The Big C : Season 4

  • Network: Showtime
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 16, 2010
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Apr 29, 2013
    70
    The path The Big C takes is fairly predictable and unsurprising, but that doesn't mean these last four hours aren't occasionally heartfelt.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Apr 29, 2013
    80
    While there are times when it’s no easier to watch, the certainty of the end seems to give the show more focus.
  3. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Apr 29, 2013
    80
    From its very first scene, Hereafter manages to capture the sense those of us being left behind sometimes get; that the person going already has a foot planted somewhere else. But it also, repeatedly, hones in on the joy that can hit unexpectedly at even the worst moments.
  4. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Apr 25, 2013
    75
    A lovely piece of work. [6 May 2013, p.49]
  5. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Apr 29, 2013
    67
    The Big C doesn’t traffic in miracles, but it does deliver small pleasures worth pondering and savoring.
  6. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Apr 26, 2013
    80
    Chronicling Cathy's journey, executive producers Darlene Hunt and Jenny Bicks (a cancer survivor) have so far taken her from denial to rage to bargaining and depression. Onward to acceptance, and to a satisfying conclusion.
  7. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Apr 29, 2013
    100
    These final episodes overflow with love, compassion and one lesson we all can take to heart: Cathy lived.
  8. Reviewed by: Bruce Miller
    May 29, 2013
    80
    Linney and company are masterful (Basso is a revelation); the final episode's writing is solid.
  9. Reviewed by: Lanford Beard
    Apr 25, 2013
    67
    The series' slow slog to the May 20 finish threatens to prove as bland as that pie.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. May 28, 2013
    10
    Each episode of The Big C's 4-hour finale is full of love, sadness and optimism. Each one has brought me to tears, and every actor is perfectEach episode of The Big C's 4-hour finale is full of love, sadness and optimism. Each one has brought me to tears, and every actor is perfect in these last few episodes. It brings some really worthwhile ideas to mind. It's an emotional sucker punch, and it's quite depressing, but it's important viewing. Needless to say, Laura Linney deserves every award in the universe for this part. I'll never forget you, Cathy Jamison. Full Review »
  2. May 12, 2013
    10
    Oh, The Big C. After an amazingly written first season, the show became, for the next 2 forthcoming seasons, mild. Problems weren't asOh, The Big C. After an amazingly written first season, the show became, for the next 2 forthcoming seasons, mild. Problems weren't as brilliantly worked as they were in the beginning. However, season 4 brought deep emotions that were being held by the writers/producers. Seeing death being portrayed this way is, at least, incredible. It continues to be bittersweet in its core and that's what's amazing about the show. And Laura Linney is breathtaking to say the least. Amazing performance. Full Review »
  3. Sep 21, 2015
    10
    Sorry for my late review. After watching the series for the third time, I would like to thank the cast and crew of The Big C for the amazing,Sorry for my late review. After watching the series for the third time, I would like to thank the cast and crew of The Big C for the amazing, emotional, laugh-out-loud & heartfelt journey that the show has brought me on again and again. My favourite TV series brought me a first-person view of Cathy's personal struggle with cancer and her endless charm that brought a smile to our faces even on the gloomiest of days for Cathy. The marvellous spectrum of characters that we are introduced to compliment Laura Linney's ace acting. It feels like we have a slice of a life well lived in the short narration we witness. It is hard not to have your heart-strings thug at every turn either with pathos or joy. It was a real pleasure to have seen this art in motion. Once again the critics and user reviews reflect that the usual dismal uncultured creatures have come out to voice whatever fad critique they have brewing up in the underworld. Usually attacking the show for its "unrealistic presentation of cancer", for its "over-dramatic" plot and for the seasons variation in story-telling. Critique of that which is the first rule of a good drama - make it dramatic. We all know the tripe that (not-so-reality) reality TV spews out. Cathy's life is a roller-coaster of emotion, delightfully splitting between the Mid-week mood to the Weekend, as opposed to the monotony that critics have demanded of it. Lastly, The Big C stays fresh true and true. Often taking us out-side normal behaviour and right back to the mundane principles we live by. It develops ; too quick for some obviously.

    To end on a good tone and to voice Curt Wagner once again. It was a masterpiece, Cathy lived & I love life more for it.
    Full Review »