The Blacklist : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 23, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
The Blacklist Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 449 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: One of the FBI's most wanted criminals, Raymond "Red" Reddington (James Spader), offers to turns himself in to help catch a presumed-dead terrorist, but only if he is partnered with newly graduated profiler, Liz Keen (Megan Boone).
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 19, 2013
    100
    You think you know this situation and how it will turn out, but there are surprise, yet entirely credible, twists throughout Monday's episode.
  2. Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    Oct 9, 2013
    83
    Here and now, The Blacklist is top-of-the-list escapism.
  3. 80
    It's probably a mite too ridiculous for the dire tone it sometimes affects, but it's confident, verging on brazen, and one tends to respect that quality in entertainment.
  4. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 22, 2013
    75
    Blacklist doesn’t have the pulse, say, of a '24,' but it races in the right direction.
  5. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 11, 2013
    75
    [A] pleasurable, cheeky new crime drama. [21 Oct 2013, p.47]
  6. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Sep 23, 2013
    70
    The Blacklist is never going to be anyone's idea of great art, but at least it has a pulpy kind of momentum that may well be worth watching for a while; I will stick around to see whether Spader's performance really is the only dish on the menu.
  7. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 19, 2013
    50
    The pilot episode is stylish and swiftly paced, but that’s all it is, and despite some intriguing plot twists, there’s not a lot of motivation to keep coming back.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 117
  2. Negative: 22 out of 117
  1. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    Absolutely the most fun new drama on TV! Look forward to Monday night TV again....James Spader is wicked good. Each and every week leaves youAbsolutely the most fun new drama on TV! Look forward to Monday night TV again....James Spader is wicked good. Each and every week leaves you saying WOW did that just happen and wanting to see the next episode immediately! Expand
  2. Apr 13, 2015
    10
    I love it!. James Spader is excellent as Reddington.
    The characters have a good depth.
    The plot twists keep you interested and engaged. The
    I love it!. James Spader is excellent as Reddington.
    The characters have a good depth.
    The plot twists keep you interested and engaged.
    The writers are amazingly skilled
    I hope it never ends
    Expand
  3. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    The Blacklist is an amazing, intense, well-acted, well-written, and well-directed. James Spader and the female lead (I forgot her name) areThe Blacklist is an amazing, intense, well-acted, well-written, and well-directed. James Spader and the female lead (I forgot her name) are amazing together. I highly recommend this show Collapse
  4. Aug 28, 2014
    8
    The best new show this fall without a doubt and NBC is alive again. The show has hooked me from the start and it has proven to be an amazingThe best new show this fall without a doubt and NBC is alive again. The show has hooked me from the start and it has proven to be an amazing show. The series is darker than most broadcast shows as some of the cases are often disturbing and a lot more odd. James Spader does an amazing job as Red, the best new character of the fall. Even though he's an evil man, he's so damn funny and very cunning. He steals the show and he is so very interesting. Megan Boone does a fine job, even though viewers tends to over criticize here. Her character might not be as interesting as Spaders, but her character is important in the show. The rest of the cast does a good job with their characters. The show got at it's best when it went to the mythology just like poi. The Tom story line was awesome and it really put the show on another level. The ending was also great and it added even more mysteries to the show. The show is great at adding the right music at the right time. In every episode, there is at least one song. They also makes the best episode promos. Very interesting promos with the right amount of intrigue. The first season offered a lot of mysteries that still need to be addressed, but I think most of them will be revealed in season 2. I'm really excited for season 2. Expand
  5. May 24, 2014
    6
    I am an ENORMOUS fan of James Spader and try to watch this show as an 'entertainment' but the script is often so irrational, it becomesI am an ENORMOUS fan of James Spader and try to watch this show as an 'entertainment' but the script is often so irrational, it becomes laughable. The cast is strong with the notable exception of Megan Boone whose performance is weak and wooden. She has one of those faces you just want to hit with a shovel (perhaps then it would be less bland and more animated). Expand
  6. Mar 1, 2016
    5
    I like the show. However, it is really hard to watch because half of each episode is filmed so the screen is so dark you can't see what'sI like the show. However, it is really hard to watch because half of each episode is filmed so the screen is so dark you can't see what's going on. It doesn't enhance the viewer experience, Every time the screen goes dark, I just think, whats going on now, because I can't see anything that is happening. I hate directors that think this enhances or experience as viewers, IT DOES NOT!!! Film it so we can actually see what is going on. Expand
  7. Mar 9, 2017
    0
    The Blacklist along with the utterly superb James Spader started out with great promise. The latest series however, has gone from the sublimeThe Blacklist along with the utterly superb James Spader started out with great promise. The latest series however, has gone from the sublime to t he ridiculous. Please get some new writers worthy of Spader's immense talent. Expand

See all 117 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Renew/Cancel Odds for TV Shows Still on the Bubble

    Renew/Cancel Odds for TV Shows Still on the Bubble Image
    Published: March 22, 2017
    Is your favorite TV show coming back next season? We survey a variety of industry experts to get the latest renewal odds.