• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 26, 2007
  • Season #: 1
The Black Donnellys Image
Metascore
45

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 217 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Kirk Acevedo, Olivia Wilde, Jonathan Tucker
  • Summary: From "Crash" director and writers Paul Haggis and Bobby Moresco comes this organized crime drama centering on an Irish-American family in New York City.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Suspense
  • Creator: Paul Haggis, Robert Moresco
  • Show Type: Ended
  • Season 1 premiere date: Feb 26, 2007
  • Episode Length: 60
  • Air Time: 10:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 30
  2. Negative: 12 out of 30
  1. It feels like Haggis and Moresco are picking up right where “EZ Streets” left off.
  2. 75
    It gets an unexpected freshness from a young cast. [5 Mar 2007, p.37]
  3. 70
    Where The Sopranos slices and dices American culture from a thousand different angles and The Brotherhood explores the shadowy nexus between crime and politics, The Black Donnellys sticks mainly to the vices, virtues and vicissitudes of family.
  4. 40
    Ultimately "The Black Donnellys" pales in the light of its lofty influences.
  5. 30
    The Black Donnellys is not top of the world... or the second coming of The Sopranos. The new drama is old wine poured into fancy, contemporary bottles.
  6. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    30
    [A] grim, brooding, utterly muddled crime series.
  7. NBC sent out five episodes; I sat through three before throwing the DVD on the Donate to Public Library pile. I would like to apologize in advance to the library.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 149
  1. PenelopeE
    Mar 12, 2007
    10
    Extremely engaging. Whatever flaws this show has are more than made for by it's great acting and extremely gripping storyline...Tucker's abs don't hurt matters either. Expand
  2. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    I thought this was a very good show that was not given a chance. I enjoyed the plots of each episode and I thought the characters were interesting. All in all, good entertainment. I would have liked to have seen what happened in the second season but, alas, the show was canceled. Expand
  3. CalebC
    Mar 19, 2007
    10
    Best new Show since Lost. Reminicent of Goodfellas and The Departed
  4. zacs
    May 14, 2007
    10
    best show ever made. PERIOD.
  5. scotti.
    Aug 28, 2007
    10
    the black donnellys is like one of the best shows i have ever seen, and they still cancelled it. it shows Nothing But Crap (NBC) is wiling to cancel good shows at the expense of bad ones. the black donnellys is cancelled before las vegas. las vegas has declined significanlty since the first season. but the donnellys get canceled. crazy Expand
  6. AlfredR.
    Dec 28, 2007
    9
    Great show To bad it's off the air!
  7. JoeW
    Feb 26, 2007
    0
    Garbage.

See all 149 User Reviews