The Bible  Image
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 63 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: The 10-hour miniseries retells the stories of Noah, Abraham, Moses, and Jesus (Diogo Morgado).
  • Genre(s): Drama, Movie/Mini-Series
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 13
  2. Negative: 4 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Feb 28, 2013
    70
    Told with great earnestness and a Hans Zimmer score, The Bible hits only a few conspicuously awkward notes.
  2. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Mar 4, 2013
    63
    Much of this is tediously drawn out, with crazy fly-overs between Biblical Chapters that may make you think it’s “Survivor: Holy Lands,” which, of course, it is.... Things really pick up when Jesus shows up.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Feb 28, 2013
    50
    It often plays more like an action film than a serious interpretation of a holy book.
  4. 50
    I suspect that viewers who know the Bible well will be annoyed by "The Bible," while those who are casual students will be alternately mildly entertained and fairly bored. People with no religious beliefs probably won't watch anyway, but if they do, they could wind up confused or amused.
  5. Reviewed by: Sarah Rodman
    Feb 28, 2013
    40
    As is, The Bible sometimes feels too facile, like a colorful Sunday school pop-up book come to life, albeit one with much more graphic violence (which some parents might want to preview before sharing with their kids).
  6. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Mar 4, 2013
    40
    The Bible according to Burnett and Downey is a handsome and generally expensive-looking production, but it is also flat and often tedious, even when it tends to the hysterical, and as hard as the Hans Zimmer soundtrack strains to keep you on the edge of your sofa.
  7. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Mar 4, 2013
    20
    With the pace of a music video, the characterizations of a comic book and the political-correctness quotient of a Berkeley vegetarian commune this production makes Cecil B. DeMille look like a sober theologian.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 23
  2. Negative: 14 out of 23
  1. Mar 28, 2013
    10
    Very well written screenplay, leaving the bulk of the scriptures. One of the best reproductions of the most important book for humanity. TheVery well written screenplay, leaving the bulk of the scriptures. One of the best reproductions of the most important book for humanity. The editing is brilliant making the show very dynamic. Everything contributes to want to know more about all these fantastic stories. I recommend. Expand
  2. Mar 25, 2013
    10
    This show is very impressive. Its production values are high, its cast dedicated and talented, and its musical score composed by none otherThis show is very impressive. Its production values are high, its cast dedicated and talented, and its musical score composed by none other than Hans Zimmer is a true masterpiece. Strong conematography and powerful performances make this a worthy attempt to capture the spirit of the greatest story ever told. Haters will hate, especially after that little controversy regarding Satan being portrayed so *ahem* accurately, but the show's historic ratings speak for themselves. Peace. Expand
  3. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    First tv show I've been hooked on since 24! Given the subject I'm surprised the reviews are this good. Each story is sticking with me in anFirst tv show I've been hooked on since 24! Given the subject I'm surprised the reviews are this good. Each story is sticking with me in an unexplainable way. These are classics that will still be watched long after higher rated shows are forgotten. It speaks the truth plainly. We wouldn't know of this story if Christ had not rose from the dead. Israel would not be here if the world had its way today or throughout history. The film has never been more relevant. Expand
  4. Mar 25, 2013
    3
    I really wanted to be into it, but the whole story line was just way too unbelievable. It took me out of it.
  5. Mar 11, 2013
    2
    This review contains spoilers. Historically inaccurate, incredibly biased, poorly written. Much like the book upon which it's based, and the target audience, it cherry-picks what it wants you to know and shovels all the bad parts under the rug to pretend they never existed. Certainly does not belong on the History channel.

    Also, Jesus dies at the end.
    Collapse
  6. Nov 30, 2014
    1
    "The Bible" is just like the movie they adapted but longer -- which means it's even duller, louder and filled with exceptionally terrible"The Bible" is just like the movie they adapted but longer -- which means it's even duller, louder and filled with exceptionally terrible special effects. Expand
  7. May 15, 2015
    0
    wtf is this??? are the jewish clans now north european caucasians??? i mean while the egypts are still egypts even gods blond hair looks likewtf is this??? are the jewish clans now north european caucasians??? i mean while the egypts are still egypts even gods blond hair looks like hes caucasian. (you can see it before he burns down sodom). okok the whole show is multicultural but the main chars from noah to abraham to god are all fckin white prikks. and btw god has two angels: one kung-fu-chinaman, and a mixed afro-american with asian influence. Guys, this stuff is serious racism. this stuff is about jews. i couldnt find one. the chosen race seems to be the caucasians in the 21st century. Expand

See all 23 User Reviews