• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 6, 2006
User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 181 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 181
  2. Negative: 88 out of 181

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KevinR
    Jan 5, 2006
    3
    I was dubiously honored to view a pre-screening of the pilot episode several days ago. I wanted to let it all 'sink in' before making a final determination. In short, the pilot doesn't even put the 'fun' in dysfunctional. Apparently, Jack Kenny couldn't have an original thought for a series, so he threw together as many controversial and conflicting aspects I was dubiously honored to view a pre-screening of the pilot episode several days ago. I wanted to let it all 'sink in' before making a final determination. In short, the pilot doesn't even put the 'fun' in dysfunctional. Apparently, Jack Kenny couldn't have an original thought for a series, so he threw together as many controversial and conflicting aspects of other shows as he could. The result is a hodgepodge of lifeless outcasts... a priest addicted to pain killers, a priest's wife who drinks, an oldest son who is gay, an adopted son who is a philanderer, and a daughter who sells drugs. It was humorous in spots; I'll give it that. There is an underlying message that "we're all human, after all", I'll give it that. Unfortunately, the entire premise is too contrived; I haven't seen families this dysfunctional on Jerry Springer. The actors, though top-notch, just don't have much to work with and it shows. The subject matter; while admirable wars to wage, would have been better waged on cable. I give it a 'B' for intent, a 'C' for effort, and a regrettable 'F' in execution. It would seem the success of this show was hinged upon generating controversy, not producing a quality, believable product. Expand
  2. KateC
    Jan 8, 2006
    0
    The Washington Post's Tom Shales said all there is to be said: I cannot recall a series in which a greater number of characters seemed so desperately detestable -- a series with a larger population of loathsome dolts. There ought to be a worse punishment than cancellation for a show that tries this hard to be offensive and, even at that crass task, manages to fail.
  3. mrnobody
    Jan 6, 2006
    0
    This show is striaght from hell.
  4. lsmith
    Jan 7, 2006
    0
    Horrible- Do people realize that making a sexual advance to your sister is incest! It does not matter if you are adopted. Adoption is a legal process that makes siblings legally brother and sister. Is this 2006???
  5. LesterS
    Jan 7, 2006
    1
    Jesus appears to be naive and consenting and all the issues portrayed appear okay....but Jesus did say to an adulterous woman, "Go and sin no more" We condemn ourselves by the choices we make and that determines our future judgment by God Almighty,
  6. RichE
    Jan 7, 2006
    3
    How many sins were they trying to commit in the first show?
  7. JWalsh
    Jan 7, 2006
    0
    Another perfect example of how mainstream television is driven to perversion, in this case the message of the Bilble. For me, it was like watching part a train wreck then to have critic's point out they eloquent sybolism hidden in the tragedy. I couldn't watch the whole thing. In my opinion, it wasn't funny, it was down right hateful. I
  8. bobk
    Jan 7, 2006
    0
    an attack on christians and the christ that is real truly left wing trash tv at its worst no more of this network for me till this trash is removed
  9. PatriciaG
    Jan 7, 2006
    2
    Absolutely agree with Tom Shales of the Washington Post.
  10. charlenej
    Jan 7, 2006
    0
    found it offensive
  11. AnonYMouse
    Jan 7, 2006
    1
    Watched both episodes - found only one even remotely likable character (Christ) - and even that character rang false. Daniel's family is dysfunctional on a catastrophic level, and if all Episcopalian ministers are as loose as he is with interpreting Christ's message, it's no wonder the denomination's losing numbers to more authentically Christian groups. It was hard Watched both episodes - found only one even remotely likable character (Christ) - and even that character rang false. Daniel's family is dysfunctional on a catastrophic level, and if all Episcopalian ministers are as loose as he is with interpreting Christ's message, it's no wonder the denomination's losing numbers to more authentically Christian groups. It was hard for me to judge the acting, since the writing was so over-the-top that I couldn't tell if the actors were hamming, vamping, or underplaying their roles. The bad news is that NBC obviously thought this show was a good idea. The good news is that it probably won't have enough of an audience to last much past January. Expand
  12. ShannonW
    Jan 9, 2006
    0
    This show was a complete disappointment. The average American family is indeed dysfunctional but this is dysfunction has gone overboard. It isn't even entertainment... just filth. It is a mockery of the Christian faith and Jesus Christ. The Jesus character is nothing but a glorified "tell me what you think" therapist. Nobody would dare mock any other religion like this. It is This show was a complete disappointment. The average American family is indeed dysfunctional but this is dysfunction has gone overboard. It isn't even entertainment... just filth. It is a mockery of the Christian faith and Jesus Christ. The Jesus character is nothing but a glorified "tell me what you think" therapist. Nobody would dare mock any other religion like this. It is completely offensive and a wrong direction for NBC to be taking!! Expand
  13. KM
    Jan 11, 2006
    2
    By the end of the second episode, we seemed to have one of every cliche in the book, bunches of overdubs where I guess 'controversial' things were changed, and in general a large mess.
  14. CBeach
    Jan 11, 2006
    0
    There was not one redeeming feature in this show. Not that Christians don't have problems, or commit sins, but there was not one reference to asking God for help, not one reference to reading the Bible for guidance, Things which any truly Christian family with problems would do. It seemed that the purpose was to make Christians, and clergy out to be hopeless mean and nasty fools, and There was not one redeeming feature in this show. Not that Christians don't have problems, or commit sins, but there was not one reference to asking God for help, not one reference to reading the Bible for guidance, Things which any truly Christian family with problems would do. It seemed that the purpose was to make Christians, and clergy out to be hopeless mean and nasty fools, and to make fun of Christians in general. I don't know the religeous persuasion of the authors, but it would appear that they don't get very involved with the subject matter they are writing about. Expand
  15. KimW
    Jan 13, 2006
    0
    What a sick world. But God will judge!
  16. JayW
    Jan 13, 2006
    0
    Thiis show is a very poor inturpetation of christainity and the book of daniel it self. I'm very disapointed in NBC producting such a show. This show totaly make light of a very serious subjects with in christainity. Every thing that seems to be acceptable in the show is totally against what the book of Daniel is really about.
  17. Danielle
    Jan 5, 2006
    0
    Entertainment value lacks due to obvious agenda. Story line and characters are the extremes of extreme and meant to flush out Jack Kenny's beef with the Catholic faith. This aggression should be displayed else where instead of eating up what could potentially be great programming.
  18. TomD
    Jan 5, 2006
    0
    What a stupid premise for a show!!!! Golly, drugs, alcohol, gays, and sex.. didn't we get enough of that on 7th Heaven???
  19. DarwinD
    Jan 5, 2006
    0
    Not fit to be seen. Why not present a film based on the scriptural text and story of the Biblical Daniel as it relates the persons who have a true sense of following a life that is exemplary and one to be modeled.
  20. CarS
    Jan 5, 2006
    0
    shame on the man that wrote this, and shame on the networks that show it! It is the most outrageous program ever placed on television, that totally puts Jesus in a lie, placing him as if He were any other guy, that sins, and that is the biggest sin, and it is an attack on the Bible itself. Is that not enough for you guys to want to take the show off, or do you like tearing down the famiy shame on the man that wrote this, and shame on the networks that show it! It is the most outrageous program ever placed on television, that totally puts Jesus in a lie, placing him as if He were any other guy, that sins, and that is the biggest sin, and it is an attack on the Bible itself. Is that not enough for you guys to want to take the show off, or do you like tearing down the famiy and believers of faith in Christ or in Priests? Come on, don't say you don't understand. Tell it like it is, He is watching and listening right? Stand up and be counted for doing the right thing. Expand
  21. RusstyS
    Jan 5, 2006
    0
    What if the show was about a Muslim imam with the same problems? It would never see the light of day because it would be deemed "insensitive" and "offensive." Big thumbs down to NBC.
  22. DEDEAN
    Jan 6, 2006
    2
    Disjointed and disappointing. I LOVED Joan of Arcadia. In that series viewers were given time to let characters develop. In this jerky first episode, they all sucked! And what's with the plastic smile on Jesus? I won't be tuning in again!
  23. DaylinF
    Jan 6, 2006
    0
    This is why the world is the way that it is. But they only continue to destroy christianity and the world continues to get worse. They say there has always been crime and wars. But the more they destroy christianity the more crime we have and it seems that the war isn't over, it's just beginning. Believe what you will but be careful.
  24. Phototiger
    Jan 6, 2006
    3
    Too much contrived drama and two homosexual characters. Also, the Jesus character has nothing to do in this but show up from time to time and dispense platitudes. This show isn't controversial as it is boring.
  25. StanM
    Jan 6, 2006
    1
    Where do I start? Yes, conservative Christians have every reason to be concerned about this show. And No, there's not one empathetic, likable character in the whole show other than Jesus, who is portrayed more like a buddy or a school counselor than a Savior. With all of the immorality in this show, and not one single remark in the whole show condemning sin, there is no way I can Where do I start? Yes, conservative Christians have every reason to be concerned about this show. And No, there's not one empathetic, likable character in the whole show other than Jesus, who is portrayed more like a buddy or a school counselor than a Savior. With all of the immorality in this show, and not one single remark in the whole show condemning sin, there is no way I can recommend this show to anyone. I was very offended by their portrayal of the minister as a drug(Vicodin)-addicted priest who obviously has no control over his family, who curses often (even taking God's name in vain once), and who excuses sin. We definitely don't need more negative stereotypes of ministers and churchgoers. (I hesitate to call anyone in this show Christian!) Stay far away from this one! Expand
  26. LoriK
    Jan 6, 2006
    2
    I'm really disappointed in your depiction of an Epicopal priest. I'm am not of that particular faith, but I'm sure they will be very upset as to what you made this out to be. He takes the Lords name in vain, he says G.D. and Da*ns his own wife. I don't think that's very funny. His sister curses at her husband's funeral. Jesus is shown as someone other than I'm really disappointed in your depiction of an Epicopal priest. I'm am not of that particular faith, but I'm sure they will be very upset as to what you made this out to be. He takes the Lords name in vain, he says G.D. and Da*ns his own wife. I don't think that's very funny. His sister curses at her husband's funeral. Jesus is shown as someone other than what the Bible shows him to be....kind, loving, and strong. Another mockery .....trying to make a comedy out of something Holy. Expand
  27. ColetteL
    Jan 6, 2006
    0
    can't believe I wasted my time
  28. [Anonymous]
    Jan 6, 2006
    0
    It sucks
  29. SteveS
    Jan 7, 2006
    2
    Not funny enough to be a comedy. Not interesting enough to be a drama. Acting is good. Stories are not.
  30. RobertE
    Jan 7, 2006
    0
    This is another attack on christranity
  31. JayD
    Jan 7, 2006
    0
    Blasphemy.
  32. BrendaB
    Jan 7, 2006
    0
    I found this show to be repulsive and insulting to every Christian.
  33. jackm
    Jan 7, 2006
    1
    I am not a practicing Christian but this detestable show filled with shallow, empty characters spouting contemptible, disrepectable dialogue which mocks everything a rational society or family would value to survive was obviously written by someone who needs serious therapy for their obvious mental illness. The only character that is not totally loathsome is the Chinese son and only I am not a practicing Christian but this detestable show filled with shallow, empty characters spouting contemptible, disrepectable dialogue which mocks everything a rational society or family would value to survive was obviously written by someone who needs serious therapy for their obvious mental illness. The only character that is not totally loathsome is the Chinese son and only because of his charming smile, not his morally vacuous behavior. Expand
  34. KarenH
    Jan 7, 2006
    0
    Give me a break!! An obvious clue that primetime is going down the tubes...
  35. DorianM
    Jan 7, 2006
    0
    This show in no way represents the real Episcpal Church that I love and have served for 20 years as a priest. Aside from the poor taste and the inclusion of every social problem imaginable, the acting is uninspiring. This show needs to be taken off the air as soon as possible.
  36. LorettaC
    Jan 7, 2006
    1
    I'm sorry I think this show was really bad. I kept hoping I could find some redeaming quality but when the 2 bishops had sex that slamed the book shut. I like many of the actors in it the writing was horrid! BRING NACK JOAN OF ARCADIA! Good writing and good acting!
  37. krisw
    Jan 7, 2006
    1
    poor taste and little entertainment value
  38. EdwinW
    Jan 7, 2006
    0
    What next, kiddie porn and murder? Trash!
  39. BillW
    Jan 7, 2006
    0
    Something lower than Whale Poop
  40. ChazS
    Jan 7, 2006
    0
    no comment...just disgusting.....
  41. JustinY
    Jan 7, 2006
    1
    Total Garbage.
  42. CarolynK.G
    Jan 7, 2006
    0
    This show is an insullt to the Episcopal Church. I hope it is taken off the air as soon as possible (like yesterday.)
  43. AndyB
    Jan 7, 2006
    1
    Just once, if prime time TV wanted to produce a show that has anything to do with Christianity or the church, it would be nice if they'd get writers who actually knew something about it. There was essentially no Christian content or character displayed by anyone. Hard to imagine that, unless the objective was just to slam everything that's sacred, which this show certainly does. Just once, if prime time TV wanted to produce a show that has anything to do with Christianity or the church, it would be nice if they'd get writers who actually knew something about it. There was essentially no Christian content or character displayed by anyone. Hard to imagine that, unless the objective was just to slam everything that's sacred, which this show certainly does. It's not just offensive; it's sad--sad that anyone would think this is entertaining. Expand
  44. DawnA
    Jan 7, 2006
    3
    I wasn't really impressed with this show. I love Aidan Quinn, but the story just didn't flow, I would probably like it much better without him talking to Jesus. I guess it really just didn't keep my attention.
  45. LarryH
    Jan 8, 2006
    0
    This show is absurd and a total blast at organized religion. All of the problems discussed exist in the world, but not in one family.
  46. MaryM
    Jan 8, 2006
    1
    This turned out to be projectile vomiting of topic after topic with no way out.
  47. tnordy
    Jan 8, 2006
    2
    gay son...check dope dealing daughter...check statutory rapist adopted son...check alcoholic mother...check embezzling brother in law...check you get the idea. I watched this show with the idea that anything that PO's the religious right is at least worth checking out. I couldn't even make it through the first hour of the premiere. It seemed like the writers sat down and listed gay son...check dope dealing daughter...check statutory rapist adopted son...check alcoholic mother...check embezzling brother in law...check you get the idea. I watched this show with the idea that anything that PO's the religious right is at least worth checking out. I couldn't even make it through the first hour of the premiere. It seemed like the writers sat down and listed every cliched social problem they could think of and put it into one of the characters. The possibilities are endless.... and pretty damned hard to watch. The people boycotting this should find something else to get worked up about and let this die it's natural death. Expand
  48. BayaC
    Jan 8, 2006
    2
    Can't decide if it's a comedy or a drama, and doesn't succeed at either. Pretty bad. Bring back Joan of Arcadia, which handled these Big Questions with so much more humor and taste!
  49. RobertL
    Jan 9, 2006
    0
    A total waste of time. At first, as a Christian, I was offended that such a show would air. I tried to watch it, but it was just so boring, the lines given to these actors are just horrible. I couldn't watch more than a 45 minutes of the 2 hour premeire.
  50. jenniferh
    Jan 9, 2006
    0
    This is like a slap in the face to Christians around the world! This is no comedy this is just repusive TV. The worst TV makes me think I should'nt watch ABC hopefully others will follow.
  51. NancyR
    Jan 9, 2006
    1
    This show is a joke!! The writing is horrible and the acting is worse. Seems someone wanted to see how many personal disasters he could pack into one program and write about it!!!!!!!!
  52. DanT
    Jan 9, 2006
    0
    The script was poorly written. The acting was mediocre. The plot was trite and boring.
  53. HeatherM
    Jan 9, 2006
    0
    Boring! Silly! Terrible!
  54. anonymous
    Feb 3, 2006
    0
    BOD is the most detestable, dispicable, and plain awful show I've ever heard about(which is the primary reason I NEVER watched it). For ALL those involved with the production of the show are guilty of SERIOUS consequences from the very God they mocked and scoffed. Either He will be your Saviour; or your Judge, Jury, and Executioner.
  55. LCrisholm
    May 8, 2007
    2
    Tom Shales said it best: Tries desperately to be as incessantly offensive as often as possible on every subject possible -- and fails even at that.
  56. JewetteB
    Jan 11, 2006
    0
    demeaning to the Christian Religion
  57. GrantR
    Jan 10, 2006
    0
    I'd read a few reviews and came in wanting to like this show but then got sucker punched by the over-wrought production, the utterly unlikeable characters, and most of all, by the utter and total lack of respect paid to the kinds of values a priest ought to espouse. I don't want to spend time with these people. I don't care what they do. They're bickering and bullying I'd read a few reviews and came in wanting to like this show but then got sucker punched by the over-wrought production, the utterly unlikeable characters, and most of all, by the utter and total lack of respect paid to the kinds of values a priest ought to espouse. I don't want to spend time with these people. I don't care what they do. They're bickering and bullying put me off. Click -- I'm gone. Expand
  58. sua
    Jan 11, 2006
    0
    this show was an insult to the notion of truly showing the many convoluted themes in many families of today... i couldn't even watch it to the end...
  59. JosephW
    Jan 10, 2006
    0
    It's very sad that the world is turning into this way.
  60. TMoore
    Jan 11, 2006
    0
    There is nothing entertaining or noteworthy about this program. It is an attack on a major religion in our country, nothing more and nothing less. It is an offensive, degrading program. If there were negative numbers for a rating, I would select one.
  61. LaurelT
    Jan 14, 2006
    1
    After seeing the previews, I was hoping for Monty Python irreverence, American-style. It wasn't.
  62. JeffH
    Jan 22, 2006
    1
    I watched the first night and regret losing 2 hours of my life.
  63. JarrettF
    Jan 20, 2006
    0
    I see plenty of talk by Christians of how this show is demeaning to the religion, offensive and whatnot. Certainly understandable. However, I think that this is more of a gut reaction, a front, that hides what's really going on underneath the surface, the true meaning of these retaliative remarks. I believe that the answer is simple and clear. This show is a bad show. Bad show. As I see plenty of talk by Christians of how this show is demeaning to the religion, offensive and whatnot. Certainly understandable. However, I think that this is more of a gut reaction, a front, that hides what's really going on underneath the surface, the true meaning of these retaliative remarks. I believe that the answer is simple and clear. This show is a bad show. Bad show. As in, it has a set of characters, actors, and a plot that no one really gives a damn about, pun totally intended. Therefore, I think everybody who felt offended or in my case truly annoyed by this show should write a nice little letter to NBC reminding them of their current desperate situation, and how surely their show was trying to stir up controversy and lure in a few extra viewers, but really in the end just took mainstream bile and dumped it on the viewers' laps. This show, in my humble opinion, is by no means a political attack on any belief system or party, neither by NBC nor by its creators, but is rather just useless, putrid non-art, something upon which I think members on all sides of the vast political spectrum can come the agree. Expand
  64. STEPHENB
    Jan 24, 2006
    0
    Pure Trash!!
  65. raymondk
    Jan 24, 2006
    1
    sacreligious and just plain...not funny or amuzing. Why is the entertainment community so bent on portraying christians with such distain?
  66. LoniC
    Jan 5, 2006
    1
    This is offensive to Christians...We do care.
  67. CL
    Jan 6, 2006
    2
    Poorly written, unlikable characters, all the dysfunction of life thrown into one family. And I don't know any clergy who live in houses like that!
  68. C.Kaye
    Jan 7, 2006
    4
    Good ideas, but frenetically developed... This could be a winning series IF better psychology is used in not putting in so many characters per/show and developing the plots in depth instead of skimming the surface.
  69. JimP
    Jan 7, 2006
    0
    So, Jesus helps Daniel find his drugs in the desk drawer....give the few of us who still respect Christianity a break, will you?
  70. MaggieM
    Jan 7, 2006
    0
    The only redeeming character was the Bishop's wife - Perhaps the writer could only write what he knows. Horrible Show!
  71. PatrickC
    Jan 8, 2006
    0
    not funny. not dramatic. characters unworthy of any attention.
  72. JohnB
    Jan 8, 2006
    2
    This show is so over-the-top it made me wince multiple times. Gawd this is bad TV.
  73. JerryD
    Jan 9, 2006
    0
    Have you got a -1 rating?
  74. jsunes.
    Jan 27, 2006
    0
    one of the most refreshing new shows i have seen yet. love it
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 23
  2. Negative: 3 out of 23
  1. A well-intentioned drama with a few comedic quirks but without depth or greater purpose.
  2. 60
    The cast is heavenly in The Book of Daniel; the writing isn't.
  3. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    60
    You may feel the faith-and-family themes could be handled better on cable--mainly because they have been.