• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 10, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
The Bridge (2013) Image
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Sonya (Diane Kruger) meets a man from her past as Marco (Demián Bichir) continues to battle corrupt cops and the cartel. While the ongoing investigation by El Paso Times reporters Daniel Frye (Matthew Lillard) and Adriana Mendez (Emily Rios) may lead to something major.
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jul 8, 2014
    83
    It's a show with a much stronger command of its subject matter and awareness of its own strengths and weaknesses--even as The Bridge still seems to be stuck in that nebulous border region separating the pretty good from the genuinely great.
  2. Reviewed by: Maureen Ryan
    Jul 10, 2014
    80
    It moves along with purpose and energy, but it's often at its best when finding colorful details and or allowing small, telling moments to breathe.
  3. Reviewed by: Robert Rorke
    Jul 7, 2014
    75
    Drug cartels, a room of shrink-wrapped bills (worth $60 million), body bags and buckets of blood are just some of the intriguing elements in this uniquely Mexican-American drama, where the layers of corruption on both sides of the border seem impenetrable.
  4. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Jun 27, 2014
    70
    Matthew Lillard, Emily Rios, Thomas M. Wright, Ted Levine and Annabeth Gish are well cast and their characters are fully sketched. Having seen two hours of season 2, I’m not ready to give up yet, but I’m starting to prioritize TV’s darkest hours and wonder if The Bridge will make the cut.
  5. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jul 9, 2014
    70
    The plotting of The Bridge can be dense. That doesn’t undermine my enjoyment of the show, but there are moments in between revelations when I sometimes feel at sea.
  6. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jul 8, 2014
    70
    Marco Ruiz and Sonya Cross' odd-couple pairing often mirrors the relationship between reporters Adriana Mendez (Emily Rios) and Daniel Frye (Matthew Lillard), and I still find all of them interesting, even if I'm a little concerned that their parallel story lines may take The Bridge too far again this season.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Jul 7, 2014
    50
    Bichir’s still very good at the start of season two but the writing has lost almost all of its focus, switching from a mystery series to a piece that tries to capture the dark edge of crime on the U.S.-Mexico border and gets muddled along the way.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 1 out of 4
  1. Sep 19, 2014
    10
    This show has really grown on me, specially on season two with the addition of some new cast members that have added depth to the show. The topics addressed are incredibly important and the writing is bold yet true to reality. I love how they don't stick to stereotypes and are not afraid to share valuable perspectives on the complicated topic of US - Mexico border relations. Can't wait for more! Expand
  2. Jul 25, 2014
    9
    A much different season than the first. It's darker and the overall plot is much more complex. The whole story is made up of numerous connecting smaller plots that each involve their own characters and view-points. It's a rather grand scale. It'a also a much more shocking season. Seems like there's always some crazy stuff happening on-screen. It definitely carries a much different feel when compared to the first season. This new tone will alienate some fans of the first season, but for me It's a welcome change. Even as someone who wasn't too fond of the first season, I'm finding plenty of stuff to love in season 2 so far. I'm finding it to be one of the most interesting and entertaining returning shows of 2014, and I recommend you check it out. Collapse
  3. Oct 4, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Bridge depicts characters on both sides of the law as well as both sides of the US/Mexico border (in El Paso and Juarez). The pace of storytelling is much slower than what typical US audiences are used to. This is not a procedural and there are no quick, clean answers. And at the beginning of the season, its hard to determine how all the desperate plots will ever come together. It all works out in the end though. Another difference is that part of the show is in Spanish with subtitles. Not sure if that slows some viewers down but I watch TV with the subtitles on all the time anyway. I have seen all of "The Bridge" and must say I enjoyed season 2 the most. The introduction of Eleanor (the frumpy Mennonite cleaner for the drug cartel) made me keep coming back. She is one of the most creative TV characters I've seen in some time. Due to it's poor ratings, the season finale may also be the series finale. If so. I was satisfied with the final episode as the conclusion. I do wonder what will become of Marco, Sonya, Fausto, Eleanor, Frye, Adriana, Hank, Cesar, Linder, Eva and Monte in the future though. Expand
  4. Jul 20, 2014
    1
    Two episodes so far and all it involves is weird sex scenes and dark characters. Not at all like the original show, and I don't like it at all. What happened to the great writing regarding the border crossing challenges and the investigations centered around that? After all, what is the name of the show...oh yes, The Bridge! Not worth watching any longer. Expand

Related Articles

  1. Second Opinions: TV Critics Re-Evaluate the Summer Shows

    Second Opinions: TV Critics Re-Evaluate the Summer Shows Image
    Published: September 17, 2014
    With the summer TV season winding down, it's time to re-evaluate the summer shows. Find out why critics now love shows like FX's You're the Worst and The Bridge, read what they thought of BoJack Horseman, The Leftovers and Halt and Catch Fire, and see if The Strain and Masters of Sex are heading downhill.