• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 24, 2007
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5 , 6 , 7 , 8 , 9
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 0 Critics Awaiting 4 more reviews What's this?

User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 104 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Leonard's decision from last season has an impact on Penny and Sheldon.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    Well, the season starts was not as funny as it used to be, but the episode 6 is one of the most touching, and the song is just awesome! So I'mWell, the season starts was not as funny as it used to be, but the episode 6 is one of the most touching, and the song is just awesome! So I'm totally into that show, one of the best of the decade. Collapse
  2. Sep 26, 2013
    10
    i'm giving already the ebst grade i can do to this amazing series comedy, the best ever!! no wonder Jim have obtained the emmy i hope there'si'm giving already the ebst grade i can do to this amazing series comedy, the best ever!! no wonder Jim have obtained the emmy i hope there's a lot o seasons more. Expand
  3. Nov 19, 2013
    10
    Still witty and interesting. The relationships between the characters still make you feel like a part of the family. I would like to see someStill witty and interesting. The relationships between the characters still make you feel like a part of the family. I would like to see some new progress in some of the relationships. Maybe a new character is order to shake things up a bit. Another season without something to stress the relationships will start to make the series seem stagnant. Expand
  4. Sep 24, 2014
    6
    I utterly adore this series. Granted it milks every archaic nerd stereotype there is and blows it way out of proportion, but I get that is theI utterly adore this series. Granted it milks every archaic nerd stereotype there is and blows it way out of proportion, but I get that is the point and I enjoy it for what it is. With that said, I found season 7 to be the weakest of the lot.

    Aside from Bernadette, Sheldon, and to a lesser extent Stuart, none of the other character get any real growth.

    Raj looked like he was getting growth with his relationship with Lucy in season 6, a shame that went nowhere and simply acted as means to get rid of his mutism (which really was his funniest feature.)

    While I will say that Amy's character does grow that much this season as she did in previous seasons, she does however give a stellar performance and by far the most energetic of the lot.

    I get that there is a bit of hush with Howard's character this season, as season 5 & 6 did put allot of focus on him. So he is forgiven.

    Leonard is by far my least favorite character of the show. While he has grown as a character from who he was in season 1, he's just as whiny and it almost feels like he is forcefully playing out way to many geeky stereotypes. His performance feels a little underwhelming and unnatural most of the time.

    As for Penny: She is more or less the same character she was in the first season. Almost no development there at all, aside from the fact she is not as young and perky as she once was (still hot though.) I do feel her character is being severely under utilized and should be more than just eye candy.

    While there are many episodes that were decent, they just don't have the same carefree and spontaneous feel that previous seasons had. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying they’re bad, just not as good as they use to be.

    Overall:
    I really do hope that the extra cash the leading cast now get will mean better performances. I really do not want to see a Simpsons effect taking place. Regardless, this is still one of my favorite sitcoms and while this season was a bit underwhelming, I still have faith it can redeem itself.

    Side Note to the producers:
    If you really want to get some legendary geek cameos, why not Patrick Stewart, Elijah Wood, David Duchovny, Sigourney Weaver (come on, the queen of Sci-Fi! It’s a crime that she hasn’t been on yet!) There are many, many others.
    Expand
  5. Jun 14, 2014
    5
    So repetitive and mawkish I could only bear to listen to what Sheldon says, and even his scenes were embarrassing to watch. Watching KaleySo repetitive and mawkish I could only bear to listen to what Sheldon says, and even his scenes were embarrassing to watch. Watching Kaley Cuoco was actually good, because she's hot. Though, in truth, Melissa Rauch is more interesting to look at and watch. Expand
  6. Jun 5, 2014
    4
    This is some of the most predictable comedy I've ever seen. I can literally know the joke before they say it (most of the time, at least). TheThis is some of the most predictable comedy I've ever seen. I can literally know the joke before they say it (most of the time, at least). The number of funny episodes is staggeringly low. Like 5 episodes out of 24.

    On the other hand, there's something i noticed and appreciated about this season, and it's that the writers gave it a central theme (beginning mid-season and continuing to the finale). Penny's career predicament, her and Leonard's decision to get married, and how their decision affected Sheldon in the finale. It somewhat renewed my interest in the show and the characters (some of them, anyway).

    I just hope they don't resolve the Sheldon "cliffhanger" in the next season premiere, and then spend the following 23 episodes on their lame jokes. But they will probably do just that.
    Expand
  7. Apr 8, 2014
    0
    A very unfunny show with bad acting and terrible writing. For some reason they think making Star Trek references every 30 seconds is funny.A very unfunny show with bad acting and terrible writing. For some reason they think making Star Trek references every 30 seconds is funny. Its just awful, it bothers me that the future of comedy may be like this. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season

    Best TV Shows of the 2013-14 Season Image
    Published: July 22, 2014
    Our look back at the 2013-14 television season includes all of the year's award winners as well as the season's highest-scoring programs.