• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 23, 2013
Season #: 1, 2
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 374 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: One of the FBI's most wanted criminals, Raymond "Red" Reddington (James Spader), offers to turns himself in to help catch a presumed-dead terrorist, but only if he is partnered with newly graduated profiler, Liz Keen (Megan Boone).
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 19, 2013
    100
    You think you know this situation and how it will turn out, but there are surprise, yet entirely credible, twists throughout Monday's episode.
  2. Reviewed by: Jeff Jensen
    Oct 9, 2013
    83
    Here and now, The Blacklist is top-of-the-list escapism.
  3. 80
    It's probably a mite too ridiculous for the dire tone it sometimes affects, but it's confident, verging on brazen, and one tends to respect that quality in entertainment.
  4. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Sep 22, 2013
    75
    Blacklist doesn’t have the pulse, say, of a '24,' but it races in the right direction.
  5. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 11, 2013
    75
    [A] pleasurable, cheeky new crime drama. [21 Oct 2013, p.47]
  6. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Sep 23, 2013
    70
    The Blacklist is never going to be anyone's idea of great art, but at least it has a pulpy kind of momentum that may well be worth watching for a while; I will stick around to see whether Spader's performance really is the only dish on the menu.
  7. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Sep 19, 2013
    50
    The pilot episode is stylish and swiftly paced, but that’s all it is, and despite some intriguing plot twists, there’s not a lot of motivation to keep coming back.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 99
  2. Negative: 17 out of 99
  1. Nov 28, 2013
    10
    Definitely a great show to watch! I was very skeptical with the same ol same, woman cop as the lead role, but James Spayder adds the muchDefinitely a great show to watch! I was very skeptical with the same ol same, woman cop as the lead role, but James Spayder adds the much needed intrigue, witty dialog and awesome acting to move this series to the top.
    The fam and I are soon to be long time fans of this one.
    Expand
  2. Mar 6, 2015
    10
    This show is absolutely incredible in every aspect but one. Megan Boone is awful. She's a terrible actress, who's hindered even further by theThis show is absolutely incredible in every aspect but one. Megan Boone is awful. She's a terrible actress, who's hindered even further by the writing of her character, FBI Agent Elizabeth Keen. It seems the writers have a checklist of every female stereotype that exists, and took great care to check every single box as the series goes along. Hopefully they stop trying to make her an over emotional basket case who has absolutely no ability to critically think, and a strong role model and agent. Expand
  3. Sep 28, 2013
    10
    The Blacklist is an amazing, intense, well-acted, well-written, and well-directed. James Spader and the female lead (I forgot her name) areThe Blacklist is an amazing, intense, well-acted, well-written, and well-directed. James Spader and the female lead (I forgot her name) are amazing together. I highly recommend this show Expand
  4. Nov 2, 2014
    8
    The Blacklist is a fascinating show. I was captured by it from the first episode. However, it was a big mistake to kill off Agent Malik. SheThe Blacklist is a fascinating show. I was captured by it from the first episode. However, it was a big mistake to kill off Agent Malik. She was a big part of the show for me. What was the problem? Did the writers think she competed too much with Liz for our affections? Her death took a lot out of the show. Expand
  5. Sep 27, 2014
    7
    I really want to like this show but why are they making the agents so gulliable? I am ten minutes into Season 1 Episode 4 and I so gratefulI really want to like this show but why are they making the agents so gulliable? I am ten minutes into Season 1 Episode 4 and I so grateful that these idiots aren't protecting me. I really hope they stop dummying things down.
    A FBI profile that can't tell Spader is her father??? Come on... I knew it after the first episode. God knows if they have actually 'revealed' it on the show and it's already started season 2. Please realize your audience aren't a bunch of idiots. Challenge me, just a little.
    Expand
  6. Oct 2, 2013
    5
    I don't mind suspending disbelief, but I do mind suspending intelligence. O.K. I knew Spader would make or break the show, but I thought he'dI don't mind suspending disbelief, but I do mind suspending intelligence. O.K. I knew Spader would make or break the show, but I thought he'd have some support from the writers when he was off screen, and all we get is ramped up "24" fantasia land. "Homeland" succeeds because it has a plot and characters to distract from the adolescent view of terrorism, and it has Clare Danes. "Blacklist" has the usual super heroes in human clothing. Isn't it rather obvious that Spader has a daughter? Namely? Expand
  7. Jan 27, 2014
    0
    I am in complete agreement with lahonda_99. This show is total garbage. Utterly stupid plot lines. Mediocre acting. The same 2 —and only —I am in complete agreement with lahonda_99. This show is total garbage. Utterly stupid plot lines. Mediocre acting. The same 2 —and only — agents show up at the right time to save the day. Obviously there have been some serious cutbacks at the FBI!!

    The good folks at NBC were aiming low with this show. And they definitely hit a home run.
    Expand

See all 99 User Reviews

Trailers