The Big Brain Theory Image
Metascore
  1. First Review
  2. Second Review
  3. Third Review
  4. Fourth Review

No score yet - based on 3 Critics Awaiting 1 more review What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Hosted by Kal Penn, competitors are given 30 minutes to complete complex engineering designs.
  • Genre(s): Reality, Science
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Apr 29, 2013
    50
    In the broad strokes, this looks and feels like almost every other made-for-TV elimination game.
  2. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Apr 29, 2013
    50
    In the end, we come away from Big Brain Theory realizing that nerds can be just as insufferable as anyone, and just as interesting. The only thing that seems to separate the competitors on Big Brain from those on “Survivor” is that the nerds wear more clothes.
  3. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    May 1, 2013
    50
    The usual stuff of such shows--arguments among team members; a race against the clock--is served up, though here the disagreements are peppered with phrases out of a physics class about kinetic friction, static friction and so on.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 16
  2. Negative: 4 out of 16
  1. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    I've only watched one episode and already I am hooked. I think it is great that we have a reality show promoting intelligence and innovation and not glorifying mediocrity. I really hope this show catches on. I would rather watch 10 geniuses passionately defend their ideas any day over these histrionic scripted reality shows about nothing. I really hope that the people see the big picture. Expand
  2. May 2, 2013
    10
    Finally a reality show that doesn't make you want to break your television (a la kardashians & honey booboo). It was awesome watching this with my kids and seeing how interested they were in finding an answer to the challenge. Next week's challenge looks even more intriguing than this last one. Discovery Channel nailed it with Big Brain. Kudos to the creators for giving our young people role models instead of embarrassments (a la kardashians & honey booboo)... Expand
  3. May 2, 2013
    9
    I just heard about the big brain theory from a friend this week and was glad I did. I've heard comparisons to other "competition" or "reality" shows but this is SO MUCH BETTER. The overall concept is so cool. The challenges seem to be outrageous but awesome. Listening to the participants talk/argue is fun. They don't use vulgar/dumb arguments they are smart people using sound reasoning to prove their points. I'm a loyal fan in just one week. Expand
  4. May 3, 2013
    9
    I'm looking foward to seeing where they take this thing. Here's to hoping that Kal gets a little more involved, socially, in the teams and how they interact with one another. I want him to stir the pot act as an instigator, and not just the typical host. But I applaud the project for having the guts to reward Merit and not just social deviousness. Expand
  5. Ndi
    May 3, 2013
    5
    As a non-American, I find the show pretty good, but near unwatchable. Every 5 second there is a cut to everyone gossiping and offering opinions on stuff they don't know work or not. It's unbearable, 5 seconds build, 5 seconds some woman talks about her feelings.

    I agree it's a cut above other reality shows, but a better format would be even better. You don't see the Mythbusters going in a booth to badmouth each other and they don't interrupt the experiments to show me what the camera guy thinks. So many shows do this, build ideas, and they are all watchable.

    I have an attention span, no need to keep me interested. I didn't even see the math, I had to pause. But there are 5 minutes of a 3D animation of rails. I know how rails work.

    Also, since when is 120 IQ "big brain"? Again with the token cast? Bring me 6 contestants, and one woman, one back dude, one quirky nerd and one presentable jock.
    Expand
  6. May 10, 2013
    2
    Too much drama, gossip, backstabbing, not enough engineering. It's somewhere between Jersey Shore and Junkyard Wars. Can't we have an honest competition without all the interpersonal drama? Expand
  7. Jun 13, 2013
    0
    I have been watching each episode but after last nights judges decision they lost me!
    Are the judges paid?? It is beyond reason how the
    judges picked the team to win the car catching competition. First of all, are we looking for practical solutions to Engineering issues or seeing how ridiculous we can be. Secondly, what did the car look like after it ran into the steel fence the team built!
    That gizmo, (including labor) had to cost 3 times as much as the simple net device. Its obvious that the young contestants are very gifted, HOWEVER, if they had submitted that device to someone market they would be sadly disappointed. Good luck finding the next group of contestants! Last night was a sad display of judging a project on the merits of REAL world applications.
    Collapse

See all 16 User Reviews