• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Jul 10, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
The Bridge (2013) Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 143 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Based on the Danish/Swedish drama Broen, the American version takes place on the U.S. and Mexican border where a murdered body on a bridge between El Paso and Juarez bring together El Paso detective Sonya Cross (Diane Kruger) and Chihuahua State Police detective Marco Ruiz (Demián Bichir) to solve the case. Expand
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Suspense
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. FX may have struck dramatic gold again. This series is mesmerizing. It sucks you in like a good book and has you yearning for more.
  2. 88
    The Bridge translates brilliantly, fitting into its new setting so perfectly, you’d never imagine it had aired in any other incarnation.
  3. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jul 9, 2013
    83
    With these characters, with this fascinating, complicated place--and one that's at the forefront of so much of what we're talking about in real world politics--and the sense of atmosphere instilled by directors like Gerardo Naranjo, The Bridge is off to such an outstanding start that I can't wait to see what this creative team does not only with the rest of the serial killer story, but well beyond it.
  4. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jul 8, 2013
    80
    The Bridge becomes more intriguing as it gets deeper into the pilot's 90-minute run time.The characters are not as immediately winning as those on FX's "The Americans," but the plot of the pilot raises plenty of questions that should bring viewers back.
  5. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jul 9, 2013
    80
    It has a seamless and almost hypnotic quality to its narrative, and it’s easily one of the best debuts this year.
  6. Reviewed by: Linda Stasi
    Jul 9, 2013
    75
    The Bridge is, overall, a good show with some great performances--including Ted Levine as Lt. Wade, who’s a show stopper.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jul 8, 2013
    50
    Although there are elements here that merit continued attention, most notably Demian Bichir as a dedicated Mexican cop, there are too many missteps to ensure safe passage.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. Aug 25, 2013
    10
    Top notch acting with a dream cast! This dreamlike trance of a show is like Tony Scott's "Man On Fire" on quaaludes. Its a mesmerizing beautiful ,sexy, frustrating, violent, funny,serious psychological drama, with deep layers that get constantly displayed. There are so many personalities that should not be able to thrive together, yet somehow mesh enjoyably. A fabulous show that has yanked me in hook,line and sinker! Hope to enjoy it for a Long time! Expand
  2. Aug 24, 2013
    10
    This show is awesome! It gets better every week and we really still do not know who the killer is. All the characters are flawed and the stars may or may not be heroes, but we root for them and hope that there are many seasons beyond this. Expand
  3. Jul 31, 2013
    10
    Honestly this show gets better every week and I haven't felt this compelled by a tv show since Breaking Bad. Acting, Writing and Directing are top notch! Expand
  4. Jul 25, 2013
    9
    It starts out very strong and absorbing. the mysteries was a little too typical,for those who had watched show like "The Killing". It got similar premise of "Who's killing who",but what differs it from other cop drama was its atmospheric tone that it had and surprisingly compelling drama. speaking about surprising,the leading lady Diane Kruger was undeniably interesting to watch as this workaholic detective with little (very little) lack of empathy. i never though that she could carried it through almost like Claire Danes in "Homeland".this series has it all,from twisting mystery,compelling drama,and interesting character. it depend viewer of whether or not they want to see something more realistic and dramatic show about cops and detective like this US version of "The Bridge". I know i do and eager to see how its slowly resolve. Expand
  5. Sep 1, 2013
    8
    Diane Kruger's portrayal of Sonya Cross is what keeps me coming back each week. I am not all that engaged in the investigation of the 'bridge' murder, hopefully that will change. The character of Sonya can be funny and sad, seemingly at the same time. The idea of a detective with Asperger's syndrome lends itself to exploring a cop show with an entirely new light. Expand
  6. Jul 12, 2013
    7
    well, i saw the pilot and i really liked it. Sometimes there're some irritating moments but immediately i forget it, but at least the story is so realist. Expand
  7. Jul 11, 2013
    0
    Why watch a show on cops, if it is yet another clown act? There was little to absolutely no realism in this show. A pair of dumb and dumber doughnout eating coffee drinking smegs, the equivalent to the fiction displayed. Why are these morons in the literal sense handling any kind of investigation? Look at the cliche of the police cheif. No genuine forensic's on scene, watch the body split in half not being noticed immediately, no sniffer dogs checking vehlcies, no chopper to pursue a would be suspect who was casually glanced by and then waved on being the nearest vehicle to the crime. Her response back to the victims husband, faceplam and not from a specialist. This show is primetime The premise is of another serial killer dun nananana who stalks victims on both sides of the border. So why have we got these fools doing the groundwork? Atleast the serial killer will be so clever and it will take them an entire season of episodes to figure him out. Make it past 15 minutes I dare you why would you want closure here, and why would you want to see this?

    9 out of 10 coming from some people who brainlessly don't live in the real world. This show is ridiculous and should come in warning to it's obvious disorders. The music is awful. Slow mo throughout to the point retirement drama. Dialogue is equally nonsense
    Collapse

See all 26 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Second Opinions: TV Critics Re-Evaluate the Summer Shows

    Second Opinions: TV Critics Re-Evaluate the Summer Shows Image
    Published: September 17, 2014
    With the summer TV season winding down, it's time to re-evaluate the summer shows. Find out why critics now love shows like FX's You're the Worst and The Bridge, read what they thought of BoJack Horseman, The Leftovers and Halt and Catch Fire, and see if The Strain and Masters of Sex are heading downhill.