• Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 24, 2007
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 8 , 9
User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 205 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 205

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    Really great as ever sheldon and his friends is more cool and funny than ever i really like it. Leonard Penny Raj ,Howard,sheldon,amy,bernaddet,miss cooper
  2. Dec 13, 2011
    0
    This season continues the downward trend. Sheldon is nothing like his former self. I understand the writers were trying to appeal to a broader audience by bringing in Amy and Bernadette but they have failed miserably. Those two have detroyed the show. Penny and Sheldon were the comedic epicentre for this show and now they rarely even speak to one another. Also Amy has somehow started to replace Penny. Penny is just a drunk now with hardly any lines. The writers need to get rid of Amy, make Bernadette appear far less often and let Penny and Sheldon hang out more. Its the only way to save the show. it stopped being funny after season 3. Expand
  3. Sep 30, 2011
    0
    The most un-funny, brain cell-killing program on the air. I seriously can't believe that people ACTUALLY devote the time they can be using to watch Community to watching this.
  4. Dec 9, 2011
    0
    My husband and I are physicists, this show is terrible. None of the science references are correct and the stuff that "Sheldon" says in nonsense. We don't let our kids watch it, and frankly they don't care. You want to watch a good comedy series? Watch something like Parks and Recreation or 30 Rock. Not this cheap, poorly made and lazy-written excuse for a comedy series.
  5. Mar 18, 2012
    3
    The show is slowly falling from a humorous and enjoyable show to a mediocre and somewhat annoying show. The show is by no means bad, but the jokes are being recycled to often, and the behavior of the character's are really starting to get on my nerves. Sheldon, is beginning to become an annoying, self-righteous, stuck up, unforgiving person who every other character just seems to hate. The rest of the characters are all portraying the same emotions, which is tired and annoyed. And with such tension going on, the audience really does not feel the friendship that binds the characters together anymore. And this sadly kills the series and makes it so much less enjoyable to watch. Expand
  6. Oct 1, 2011
    0
    I sorta like it. It's not funny whatsoever but the nerdiness is cute. This is on at the same time as Community so I usually watch Community instead, but I do watch this sometimes. Jim Parsons is a good actor.
  7. Oct 2, 2011
    0
    Most overrated show ever. I mean, it's a bunch of nerds trying to be sexy and the women in their life continuously turn them down? Why is this a hit?
  8. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    The best of the best....Sheldon Cooper, a genius... the best comedy on tv. a show for clever people, that's why some bad reviews. JIM PARSONS Emmy 2011 OUTSTANDING LEAD ACTOR IN A COMEDY SERIES
  9. Jan 8, 2012
    10
    This show is hilarious! The science is actually right bang on, and the casting is right on the mark (for the 5 main actors, anyway). I could do without Amy's character, as well as Bernadette, but they have their moments at times, I guess.
  10. Mar 29, 2012
    10
    The best tv show ever I can hardly wait for the next episode day after day. Its funny, exiting and it cheers up a nerds life as he/she see them selves on tv (in a way).
  11. Jul 10, 2012
    4
    The Big Bang Theory has only few shiny, funny moments, which are well written, joyful to watch and became at least more frequent than in former seasons. Obviously, those moments mainly base on mostly fantastic performances by Jim Parsons. He's the soul of the show, fixing the script by acting the hell out of it, which gained him many well deserved awards. But at some point, as reached many times already, Parsons isn't able to make a screwed up script look funny. This show has never been, and won't be able to compete with those which are able to combine good writing an good acting, as e.g. Modern Family, Parks and Rec and 30 Rock.

    In the end, one personal thought: The last time, a show using laugh track has won an Emmy was Everybody Loves Raymond in 2005. I am capable of knowing whether something is worth laughing about or not. Fake laughs aren't comedy. Today, there is not one show that could possibly compete with Frasier or the already mentioned Everybody Loves Raymond.
    Expand
  12. Jun 14, 2012
    5
    I love "The Big Bang Theory" for seasons 1-4 but 5 really got me puzzled. The biggest change was that is Sheldon. The one I know and love is aloof, detached, and rarely gets emotional in any form. He also (to me) has no interest in informing the general public. The fact that he has a girlfriend, tries to make physics and flags more interesting to everyone else, and displays too many human emotions really scares me. Expand
  13. Oct 3, 2011
    0
    Why in the world is this show so popular? It is very and ahead the worst show on television. Parks and Recreation and Raising Hope blow this show away. Jim Parsons should not be wasting his talent on this.
  14. Jan 24, 2012
    10
    People who vote for this sho with a zero are most likely people who don't like watching nerds do what some nerds do. For us who do we love this show and that's why it is becoming the most watch show on tv. I guarantee that in a year or two it will be. I mainly watch this show because of Jim Paraons and Cuoco. Parsons character is very well written even if it isn't 100 percent correct. Cuoco may not be all that hot but she is cute and has a nice body. Expand
  15. Feb 4, 2012
    10
    The funniest show on TV, I really would like to see Sheldon have a fling (as much as can be called a fling) with Penny they already have a odd connection (soft kitty) and others. Amy can go with Raj. Pria can go back to India
  16. Feb 5, 2012
    0
    I used to love this show but it has become so undeniably terrible. Everything about it sucks now except for amy. Sheldon is getting really annoying and raj is really creepy. I can't watch it anymore. Needs to go back to season 3 humor.
  17. Feb 23, 2012
    2
    One of the two most "aaaawesome' shows (read the hint) is getting a de-rection. The writing is horrible. i mean why force amy on penny like that!!!! its not fun anymore, its kinda lame. plus, the one or two dialogues that raj does get are so ............ i mean we get it. he is dorky , he is a guy whose behaviour can be kinda homosexual..... enough already, i mean stop with the gay dialogue if you don' t want him gay. dont force tickle to induce laugh!! Seriously, lameeeee alert. Expand
  18. May 14, 2013
    7
    Another season of The Big Bang Theory that once again proves to be an enjoyable experience. It still brings the laughs, and they used this season to wrap up the Howard and Bernadette marriage and space story lines, but I can't help but feel like this season fails to live up to it's predecessor's. Especially after the fantastic 4th season. It's still enjoyable but made me wonder how much longer The Big Bang Theory can stay on top. Expand
  19. Jun 10, 2012
    9
    Metacritic user reviews are so worthless. Fan boys give things a 10, regardless and idiotic haters give things 0s. IMDb is more reliable for user reviews. I thought this season was pretty funny. Lots of out loud laughs. I LOVE Penny, but all the characters are great. Good solid season.
  20. Feb 5, 2012
    0
    This season genuinely sucks. Sheldon has gone from hilarious to annoying. Raj is one of the worst characters on television. Some of the storylines have become downright creepy. What happened to this show? Amy (Mayim Bialik) is quite possibly the only thing this show has left before it becomes a travesty.
  21. Sep 22, 2011
    8
    From the creator of TWO AND A HALF MEN (among other sitcoms), THE BIG BANG THEORY, an intelligent show about four geeks and a blonde (and her geeky "bestie"), returns for a fifth time since its debut in fall of 2007. Still filled with hysterical quips--many of which have been compiled on various websites as "Sheldon Cooper quotes": those being humorous simply because no one understands what on Earth he is talking about--this show is just as funny as it was in the previous season. There's nothing you can't love here, and there's little to dislike. Expand
  22. Sep 23, 2011
    8
    Why didnt it still win an Emmy? The Big Bang Theory's 5th season premier is legendary !!! Sheldon Cooper's Elias with his hands in the air recreation was epic ! and Congratulations Penny ! After FRIENDS (Respect) this is the best Sitcom .
  23. Feb 23, 2012
    9
    GREAT SHOW THEY NEED TO KEEP MAKING MORE SEASONS> THE FANS WANT MORE SEASONS LISTEN TO US!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111111
  24. Aug 7, 2012
    6
    This show, once very good, is starting to fall off. Sheldon (Jim Parsons), the heart and soul of the show, can still be very funny. The writers, however, and experimenting too much with him, and the quality of the show dips when Sheldon dips. The crew really had a good thing going, but now they have changed it too much and it is starting to fall apart. I still give it a six because it is only 2 years past it's prime, but it'll only go lower as the seasons go on. Expand
  25. Feb 18, 2012
    10
    The big bang theory is a very enjoyable and very funny show, I recommend it to anyone because it is one of the most funniest shows on air at the moment. The show has a great cast and brilliant witers. You wouldn't want to miss it.
  26. scl
    Feb 28, 2012
    6
    I've been following this show since the beggining, now isn't great as ever, but Sheldon, Leonard and Penny always makes me smile, the fact is that now the others characters are so irrelevant (Howard, Raj) and I think they could do better
  27. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. great season, sheldon well sheldon is can what only bee described as sheldon, all of the sceince may not be factual but it is television and it contains enough facts to make it worth it.
    i reviewed the wrong season :(
    Expand
  28. ETV
    Apr 26, 2012
    10
    So Far So Incredible. I adore this season especially Amy, she steals the show for me. Every character is written to the fullest however I feel like Raj is always the last choice in a storyline but we do get loads of Sheldon and Amy and Penny and Amy.
  29. May 18, 2012
    8
    Really great to watch this program as it has a mixed blend of comedy ,romance. The best part is wen dear lenard cracks jokes in a serious way as in season 5. I am proud that Raj an indian is acting in an foreign comedy show
  30. Jan 29, 2013
    9
    I love this show, but I am really not a fan of Amy. I still adore this show so it gets a 9, but I hope it goes back to season 2 humour. The Sheldon/Penny interactions were always my favourite and they were few and far-between in this season. Sheldon is definitely the most riveting part of this show.
Metascore
tbd

No score yet - based on 1 Critic

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Dec 2, 2011
    75
    It's bright and obvious as a cartoon yet written with a clean, precise patter of jokes. It's also very well cast. [12 Dec 2011, p.45]