• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 1, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
The Awesomes Image
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The animated comedy about superheroes was created by Saturday Night Live's Lorne Michaels, Seth Meyers, and Michael Shoemaker.
  • Genre(s): Comedy, Animation
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Aug 2, 2013
    75
    The Awesomes is charming, but your enjoyment of it may depend on how much you may already feel over-saturated with animation.
  2. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Aug 1, 2013
    67
    The stories aren’t quite as goofy as they could be. The series is clearly a labor of love for the creators. Still, the show has its wonderfully silly moments.
  3. Reviewed by: Diane Werts
    Aug 1, 2013
    67
    It's cheeky parody/homage, exhibiting affection for comic books and other pulpy amusements, while maintaining such a zippy pace, there's no time to consider whether it hangs together. Or whether that matters. (Great voice cast, though.)
  4. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Aug 2, 2013
    60
    As one would expect from a Seth Meyers cartoon, The Awesomes can be knowing and clever, with a positive attitude that skews a bit arch.
  5. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Aug 23, 2013
    50
    It has some good jokes, but this overly familiar spoof lacks the strength to push the envelope. [2 Sep 2013]
  6. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Aug 1, 2013
    40
    Visually uninspired and stiffly animated, the show indulges in lots of talk and little action.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 3 out of 7
  1. Sep 26, 2013
    10
    This show is an animated soap opera with super heroes. It is very funny and witty. The animation is not always on point but who cares it doesThis show is an animated soap opera with super heroes. It is very funny and witty. The animation is not always on point but who cares it does not have to be. Enjoy the show for what it is. 20 minutes of animated fun. Expand
  2. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    Freakin love it I laughed, a lot I like the sophistication and the tongue in cheek If you like hero spoofs. Watch this It's worthFreakin love it I laughed, a lot I like the sophistication and the tongue in cheek If you like hero spoofs. Watch this It's worth watching just for the allusions Expand
  3. Oct 7, 2013
    8
    Humor is a subjective thing so not everyone will find this humor appealing. If you like dry sarcastic witty humor then this is for you. I haveHumor is a subjective thing so not everyone will find this humor appealing. If you like dry sarcastic witty humor then this is for you. I have watched all 10 episodes. I can say that it starts out really slow but gets better the further on I watched. The voice acting is serviceable but not great, the animation is passable but nothing to jump at. However, the stories are well written the pacing of the plot is great, and the continuity of the story are cohesive and enjoyable to watch. I did enjoy this show. If there is a second season I will watch. Expand
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    7
    It can be funny but i'ts only when it's with the heroes, any other time it tries it just doesn't work, especially with the villain. But it'sIt can be funny but i'ts only when it's with the heroes, any other time it tries it just doesn't work, especially with the villain. But it's pretty entertaining and I do watch new episodes regularly. Expand
  5. FiZ
    Sep 12, 2013
    3
    It tries to be edgy and wacky, like some of crossbreed of Drawn Together and The Incredibles, but for all its gimmicks, it doesn't do any ofIt tries to be edgy and wacky, like some of crossbreed of Drawn Together and The Incredibles, but for all its gimmicks, it doesn't do any of them particularly well besides the inevitable failure of team-leader Prock. But even those failures are so predictably cringe-worthy that I'm 8 episodes in to the series, and it's just not at all entertaining. Expand
  6. Sep 26, 2013
    1
    More annoying than funny. I expected more from someone like Seth Myers. The writers seemed to confused between take every opportunity to beMore annoying than funny. I expected more from someone like Seth Myers. The writers seemed to confused between take every opportunity to be asinine instead of doing something actually creative and funny. Over-all very predictable, and insulting of my intelligence. Expand
  7. Aug 8, 2013
    0
    Just not that funny at all. Was hoping for something funny from Seth Myers but this is not delivering. Just can't find anything all thatJust not that funny at all. Was hoping for something funny from Seth Myers but this is not delivering. Just can't find anything all that original with this. Full disclosure though, I turned it off half way through the first episode. Collapse