on screen. All in all a must miss. Expand

See all 77 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Spring TV Preview: 25 Shows to Watch

    Spring TV Preview: 25 Shows to Watch Image
    Published: March 3, 2017
    We pick out the 25 most intriguing shows debuting this spring, including newcomers like American Gods and The Handmaid's Tale and returning favorites such as MST3K, Fargo, and Better Call Saul.
  2. Best TV Shows of the 2015-16 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2015-16 Season Image
    Published: August 9, 2016
    We reveal the top TV programs of the 2015-16 season, including the shows receiving the most award nominations as well as the highest grades from critics.
  3. Television Critics Announce 2016 Award Winners

    Television Critics Announce 2016 Award Winners Image
    Published: August 7, 2016
    Find a full list of winners and nominees for the 32nd Annual TCA Awards, given out Saturday by the organization of TV critics and journalists.
  4. Spring TV Preview: The 30 Most-Anticipated Shows

    Spring TV Preview: The 30 Most-Anticipated Shows Image
    Published: March 2, 2016
    Preview 30 intriguing shows scheduled to debut between now and early May, including the returns of Game of Thrones and The Americans and the season's most promising newcomers.
  5. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.
  6. The Best New TV Shows of 2013

    The Best New TV Shows of 2013 Image
    Published: December 11, 2013
    We reveal the 10 best-reviewed first-year TV series that debuted this year. Plus, get a list of the top TV movies, miniseries, and specials, and rankings of all new shows by network.
  7. 2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists

    2013 Television Critic Top Ten Lists Image
    Published: December 10, 2013
    What were critics' favorite television shows of the year? Find their individual top 10 lists inside, as well as composite standings. (And check back for daily updates throughout the month).