• Network: FX
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 10, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 152 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 152

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 26, 2014
    8
    The few flaws it has really detract from what should be one of the best shows on TV. Excellent cinematography and a great supporting cast, especially the El Paso reporter and his colleague. The strange Steven Linder is also strong. (shirt buttoned to the neck and no tie naturally). On the minus side, Diane Kruger is miscast. Shes too beautiful and doesn't fit on the Mexico-Texas border.The few flaws it has really detract from what should be one of the best shows on TV. Excellent cinematography and a great supporting cast, especially the El Paso reporter and his colleague. The strange Steven Linder is also strong. (shirt buttoned to the neck and no tie naturally). On the minus side, Diane Kruger is miscast. Shes too beautiful and doesn't fit on the Mexico-Texas border. Also there seems to be two teams of writers. One team is not very good. Expand
  2. Oct 4, 2014
    10
    Great Series!!!!

    Well worth watching from the beginning all the way through....

    The first one will grab you and keep you wanting more...

    You never know from one episode to the next what to expect...and you'll probably be WRONG if you try to guess :~)
  3. Jul 15, 2014
    7
    The show has had a good start and it looks to be very interesting. Hopefully it will better as it goes along. I'll definitely keep watching this show.
  4. Oct 14, 2013
    10
    ..just had great pleasure of viewing this extraordinary program in approx 3 days...the finale was probably the most dramatic television i have ever seen...tension was such i could not watch and found myself having to pause...direction, writing, all the brilliant cast..you have my thanks.....what can they possibly to in season 2......
  5. Sep 5, 2013
    7
    Aside from the confusing personality of Kruger, which comes off as annoyingly overacted, The Bridge is well acted, the script and location are original, and the pace is just about right. I look forward to season 2.
  6. Sep 1, 2013
    8
    Diane Kruger's portrayal of Sonya Cross is what keeps me coming back each week. I am not all that engaged in the investigation of the 'bridge' murder, hopefully that will change. The character of Sonya can be funny and sad, seemingly at the same time. The idea of a detective with Asperger's syndrome lends itself to exploring a cop show with an entirely new light.
  7. Aug 26, 2013
    9
    Diane Kruger's portrayal of detective Sonya Cross is Emmy-worthy. I find myself laughing out loud at least once every episode ("would you like a glass of water?"). This is one of the best characters to appear on any series this year.
  8. Aug 25, 2013
    10
    Top notch acting with a dream cast! This dreamlike trance of a show is like Tony Scott's "Man On Fire" on quaaludes. Its a mesmerizing beautiful ,sexy, frustrating, violent, funny,serious psychological drama, with deep layers that get constantly displayed. There are so many personalities that should not be able to thrive together, yet somehow mesh enjoyably. A fabulous show that hasTop notch acting with a dream cast! This dreamlike trance of a show is like Tony Scott's "Man On Fire" on quaaludes. Its a mesmerizing beautiful ,sexy, frustrating, violent, funny,serious psychological drama, with deep layers that get constantly displayed. There are so many personalities that should not be able to thrive together, yet somehow mesh enjoyably. A fabulous show that has yanked me in hook,line and sinker! Hope to enjoy it for a Long time! Expand
  9. Aug 24, 2013
    10
    This show is awesome! It gets better every week and we really still do not know who the killer is. All the characters are flawed and the stars may or may not be heroes, but we root for them and hope that there are many seasons beyond this.
  10. Aug 10, 2013
    9
    This is the role Demián Bichir was born to play, and he absolutely saves this show. Not that another actor would have made it not worth-seeing, but he engenders a tangible sympathy to his character, even though like all of us he's flawed in not-insignificant ways. I love Dianne Kruger, but she's doing the asperger thing that's been done better by other actors, including Hugh Dancy.This is the role Demián Bichir was born to play, and he absolutely saves this show. Not that another actor would have made it not worth-seeing, but he engenders a tangible sympathy to his character, even though like all of us he's flawed in not-insignificant ways. I love Dianne Kruger, but she's doing the asperger thing that's been done better by other actors, including Hugh Dancy. She's a bit too over-the-top with the character in ways that make you forget that she's a really good investigator. Expand
  11. Jul 31, 2013
    10
    Honestly this show gets better every week and I haven't felt this compelled by a tv show since Breaking Bad. Acting, Writing and Directing are top notch!
  12. Jul 29, 2013
    9
    I like this tv serie because it shows some real things of the life in the border i believe that more shows like this should be done it would be a shame if its cancelled
  13. Jul 29, 2013
    3
    Whoever said this was anything close to "The Killings" is crazy. This is pure garbage for the masses. Unbelievable story, characters and scenarios make this stinker something to avoid.
  14. Jul 28, 2013
    6
    It's kind of hard for me to review a show like this one so early in its run, but I decided to go ahead and put my opinion out there. I have no doubt that I'll be updating this review later when the show has progressed farther, but for now consider this my definitive review. The Bridge is a crime-drama that focuses on topics like Mexican immigration. The show has a good overall theme, andIt's kind of hard for me to review a show like this one so early in its run, but I decided to go ahead and put my opinion out there. I have no doubt that I'll be updating this review later when the show has progressed farther, but for now consider this my definitive review. The Bridge is a crime-drama that focuses on topics like Mexican immigration. The show has a good overall theme, and the cast is fantastic (casting Matthew Lillard was a fantastic idea), but the show has yet to do anything to excite or put me on the edge of my seat with suspense. Right now its focus seems to be on getting us acquainted with the characters and their personalities. This is ok as long as it doesn't hinder the overall plot, but unfortunately the overall plot has been put on hold in order for these character introducing moments. This makes the show kind of boring at times and if they keep this up much longer I'll loose interest. The only thing keeping me watching now is the hope that something will happen and that the show will reach the potential it so clearly has. The characters themselves are interesting. Diane Kruger's character can be kind of a at times, but she does have some redeeming moments. Right now as it stands "The Bridge" is decent enough to watch, but could really use a jump in pace. I'm tired of waiting for something to happen in the case. We've learned enough about the characters for the show to move on to point at hand and reveal more about the characters little by little while the plot moves forward. Until this happens the show can be dull at times, but I have a feeling once this show picks up it will have been worth the wait. Expand
  15. Jul 26, 2013
    10
    While this show is not perfect, it is very well written. I also like the setting. I don't know where the shooting locations are but they look real to me. I like the dynamic between the two lead characters.
  16. Jul 25, 2013
    9
    It starts out very strong and absorbing. the mysteries was a little too typical,for those who had watched show like "The Killing". It got similar premise of "Who's killing who",but what differs it from other cop drama was its atmospheric tone that it had and surprisingly compelling drama. speaking about surprising,the leading lady Diane Kruger was undeniably interesting to watch as thisIt starts out very strong and absorbing. the mysteries was a little too typical,for those who had watched show like "The Killing". It got similar premise of "Who's killing who",but what differs it from other cop drama was its atmospheric tone that it had and surprisingly compelling drama. speaking about surprising,the leading lady Diane Kruger was undeniably interesting to watch as this workaholic detective with little (very little) lack of empathy. i never though that she could carried it through almost like Claire Danes in "Homeland".this series has it all,from twisting mystery,compelling drama,and interesting character. it depend viewer of whether or not they want to see something more realistic and dramatic show about cops and detective like this US version of "The Bridge". I know i do and eager to see how its slowly resolve. Expand
  17. ArM
    Jul 21, 2013
    9
    The show takes up a very serious of immigration between US and Mexico which is quite different from any other cop drama .The characters specifically Diane Kruger is brilliant with a portrayal of obsessive sometimes funny cop who is hell-bent on solving the any case she gets with worrying of consequences ,the character played by of Marco Ruiz is quite different from Diane's character butThe show takes up a very serious of immigration between US and Mexico which is quite different from any other cop drama .The characters specifically Diane Kruger is brilliant with a portrayal of obsessive sometimes funny cop who is hell-bent on solving the any case she gets with worrying of consequences ,the character played by of Marco Ruiz is quite different from Diane's character but the chemistry or sometimes no chemistry between the character keeps it fun to watch The underline script of tv series seems to be quite strong sometimes it surpasses most of the good detective novels i have read. Its good show to watch ...my score -9 Expand
  18. Jul 20, 2013
    10
    This is not another cops and robber TV show. This show goes much deeper than "Bang, bang! Shoot 'em up!" deeper. It delves into the stereotypes Mexicans and Americans have about each other. It also has, as a main character, a person with Asperger Syndrome. Such casting educates society as to what Asperger is. It is so much more than a cops and robbers TV show.
  19. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    I love this show. I hope they don't cancel it. I don't feel annoyed at the the female Dt. All LEO's are quirky and act just as strange as she does. What I don't understand is why they haven't addressed the Aspergers yet.
  20. Jul 13, 2013
    6
    I had a tough time watching this show largely because I have seen the original version. I made two attempts and could not get through it. It literally follows the original to a T and I found that really amazing. I am however not to sure of what score to give this show (even though I have given it a 5) because I seem more connected to the original. It is very hard to watch an original andI had a tough time watching this show largely because I have seen the original version. I made two attempts and could not get through it. It literally follows the original to a T and I found that really amazing. I am however not to sure of what score to give this show (even though I have given it a 5) because I seem more connected to the original. It is very hard to watch an original and have it take an enormous hold over you to now watch a remake and not be pulled in at all. I do respect what people are saying but my heart is with the original series Bron/Broen and that is where its stays. Expand
  21. Jul 12, 2013
    7
    well, i saw the pilot and i really liked it. Sometimes there're some irritating moments but immediately i forget it, but at least the story is so realist.
  22. Jul 12, 2013
    6
    I enjoyed the Scandinavian version--Bron--very much. At first, the original version does not seem as dark as The Killing, but as it goes deeper, viewers might notice that the show is as dark and moody as The Killing. And I expect The Bridge is going to see its darker side as the story goes. I love how Diane Kruger portrays the kinda autistic detective from El Paso, Texas as well as whatI enjoyed the Scandinavian version--Bron--very much. At first, the original version does not seem as dark as The Killing, but as it goes deeper, viewers might notice that the show is as dark and moody as The Killing. And I expect The Bridge is going to see its darker side as the story goes. I love how Diane Kruger portrays the kinda autistic detective from El Paso, Texas as well as what Sofia Helin did on Bron. All in all, I hope The Bridge gets better and better as it progresses because I am a bit worried about its 13-episode stretched series--not 10-episode long like its original. Expand
  23. Jul 12, 2013
    6
    It's like an unfunny female version of Monk in some places. I know the trend is unbalanced female detective these days but it doesn't work every time. The story seems interesting enough but you disconnect every time you get to see the autistic cop do her thing. She's unreliable with witnesses, cops, victims families. That's kind of an important part of the job. Might have worked as aIt's like an unfunny female version of Monk in some places. I know the trend is unbalanced female detective these days but it doesn't work every time. The story seems interesting enough but you disconnect every time you get to see the autistic cop do her thing. She's unreliable with witnesses, cops, victims families. That's kind of an important part of the job. Might have worked as a comedy but not as a drama. Kruger's performance is not helping. Too much, too often. Expand
  24. Jul 11, 2013
    0
    Why watch a show on cops, if it is yet another clown act? There was little to absolutely no realism in this show. A pair of dumb and dumber doughnout eating coffee drinking smegs, the equivalent to the fiction displayed. Why are these morons in the literal sense handling any kind of investigation? Look at the cliche of the police cheif. No genuine forensic's on scene, watch the body splitWhy watch a show on cops, if it is yet another clown act? There was little to absolutely no realism in this show. A pair of dumb and dumber doughnout eating coffee drinking smegs, the equivalent to the fiction displayed. Why are these morons in the literal sense handling any kind of investigation? Look at the cliche of the police cheif. No genuine forensic's on scene, watch the body split in half not being noticed immediately, no sniffer dogs checking vehlcies, no chopper to pursue a would be suspect who was casually glanced by and then waved on being the nearest vehicle to the crime. Her response back to the victims husband, faceplam and not from a specialist. This show is primetime The premise is of another serial killer dun nananana who stalks victims on both sides of the border. So why have we got these fools doing the groundwork? Atleast the serial killer will be so clever and it will take them an entire season of episodes to figure him out. Make it past 15 minutes I dare you why would you want closure here, and why would you want to see this?

    9 out of 10 coming from some people who brainlessly don't live in the real world. This show is ridiculous and should come in warning to it's obvious disorders. The music is awful. Slow mo throughout to the point retirement drama. Dialogue is equally nonsense
    Expand
  25. Jul 11, 2013
    9
    Great show...don't watch TV much but I think I will stick around for the next show. Interesting how they add current personal perspectives from both countries on certain subjects.
  26. Jul 10, 2013
    8
    I'm a sucker for crime dramas so I watched The Bridge with high expectations.Overall I was pleased.The main characters compliment each other well and Diane Krugers character became more interesting after I learned she had aspergers,a form of autism,from a critic review.Demian Bichir was great as well and I look forward to the next few episodes.I like the Mexican/American themes crossingI'm a sucker for crime dramas so I watched The Bridge with high expectations.Overall I was pleased.The main characters compliment each other well and Diane Krugers character became more interesting after I learned she had aspergers,a form of autism,from a critic review.Demian Bichir was great as well and I look forward to the next few episodes.I like the Mexican/American themes crossing frequently and the backdrops set the mood for suspense and tension,although not quite as moody as The Killing does.I will definitely follow the rest of this season and hope,as with most FX shows,it will get better and better. Expand
  27. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    The bridge seems off to a decent start. The main character, Diane Kruger, is an autistic detective trying to solve murders around the border (aka the bridge) of Mexico. At first you might be inclined to feel annoyed at her, but understanding that she is autistic will hopefully shed some light as to why she acts the way she does for all viewers. She is a very interesting character withThe bridge seems off to a decent start. The main character, Diane Kruger, is an autistic detective trying to solve murders around the border (aka the bridge) of Mexico. At first you might be inclined to feel annoyed at her, but understanding that she is autistic will hopefully shed some light as to why she acts the way she does for all viewers. She is a very interesting character with some great potential for the series given how she acts around people. There is a slight of humor to be found with Kruger in her interactions; sometimes it can be difficult to tell if you want to feel annoyed or sympathetic with her which is a very unique juxtaposition. The worst thing I felt about the Bridge's premiere was that the direction seemed confusing at times regarding the man who has a heart attack at the beginning. A lot of importance is put on him and his wife and it didn't really seem to tie in to the main story early on. There is a good climactic amount of tension at the end of the premiere episode, but I won't spoil it for anyone. Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Vicki Hyman
    Feb 13, 2014
    83
    What could be a relentlessly grim procedural (again, "The Killing") is instead a compelling drama that works (so far, at least) on a number of levels: as a mystery, as an idiosyncratic buddy story, and as a textured sociopolitical treatise. But don't let the latter scare you off.
  2. Reviewed by: Nancy DeWolf Smith
    Jul 19, 2013
    80
    A dark but artful and sophisticated drama.
  3. Reviewed by: Melissa Maerz
    Jul 17, 2013
    83
    For a thoughtful drama that's so rooted in national identity, there's only one real misstep: No one will mistake Kruger for a Texan.