The Bridge (2013) : Season 2

  • Network: FX
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 10, 2013
Season #: 1, 2
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jul 8, 2014
    83
    It's a show with a much stronger command of its subject matter and awareness of its own strengths and weaknesses--even as The Bridge still seems to be stuck in that nebulous border region separating the pretty good from the genuinely great.
  2. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jul 10, 2014
    80
    It moves along with purpose and energy, but it's often at its best when finding colorful details and or allowing small, telling moments to breathe.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Rorke
    Jul 7, 2014
    75
    Drug cartels, a room of shrink-wrapped bills (worth $60 million), body bags and buckets of blood are just some of the intriguing elements in this uniquely Mexican-American drama, where the layers of corruption on both sides of the border seem impenetrable.
  4. Reviewed by: Zach Hollwedel
    Jul 10, 2014
    70
    One has to be both in the know, as well as acclimated to the gory violence and corpses that frequently appear on camera in order to follow along. As long as Cross and Ruiz's renewed partnership seems necessary, season one fans should welcome the return of The Bridge.
  5. Reviewed by: Cynthia Fuchs
    Jul 10, 2014
    70
    As before, The Bridge loses its own focus frequently, sliding off into multiple storylines that follow pairs of characters, some less interesting than others, some downright distracting. But for all the time that feels misspent on Charlotte and her idiot boyfriend Ray (Brian Van Holt) or the self-deluding addict reporter Frye (Matthew Lillard) and his long-suffering partner Adriana (Emily Rios), The Bridge offers brief moments that resonate and sometimes, even chill.
  6. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jul 9, 2014
    70
    In many ways, The Bridge is better in season two than in season one, but for some reason it decided to triple-down on the plot and make the whole thing a complex web of interconnected stories.
  7. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jul 9, 2014
    70
    The plotting of The Bridge can be dense. That doesn’t undermine my enjoyment of the show, but there are moments in between revelations when I sometimes feel at sea.
  8. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jul 8, 2014
    70
    Marco Ruiz and Sonya Cross' odd-couple pairing often mirrors the relationship between reporters Adriana Mendez (Emily Rios) and Daniel Frye (Matthew Lillard), and I still find all of them interesting, even if I'm a little concerned that their parallel story lines may take The Bridge too far again this season.
  9. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Jun 27, 2014
    70
    Matthew Lillard, Emily Rios, Thomas M. Wright, Ted Levine and Annabeth Gish are well cast and their characters are fully sketched. Having seen two hours of season 2, I’m not ready to give up yet, but I’m starting to prioritize TV’s darkest hours and wonder if The Bridge will make the cut.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Oct 20, 2015
    8
    The supporting cast are again the strongest aspect of this show. Eleanor Nacht is chilling. TV taboos are broken here and for that alone IThe supporting cast are again the strongest aspect of this show. Eleanor Nacht is chilling. TV taboos are broken here and for that alone I hope they renew. Some aspects of the writing and the miscasting of Kruger are the minuses but everything else is excellent. Direction and cinematography for example. Worth an 8. Full Review »
  2. Oct 4, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. The Bridge depicts characters on both sides of the law as well as both sides of the US/Mexico border (in El Paso and Juarez). The pace of storytelling is much slower than what typical US audiences are used to. This is not a procedural and there are no quick, clean answers. And at the beginning of the season, its hard to determine how all the desperate plots will ever come together. It all works out in the end though. Another difference is that part of the show is in Spanish with subtitles. Not sure if that slows some viewers down but I watch TV with the subtitles on all the time anyway. I have seen all of "The Bridge" and must say I enjoyed season 2 the most. The introduction of Eleanor (the frumpy Mennonite cleaner for the drug cartel) made me keep coming back. She is one of the most creative TV characters I've seen in some time. Due to it's poor ratings, the season finale may also be the series finale. If so. I was satisfied with the final episode as the conclusion. I do wonder what will become of Marco, Sonya, Fausto, Eleanor, Frye, Adriana, Hank, Cesar, Linder, Eva and Monte in the future though. Full Review »
  3. Sep 19, 2014
    10
    This show has really grown on me, specially on season two with the addition of some new cast members that have added depth to the show. TheThis show has really grown on me, specially on season two with the addition of some new cast members that have added depth to the show. The topics addressed are incredibly important and the writing is bold yet true to reality. I love how they don't stick to stereotypes and are not afraid to share valuable perspectives on the complicated topic of US - Mexico border relations. Can't wait for more! Full Review »