The Bible

Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 13
  2. Negative: 4 out of 13

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Sarah Rodman
    Feb 28, 2013
    40
    As is, The Bible sometimes feels too facile, like a colorful Sunday school pop-up book come to life, albeit one with much more graphic violence (which some parents might want to preview before sharing with their kids).
  2. Reviewed by: Dalton Ross
    Feb 28, 2013
    33
    [A] cheesefest miniseries.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Mar 4, 2013
    40
    The Bible according to Burnett and Downey is a handsome and generally expensive-looking production, but it is also flat and often tedious, even when it tends to the hysterical, and as hard as the Hans Zimmer soundtrack strains to keep you on the edge of your sofa.
  4. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Mar 4, 2013
    20
    With the pace of a music video, the characterizations of a comic book and the political-correctness quotient of a Berkeley vegetarian commune this production makes Cecil B. DeMille look like a sober theologian.
  5. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Mar 4, 2013
    63
    Much of this is tediously drawn out, with crazy fly-overs between Biblical Chapters that may make you think it’s “Survivor: Holy Lands,” which, of course, it is.... Things really pick up when Jesus shows up.
  6. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Mar 1, 2013
    50
    This Bible probably won't offend anyone, but it's hard to imagine it will inspire anyone, either.
  7. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Mar 1, 2013
    50
    This is like dramatizing War and peace without commenting on war or peace. [11 Mar 2013, p.46]
  8. 30
    There's no character work here, no interesting reinterpretations of a classic text, no inspired acting. Just cardboard characters surrounded by CGI frippery.
  9. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Feb 28, 2013
    50
    It often plays more like an action film than a serious interpretation of a holy book.
  10. 50
    I suspect that viewers who know the Bible well will be annoyed by "The Bible," while those who are casual students will be alternately mildly entertained and fairly bored. People with no religious beliefs probably won't watch anyway, but if they do, they could wind up confused or amused.
  11. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Mar 1, 2013
    30
    The result is a mini-series full of emoting that does not register emotionally, a tableau of great biblical moments that doesn’t convey why they’re great.
  12. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Mar 1, 2013
    50
    The Bible has the misfortune of looking cheap in comparison to the visual feast provided by the preceding Vikings. And the acting isn't nearly strong enough to overcome this.
  13. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Feb 28, 2013
    70
    Told with great earnestness and a Hans Zimmer score, The Bible hits only a few conspicuously awkward notes.
User Score
3.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 73 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 22
  2. Negative: 13 out of 22
  1. May 1, 2013
    0
    There are so many thing wrong with the show i CBA to explain
  2. Mar 11, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Historically inaccurate, incredibly biased, poorly written. Much like the book upon which it's based, and the target audience, it cherry-picks what it wants you to know and shovels all the bad parts under the rug to pretend they never existed. Certainly does not belong on the History channel.

    Also, Jesus dies at the end.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 7, 2013
    3
    The beginning was promising. I actually loved Noah telling the story of creation while riding out the flood. Very effective. But after that itThe beginning was promising. I actually loved Noah telling the story of creation while riding out the flood. Very effective. But after that it just got really silly. Too corny. Ill admit, I'm an atheist so I'm watching this series because I believe it's one of the greatest story's ever told. Unfortunately it's being presented in a way that can be pretty off putting to those who are looking for entertainment and not a religious experience. I understand I'm not the target audience but even the annoying Christian ads seems to be a bit forced. Bottom line, if you're a believer you can probably look past the corniness since its meaningful, but for us nonbelievers, the show is as silly as we think your belief is. Full Review »