• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Aug 16, 2010
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4
The Big C Image
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 64 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After being diagnosed with cancer, Cathy Jamison (Laura Linney) begins to make major changes to her life as she juggles being a teacher, mother, wife, and sister.
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. 100
    The show is cluttered with cutesy sidekicks, including Gabourey Sidibe as a student and John Benjamin Hickey as Cathy's homeless brother. But Linney's a big deal. [30 Aug 2010, p.37]
  2. 80
    Linney and this role were made for each other. There are a few problems with The Big C. Occasionally, the tone veers off course into forced comic absurdity. But my cavils are irrelevant in the face of Linney's extraordinary work.
  3. The Big C works because most of the writing is strong and believable, and so is Ms. Linney, who rarely sounds a false note and here has perfect pitch.
  4. The Big C does not arrive with as sturdy a foundation as "Nurse Jackie," an unusually well-developed show from the get-go, but Ms. Linney completely inhabits a role that's recognizable as a woman who is strong and unusually selfless--at least until her diagnosis.
  5. Linney, a terrific actress, anchors this cast nicely. We like them all, which is critical and helps us past the fact that Linney's wild-child moments break little new ground. Neither does the message The Big C ultimately delivers, which doesn't mean it's a bad one.
  6. In the tradition of "The Day After" and "My So-Called Life" comes The Big C, an important show premiering Monday that's not necessarily a great show.
  7. 25
    In The Big C, cancer is simply an excuse to sell the vicarious thrill of on-screen narcissism.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 15
  2. Negative: 3 out of 15
  1. Dec 29, 2011
    10
    Witty, thoughtful, sad, charming, heartwrenching, dramatic, enticing. This show has everything. Even the couple of subpar episodes areWitty, thoughtful, sad, charming, heartwrenching, dramatic, enticing. This show has everything. Even the couple of subpar episodes are elevated by Linney's performance. YES, this show makes me laugh - A LOT. To people who say it's not funny are obviously letting the dramatic moments overshadow everything else - it's a dark comedy, in the same vein as Weeds. Weeds is another show I love but it has been less funny in the past seasons - doesn't mean its still not a dark comedy. Expand
  2. Sep 26, 2010
    10
    Definitely one of the better shows I've seen in a long long time. Laura Linney really shows her acting skills in this great comedy. ShowtimeDefinitely one of the better shows I've seen in a long long time. Laura Linney really shows her acting skills in this great comedy. Showtime has had some misses lately, they're just lucky that they found The Big C. Collapse
  3. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    Loved this show. Laura Linney is great. I love her character. The show has its really funny parts but it has its sad ones too. I can't waitLoved this show. Laura Linney is great. I love her character. The show has its really funny parts but it has its sad ones too. I can't wait to see season 2. Expand
  4. Aug 31, 2010
    8
    Laura Linney is great, as usual. She does great work the the half hour Showtime format. I'll definitely watch the season. Weeds is a solidLaura Linney is great, as usual. She does great work the the half hour Showtime format. I'll definitely watch the season. Weeds is a solid lead-in. I just with Oliver Platt didn't seem so neutered. Expand
  5. Apr 6, 2012
    8
    Full disclosure: If Pauley Shore and Carrot Top starred in Showtime sitcom, I'd cancel my subscription; but add Laura Linney to the mix andFull disclosure: If Pauley Shore and Carrot Top starred in Showtime sitcom, I'd cancel my subscription; but add Laura Linney to the mix and I'd sign on for life. Without her, The Big C would probably get a 6 from without Linney, but she is THAT good. The show isn't as well written as perhaps iot should be, but it certainly rises above the sitcom drek one finds on mainstream TV. Linney is simply fabulous, everyone is else is merely adequate and the writing is up and down, but the Big C is still worth the effort. Expand
  6. Sep 2, 2010
    8
    Laura Linney is really good. She can definitely get a Golden Globe nomination with a possible win and it able to get an Emmy nom. GaboureyLaura Linney is really good. She can definitely get a Golden Globe nomination with a possible win and it able to get an Emmy nom. Gabourey Sidibe is great but they need to give her more screen time. The reason I gave this show a 9 because it isn't good in the 30 minute format. It goes by too quickly, this show should be an hour. Oliver Platt and Laura Linney's on screen son are pretty good. But this show can't last very long, the longest it can last is probably 2 to 3 seasons. If it goes on past that, then the series will drag on and become stupid. Expand
  7. Jan 9, 2012
    0
    Not a good show by any stretch of the imagination. People need to get over Laura Linney. She's not making this show better. It's a failure onNot a good show by any stretch of the imagination. People need to get over Laura Linney. She's not making this show better. It's a failure on a gargantuan scale. Expand

See all 15 User Reviews