• Network: Adult Swim
  • Series Premiere Date: Nov 6, 2005
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 4
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 247 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 247

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 10, 2011
    10
    Great series I thoroughly enjoyed each successive season more than the previous.
    The hidden meaning are especially great.
    My only hope is that the continue making episodes for as long as possible.
    Hell, I'll buy the dvd if it would help ;D
  2. Aug 21, 2011
    10
    The Boondocks does an amazing Job when it reflects on Black American Culture. People either have no clue that this Show is satirical or have no understanding of the word whatsoever. People complain about the heavy use of the word **** but fail to realize that some black people repeatedly use the word **** It tackles many issues and many stereotypes in society today. The Boondocks did not create stereotypes; stereotypes have been through Black Culture for many years. Aaron McGruder is merely putting those stereotypes onto his Comic strip, now onto to his TV Show. Expand
  3. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    THE BOONDOCKS is the gem of absurdly hysterical (but, nevertheless, controversially racist) humor. Based on Aaron McGruder's comic strip that was first published six years before this show was first aired, it has humor that can't get more funny. (The only bad thing about it is you feel so cruel for being sucked into laughing...)
  4. Dec 25, 2011
    10
    Hilarious show, very amusing with its wit and racial stereotypes which they manage to turn into pure laughter, great jokes, and just comedy at some of its finest.
  5. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    This is a great series that really exposes the hypocrisy in the african american commuinity in such a funny way but in the same light it tries to educute african americans as well.
  6. Sep 2, 2010
    9
    I love it!!, Its a very Clever & Witty Show, I love the Art, the characters, the plots. Its very funny, At times it can be funnier than even that of Family Guy, & Boondocks doesn't try too hard to force comedy down our throats, Its genuinely & Naturally funny. I think the Creator is a Genius. This is more than just a Cartoon, its real, its a rare cartoon for all ages. It mainly depicts The BlK Community & shows the ignorant side of it without going to far or being too offensive which is done threw humor. At times it even adds in positive Messages, most likely used as a way to balance out the Controversial Ignorance, often expressed threw the Kid & Uncle Ruckas. Perhaps its best asset is that it's very daring & not afraid to branch out into new territory; Its Brilliant, its fearless... Too bad season 3 is the last one, 85% of the episodes in this series are good, not all of them are. Expand
  7. Sep 20, 2010
    10
    i love this show and i think the writing is brilliant. i love the way it keeps up with pop culture and sort of shows how kids these day are so easily influenced by it. and also how it shows opinions from different view points with the different character's personalities.
  8. Nov 28, 2010
    10
    I love this show and hope they air another season. It is not for the faint of heart. It depicts the way some african-americans converse amongst each other. Of course, the "N" word has met much scrutiny in the last few years. However, in some african-american households, it's still a common world that's not offensive when speaking to each other. Especially in the 'the hood'. The show is very funny especially because it's down-to-earth. There are some Uncle Ruckus's, Riley's and/or Huey's in many families.
    This show is not for children (thus the rating TV-MA). .
    Expand
  9. Apr 14, 2013
    1
    The Boondocks is witlessly blunt and relentlessly unfunny, it relies on confused stereotypes and pitifully employed cliches for moronic laughs. If you get irrationally excited when you hear the N-word, you'll love this sh*tfest.
  10. Aug 7, 2013
    0
    The only reason im giving this show a 0 is because the counter doesn't go down low enough. This is literally the worst show that i have ever seen. This show should have never been written or even thought of. This show uses the term so much i feel like im in the hoods on Chicago or something. The times it doesn't use the word it extremely over compensates by trying to be funny, and horribly failing. White people just plain and simply should not watch this show unless they are on something heavy. The only reason this has such a good overall rating is because of how many black people watch it hourly. Im not trying to offend anyone, but please take this show off the air. The only reason ive watched all 3 seasons of this show was because my friend forced e to watch it, so he would watch the funniest show of all time. If you value your sanity; when you see this show destroy your tv, throw it in ditch and burn it with holy water. Expand
  11. Jun 25, 2014
    10
    What a beautiful show and work of art. If you are an activist, interested in art, want to learn very valuable lessons, or just want a good laugh in general. This is the show to watch. I love this show deeply and it gives great lessons.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    90
    Animation has rarely felt so explosively, hilariously defiant.
  2. An out-of-the-gate triumph.
  3. "The Boondocks," with all its knowingly controversial observations and language, is a sort of animated equivalent of "All in the Family." It'll make you think, and maybe even wince - but at the same time, it makes you smile.