• Network: PBS , ITV
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 6, 2012
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Apr 9, 2014
    88
    The former WWII code-breakers of this excellent British import don't deflect bullets with magical bracelets. They use their brains, determination, courage and pleasant demeanors like stealth weapons, covertly undermining postwar expectations to right wrongs no one else seems to notice.
  2. Reviewed by: Sonia Saraiya
    Apr 11, 2014
    83
    Where Bletchley succeeds is in its unapologetic, decidedly feminine take on British life in the ’50s.
  3. Reviewed by: Amy Wilkinson
    Apr 4, 2014
    83
    They reunite to help Bletchley alum Alice in a personal matter that grippingly involves an illegitimate child, a chemical spill and top secret military documents. [11 Apr 2014, p.60]
  4. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Apr 11, 2014
    80
    It's like watching Nancy Drew grow up into Wonder Woman.
  5. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Apr 10, 2014
    80
    It's not as ambitious as Mad Men, of course, but it has its own very real pleasures.
  6. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Apr 11, 2014
    60
    Still fun on its own terms, the encore takes an unexpected little gem and transforms it into “Murder, She (and She and She and She) Wrote.”
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Jun 18, 2014
    10
    Outstanding! I am sad it was so short! The acting is fantastic, the plot wonderful, and the story powerful. Combine that with wonderful period recreation-this is a must see! Full Review »
  2. Apr 24, 2014
    10
    While I'm OK with the new broadcast format of "short season with intense episodes", this is one case where I would be FAR HAPPIER to see a longer season.

    This shows rocks. I love the premise, I love the writing and acting.
    Full Review »