The Blacklist : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 23, 2013
Season #: 1, 2, 3, 4
The Blacklist Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 440 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: One of the FBI's most wanted criminals, Raymond "Red" Reddington (James Spader), offers to turns himself in to help catch a presumed-dead terrorist, but only if he is partnered with newly graduated profiler, Liz Keen (Megan Boone).
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 19, 2013
    100
    You think you know this situation and how it will turn out, but there are surprise, yet entirely credible, twists throughout Monday's episode.
  2. Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    Oct 9, 2013
    83
    Here and now, The Blacklist is top-of-the-list escapism.
  3. 80
    It's probably a mite too ridiculous for the dire tone it sometimes affects, but it's confident, verging on brazen, and one tends to respect that quality in entertainment.
  4. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 22, 2013
    75
    Blacklist doesn’t have the pulse, say, of a '24,' but it races in the right direction.
  5. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 11, 2013
    75
    [A] pleasurable, cheeky new crime drama. [21 Oct 2013, p.47]
  6. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Sep 23, 2013
    70
    The Blacklist is never going to be anyone's idea of great art, but at least it has a pulpy kind of momentum that may well be worth watching for a while; I will stick around to see whether Spader's performance really is the only dish on the menu.
  7. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 19, 2013
    50
    The pilot episode is stylish and swiftly paced, but that’s all it is, and despite some intriguing plot twists, there’s not a lot of motivation to keep coming back.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 117
  2. Negative: 20 out of 117
  1. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    Absolutely the most fun new drama on TV! Look forward to Monday night TV again....James Spader is wicked good. Each and every week leaves youAbsolutely the most fun new drama on TV! Look forward to Monday night TV again....James Spader is wicked good. Each and every week leaves you saying WOW did that just happen and wanting to see the next episode immediately! Expand
  2. Apr 13, 2015
    10
    I love it!. James Spader is excellent as Reddington.
    The characters have a good depth.
    The plot twists keep you interested and engaged. The
    I love it!. James Spader is excellent as Reddington.
    The characters have a good depth.
    The plot twists keep you interested and engaged.
    The writers are amazingly skilled
    I hope it never ends
    Expand
  3. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    The Blacklist is an amazing, intense, well-acted, well-written, and well-directed. James Spader and the female lead (I forgot her name) areThe Blacklist is an amazing, intense, well-acted, well-written, and well-directed. James Spader and the female lead (I forgot her name) are amazing together. I highly recommend this show Expand
  4. Sep 23, 2014
    8
    Spader is simply brilliant. The series on a whole is very good, albeit there are some episodes which would have been improved by simply notSpader is simply brilliant. The series on a whole is very good, albeit there are some episodes which would have been improved by simply not airing. I feel 22 episodes is too many for a TV series. Why air so many, surely less is more?

    Overall I would highly recommend this series, it is clever and fresh and with strong script and Spader is just too good not to watch this series.
    Expand
  5. May 18, 2014
    7
    Jesus Christ! James Spader performance in this show is incredible. While the effects could been better, 'The Blacklist' still offers anJesus Christ! James Spader performance in this show is incredible. While the effects could been better, 'The Blacklist' still offers an entertainment, likeable and awesome TV serie. Expand
  6. Mar 1, 2016
    5
    I like the show. However, it is really hard to watch because half of each episode is filmed so the screen is so dark you can't see what'sI like the show. However, it is really hard to watch because half of each episode is filmed so the screen is so dark you can't see what's going on. It doesn't enhance the viewer experience, Every time the screen goes dark, I just think, whats going on now, because I can't see anything that is happening. I hate directors that think this enhances or experience as viewers, IT DOES NOT!!! Film it so we can actually see what is going on. Expand
  7. Jan 27, 2014
    0
    I am in complete agreement with lahonda_99. This show is total garbage. Utterly stupid plot lines. Mediocre acting. The same 2 —and only —I am in complete agreement with lahonda_99. This show is total garbage. Utterly stupid plot lines. Mediocre acting. The same 2 —and only — agents show up at the right time to save the day. Obviously there have been some serious cutbacks at the FBI!!

    The good folks at NBC were aiming low with this show. And they definitely hit a home run.
    Expand

See all 117 User Reviews

Trailers