The Bible  Image
Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 61 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The 10-hour miniseries retells the stories of Noah, Abraham, Moses, and Jesus (Diogo Morgado).
  • Genre(s): Drama
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 13
  2. Negative: 4 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Feb 28, 2013
    70
    Told with great earnestness and a Hans Zimmer score, The Bible hits only a few conspicuously awkward notes.
  2. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Mar 4, 2013
    63
    Much of this is tediously drawn out, with crazy fly-overs between Biblical Chapters that may make you think it’s “Survivor: Holy Lands,” which, of course, it is.... Things really pick up when Jesus shows up.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Feb 28, 2013
    50
    It often plays more like an action film than a serious interpretation of a holy book.
  4. 50
    I suspect that viewers who know the Bible well will be annoyed by "The Bible," while those who are casual students will be alternately mildly entertained and fairly bored. People with no religious beliefs probably won't watch anyway, but if they do, they could wind up confused or amused.
  5. Reviewed by: Sarah Rodman
    Feb 28, 2013
    40
    As is, The Bible sometimes feels too facile, like a colorful Sunday school pop-up book come to life, albeit one with much more graphic violence (which some parents might want to preview before sharing with their kids).
  6. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Mar 4, 2013
    40
    The Bible according to Burnett and Downey is a handsome and generally expensive-looking production, but it is also flat and often tedious, even when it tends to the hysterical, and as hard as the Hans Zimmer soundtrack strains to keep you on the edge of your sofa.
  7. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Mar 4, 2013
    20
    With the pace of a music video, the characterizations of a comic book and the political-correctness quotient of a Berkeley vegetarian commune this production makes Cecil B. DeMille look like a sober theologian.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 21
  2. Negative: 12 out of 21
  1. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    First tv show I've been hooked on since 24! Given the subject I'm surprised the reviews are this good. Each story is sticking with me in an unexplainable way. These are classics that will still be watched long after higher rated shows are forgotten. It speaks the truth plainly. We wouldn't know of this story if Christ had not rose from the dead. Israel would not be here if the world had its way today or throughout history. The film has never been more relevant. Expand
  2. Mar 25, 2013
    10
    This show is very impressive. Its production values are high, its cast dedicated and talented, and its musical score composed by none other than Hans Zimmer is a true masterpiece. Strong conematography and powerful performances make this a worthy attempt to capture the spirit of the greatest story ever told. Haters will hate, especially after that little controversy regarding Satan being portrayed so *ahem* accurately, but the show's historic ratings speak for themselves. Peace. Expand
  3. May 14, 2014
    10
    This is the most professionally done film on the Bible I've ever seen, it has a very unknown cast and they are terrific the acting it top quality I was surprised, I don't understand why The Bible has so many negative reviews but there is no truth to them.

    This show was excellent overall and I highly recommend it.
    Collapse
  4. Aug 15, 2013
    3
    Well, from what I've seen, this tv series is below average. It has quite bad acting, and the characters who are crying just sound really ridiculous. Also, this series isn't really accurate compared to the real bible. I suggest to the actors they they improve on their acting and their accuracy on the bible. At least the ninja angels looked awesome. Expand
  5. Mar 17, 2013
    3
    "The Bible", like "The Vikings" and "Mankind" before it, is clearly being sold as an entertainment product rather than an educational one. I converted away from Christianity years ago but am quite well versed in most of the stories and parables of the Bible and History Channel's presentation of them are appallingly inaccurate. I can only hope they don't make a series about Buddhism. Expand
  6. Mar 9, 2013
    2
    When Noah is telling the Book of Genesis to his family I knew this would not be good....and it isn't. Everyone has a different accent....even Scottish. Cringe worthy. Expand
  7. Mar 14, 2013
    0
    Ye, gods! Now this is one silly, silly, show. But, nice to see they took out all the nasty pieces found in the bible stoning children for disobedience, genocide,, the rape of non-jews by jews as god-given spoils of war and so on and made Jesus seem a cool Western European guy despite being born in the Middle East 2000 years ago. Bit sad that I couldn't see the dinos on the ark, though; the people at the creation museum won't be happy! Still, this is the "History Channel", no, wait, it's... not really, is it? Expand

See all 21 User Reviews