• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 9, 2011
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
54

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 25
  2. Negative: 5 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Matt Zoller Seitz
    Jan 11, 2011
    30
    The source of the show's downfall is more basic: It rushes through everything, pulverizing potentially engaging characters and story until the whole production starts to feel like a long trailer for itself.
  2. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jan 10, 2011
    30
    It's a series that looks like a whole bunch of cooks decided to build the most creatively awesome and different kitchen imaginable, forgetting for a moment that none of them can really cook.
  3. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Jan 9, 2011
    30
    For anyone who's seen the "Spider-Man" films (or even the last, worst season of NBC's "Heroes"), there's little to recommend about this new series that has its bloated, two-hour debut.
  4. Reviewed by: James Poniewozik
    Jan 7, 2011
    30
    There are also, unfortunately, a stiff performance by star David Lyons, as a cop, on the run for A Crime He Did Not Commit, who becomes the eponymous superhero, and the kind of dialogue that gives comics a bad name ("One man can still make a difference!").
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Swanson
    Jan 6, 2011
    25
    The Cape falls into a wasteland of its own making, where neither the stakes nor the jokes can distract one from the thinness of its writing.
User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 83 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 42
  2. Negative: 8 out of 42
  1. Jan 10, 2011
    10
    The Cape is by far the best show on Sunday nights. A break from either a news show or a drama aimed at females, The Cape offers a good ol' superhero show that nerds and regular viewers alike can watch. Great performances by all of the actors. Tripp could be a little better but he's just a kid. Full Review »
  2. Jan 10, 2011
    9
    There were some cheesy moments but i found myself throughly entertained and expecting much much more in the following weeks. I was more than happy to see Summer Glau return to the small screen, and for all you Smallville fans i feel that this may fill the super hero void after the shows recent ending. I like the cape for a few reasons, he is very human and it shows. He is not the perfect superhero without any faults and seems apt to learn lessons from that. there are some funny moments although i did find myself wishing for a little more funny. As far as pilots go i enjoyed it and i look forward to next week, Monday 9 o clock. Full Review »
  3. May 11, 2011
    10
    This is the best new series I have seen in years. Reminiscent of The Shadow, with a good dose of quirky humour and story. Also graced with great actors and an originality lacking in many television shows today. Full Review »