• Network: ,
  • Series Premiere Date: Mar 22, 2006
  • Season #: 1 , 2
The Bedford Diaries Image
Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 13 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: This ensemble drama (from the producers of "Homicide: Life On The Street") set at a New York City liberal arts college focuses on a group of students enrolled in the same Human Behavior and Sexuality class, which requires them to record weekly video diaries.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Health & Lifestyle
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 21
  2. Negative: 14 out of 21
  1. An ostensibly ridiculous but subtly intelligent soap.
  2. 63
    Dramatically speaking, what douses a bit of the fire of this ensemble show are a few non-compelling characters and/or bad actors.
  3. It's probably too much to ask costars Matthew Modine and Broadway royalty Audra McDonald to inject some depth, but we're pleading anyway. [31 Mar 2006, p.57]
  4. 30
    Youngsters in this age group might find the show intriguing. The rest of us, censorship or no, will likely be bored.
  5. 25
    Disheartening proof that even the most talented producers sometimes concoct a prime-time crock.
  6. Problem is, the characters are neither likeable enough to cheer for nor despicable enough to loathe. They're just sort of unformed lumps of gray clay with a few stereotypical streaks of color.
  7. "The Bedford Diaries" is just woeful -- the most trite, forced and stage-managed piece of empty titillation you're likely to see.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. deannab
    Oct 10, 2006
    10
    I thought this show was incrediable finally some really well written real life situations that are entertaining and thought provoking. I hope I thought this show was incrediable finally some really well written real life situations that are entertaining and thought provoking. I hope they have another season. GREAT STUFF!!!! Collapse
  2. VIVIANC
    May 13, 2006
    10
    I think it is a good show. It is about real life situtations.
  3. hasanr
    May 15, 2006
    10
    this is the best show ever, it talks about real problems, I wish they give it another season
  4. yanik
    Apr 9, 2006
    9
    interesting.. i like it..very diffrent.. a new take on sex.
  5. EmilyB
    May 7, 2006
    9
    I like this show. While it isn't as great as some others on TV, it is still great to watch.
  6. hanka
    May 1, 2006
    9
    I haven't seen the first episode yet, and maybe that's what the bad review are based on, but from what I've seen, this show is I haven't seen the first episode yet, and maybe that's what the bad review are based on, but from what I've seen, this show is very interesting. I actually find myself caring about the characters and enjoying their unique and distinct personalities. And it makes you think about some important questions. Hopefully, other people will start to see that too and it will get the credit (and further seasons) it deserves. Expand
  7. scutf
    Apr 8, 2006
    6
    I certainly did not think it was as terrible as the reviewers suggest. By the second episodie, I actually got a little interested in the I certainly did not think it was as terrible as the reviewers suggest. By the second episodie, I actually got a little interested in the characters and the episode. There are some shows that I have watched 5 or 6 times, and realize that I could care less what happens to any of the characters. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews