• Network: Showtime
  • Series Premiere Date: Apr 3, 2011
  • Season #: 1 , 2 , 3
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Apr 5, 2012
    80
    The Borgias retains the intrigue and conniving family politics that made season one such a pleasure ride, but it all has more snap now, with Jordan spinning the plates with aplomb.
  2. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Apr 5, 2012
    83
    Still very high quality, and still a tiny bit dull.
  3. Reviewed by: Curt Wagner
    Apr 6, 2012
    88
    The Borgias is back with more drama, sex, violence and betrayals than ever.
  4. Reviewed by: Mark A. Perigard
    Apr 9, 2012
    75
    Rest assured: The Borgias are still bad to the bone.
  5. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Apr 9, 2012
    75
    Poverty and pigeons, bread and circuses--and so much decadent good fun, it's positively sinful.
  6. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    May 21, 2012
    88
    Given the amounts of sumptuous scenery to chew on, the acting is restrained, even if the gore and sex are not. [28 May 2012, p.40]
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Apr 15, 2012
    10
    Everything I loved about season 1 is back! All the opulent historical detail, the slow-burn performances, and the intrigue and backstabbingEverything I loved about season 1 is back! All the opulent historical detail, the slow-burn performances, and the intrigue and backstabbing make a return. But on top of that, the pacing has been improved. The story moves at a more deliberate pace, and the Borgia family itself seems closer to the scandalous family that we've all read about in history. It is this change in the characters that is the absolute highlight of this new season. Whereas Juan was a spoiled playboy before, this year he descends to a much darker and violent place. And where Lucrezia was an innocent girl dreaming of true love, this year what little is left of her idealism is extinguished quickly. And these are just a few of the characters that undergo some profound change. Hopefully the rest of the season stays as strong as the early episodes! Full Review »
  2. Apr 28, 2012
    10
    Everything about this show is good: the political intrigue, the chemistry between the actors, the costumes and set. Whether you are a fan ofEverything about this show is good: the political intrigue, the chemistry between the actors, the costumes and set. Whether you are a fan of history, you like political drama, or just are looking for something good to watch, The Borgias can meet your every need. Excellent show. Full Review »
  3. Feb 27, 2014
    10
    The second series proved to be even more intriguing than the first. By now, I know that many of the events are highly fictionalized, but I wasThe second series proved to be even more intriguing than the first. By now, I know that many of the events are highly fictionalized, but I was not expecting a documentary. Rodrigo Borgia is developing something of a conscience, even if he still chases women. Lucrezia, having lost her innocence, is slowly turning into a more resourceful and merciless woman. Juan and Cesare reach a defining point in their problematic relationship and the latter is also turning even more merciless. Michelozzo shows an unexpected side of his personality, while managing to be even more sinister than during the first series. I totally love the costumes, richly decorated and produced using what looks like first class material. Full Review »