The Blacklist : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 23, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
The Blacklist Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 423 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: One of the FBI's most wanted criminals, Raymond "Red" Reddington (James Spader), offers to turns himself in to help catch a presumed-dead terrorist, but only if he is partnered with newly graduated profiler, Liz Keen (Megan Boone).
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 19, 2013
    100
    You think you know this situation and how it will turn out, but there are surprise, yet entirely credible, twists throughout Monday's episode.
  2. Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    Oct 9, 2013
    83
    Here and now, The Blacklist is top-of-the-list escapism.
  3. 80
    It's probably a mite too ridiculous for the dire tone it sometimes affects, but it's confident, verging on brazen, and one tends to respect that quality in entertainment.
  4. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 22, 2013
    75
    Blacklist doesn’t have the pulse, say, of a '24,' but it races in the right direction.
  5. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 11, 2013
    75
    [A] pleasurable, cheeky new crime drama. [21 Oct 2013, p.47]
  6. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Sep 23, 2013
    70
    The Blacklist is never going to be anyone's idea of great art, but at least it has a pulpy kind of momentum that may well be worth watching for a while; I will stick around to see whether Spader's performance really is the only dish on the menu.
  7. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 19, 2013
    50
    The pilot episode is stylish and swiftly paced, but that’s all it is, and despite some intriguing plot twists, there’s not a lot of motivation to keep coming back.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 112
  2. Negative: 19 out of 112
  1. Dec 7, 2013
    10
    This show is absolutely brilliant! The way the FBI are portrayed is very realistic, and Reddington makes the whole show. He is absolutelyThis show is absolutely brilliant! The way the FBI are portrayed is very realistic, and Reddington makes the whole show. He is absolutely amazing, I am hooked! Cannot wait for the next season!! Expand
  2. Oct 27, 2015
    10
    Spader holds his own and carries this show !!!! He is great from start to finish !! They are holding out to long on admitting lizzy is hisSpader holds his own and carries this show !!!! He is great from start to finish !! They are holding out to long on admitting lizzy is his daughter tho!!! Expand
  3. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    The Blacklist is an amazing, intense, well-acted, well-written, and well-directed. James Spader and the female lead (I forgot her name) areThe Blacklist is an amazing, intense, well-acted, well-written, and well-directed. James Spader and the female lead (I forgot her name) are amazing together. I highly recommend this show Expand
  4. Nov 2, 2014
    8
    The Blacklist is a fascinating show. I was captured by it from the first episode. However, it was a big mistake to kill off Agent Malik. SheThe Blacklist is a fascinating show. I was captured by it from the first episode. However, it was a big mistake to kill off Agent Malik. She was a big part of the show for me. What was the problem? Did the writers think she competed too much with Liz for our affections? Her death took a lot out of the show. Expand
  5. Sep 27, 2014
    7
    I really want to like this show but why are they making the agents so gulliable? I am ten minutes into Season 1 Episode 4 and I so gratefulI really want to like this show but why are they making the agents so gulliable? I am ten minutes into Season 1 Episode 4 and I so grateful that these idiots aren't protecting me. I really hope they stop dummying things down.
    A FBI profile that can't tell Spader is her father??? Come on... I knew it after the first episode. God knows if they have actually 'revealed' it on the show and it's already started season 2. Please realize your audience aren't a bunch of idiots. Challenge me, just a little.
    Expand
  6. Apr 19, 2016
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think that Spader has his character solid, solid, solid.

    The rest are ok.
    Well except for Jane Alexander who is always awesome, as she always is.
    Whistler from Sneakers[David Strathairn] is not really allowed to expand the horribleness of his character, which makes me sad.
    The same for Alan Alda, he never gets to really make us hate his character.
    And poor Mr. Solomon. He could show us the dark side of supposed human beings if he ever really got the chance. Perhaps in the future.

    But --- PLEASE, somebody pull all those crappy, lazy, horrible parts of songs out of the show. They are the equivalent of "Walk and Talk" sections in other shows. when the "W and T" sections happen, we know they are killing time and, perhaps trying to set something up. ---- B-U-T using the parts of songs is just a lazy, lazy, lazy, lazy way for the writers, producers, show runners, and music director to not have to put in any work and just steal.

    In fact, you could say that the Powers that Be or showing they are lazy versions of Spader's Red.

    I would have given a much higher rating except for the Cheesey, Lousy, Lazy use of songs in the show. Mr. Spader, I'm sorry they're doing this to you and your cast mates and crew.
    Expand
  7. May 21, 2014
    0
    Imagine this, an FBI convoy of at least 5 large black armored SUV,s full of armed trained agents are speeding a potential kidnap victim toImagine this, an FBI convoy of at least 5 large black armored SUV,s full of armed trained agents are speeding a potential kidnap victim to safety ....how could you possibly stop them a get to the kidnap victim
    I know get a phony road worker to hold up a stop sign !!!........this sums up this series which is only made more ludicrous by the inept casting ,the female lead looks like her hair and makeup were done by Linda Carter's (Wonder Woman) team from the 70's. They paid James Spader and whatever was left over hired the rest of the cast.....this show got good reviews!
    Expand

See all 112 User Reviews

Trailers

Awards & Rankings