The Blacklist : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 23, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3
The Blacklist Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 405 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: One of the FBI's most wanted criminals, Raymond "Red" Reddington (James Spader), offers to turns himself in to help catch a presumed-dead terrorist, but only if he is partnered with newly graduated profiler, Liz Keen (Megan Boone).
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 19, 2013
    100
    You think you know this situation and how it will turn out, but there are surprise, yet entirely credible, twists throughout Monday's episode.
  2. Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    Oct 9, 2013
    83
    Here and now, The Blacklist is top-of-the-list escapism.
  3. 80
    It's probably a mite too ridiculous for the dire tone it sometimes affects, but it's confident, verging on brazen, and one tends to respect that quality in entertainment.
  4. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 22, 2013
    75
    Blacklist doesn’t have the pulse, say, of a '24,' but it races in the right direction.
  5. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 11, 2013
    75
    [A] pleasurable, cheeky new crime drama. [21 Oct 2013, p.47]
  6. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Sep 23, 2013
    70
    The Blacklist is never going to be anyone's idea of great art, but at least it has a pulpy kind of momentum that may well be worth watching for a while; I will stick around to see whether Spader's performance really is the only dish on the menu.
  7. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 19, 2013
    50
    The pilot episode is stylish and swiftly paced, but that’s all it is, and despite some intriguing plot twists, there’s not a lot of motivation to keep coming back.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 106
  2. Negative: 18 out of 106
  1. Dec 11, 2013
    10
    The Blacklist is my favourite new show of 2013, which has seen some tough competition emerge. Character development is brilliant andThe Blacklist is my favourite new show of 2013, which has seen some tough competition emerge. Character development is brilliant and continually building on the basics that were established early on. Each episode has a different twist that keeps you glued to the show, and James Spader is just the perfect character. Expand
  2. Sep 13, 2015
    10
    This is my new favorite show and I enjoy binge watching it! I honestly watched it during my commute and played it through my car speakers. NotThis is my new favorite show and I enjoy binge watching it! I honestly watched it during my commute and played it through my car speakers. Not the smartest driving habits, but this show is worth it! Expand
  3. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    The Blacklist is an amazing, intense, well-acted, well-written, and well-directed. James Spader and the female lead (I forgot her name) areThe Blacklist is an amazing, intense, well-acted, well-written, and well-directed. James Spader and the female lead (I forgot her name) are amazing together. I highly recommend this show Collapse
  4. Nov 10, 2014
    8
    Really a fun show, even if the female lead is a bit over the top. She is tempered in the second season, though the ongoing sub-plot is aReally a fun show, even if the female lead is a bit over the top. She is tempered in the second season, though the ongoing sub-plot is a stretch. Still, it's so much better than most of what's on the air, and James Spader is delicious. Expand
  5. Nov 6, 2015
    7
    James Spader is the standout in this very watchable show. Quite violent considering its a network show so it satisfies the gritty criteria. AJames Spader is the standout in this very watchable show. Quite violent considering its a network show so it satisfies the gritty criteria. A large amount of belief suspension is required but Its snappy and funny too. Agent Keen is unfortunately miscast here. Doesn't have screen presence or chemistry for me. Maybe she'll grow into it. Expand
  6. Oct 3, 2013
    5
    The main draw of this show is unquestionably James Spader. His acting is on full display here as he seems to be relishing this mysterious andThe main draw of this show is unquestionably James Spader. His acting is on full display here as he seems to be relishing this mysterious and complex role. Beyond him though, things start to get dicey. A pet peeve of mine is when writers diminish the intelligence of all the surrounding characters in order to make the main character look more intelligent. That happens here. A lot. The government agents, in particular, are almost as incompetent as the cadets in Police Academy, going from one stupid nonsensical act to another. It works for now, but the agents better smarten up or it's going to be tedious. Expand
  7. May 21, 2014
    0
    Imagine this, an FBI convoy of at least 5 large black armored SUV,s full of armed trained agents are speeding a potential kidnap victim toImagine this, an FBI convoy of at least 5 large black armored SUV,s full of armed trained agents are speeding a potential kidnap victim to safety ....how could you possibly stop them a get to the kidnap victim
    I know get a phony road worker to hold up a stop sign !!!........this sums up this series which is only made more ludicrous by the inept casting ,the female lead looks like her hair and makeup were done by Linda Carter's (Wonder Woman) team from the 70's. They paid James Spader and whatever was left over hired the rest of the cast.....this show got good reviews!
    Expand

See all 106 User Reviews

Trailers

Awards & Rankings