• Network: The CW
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 14, 2013
Season #: 1, 2
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 23
  2. Negative: 4 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 14, 2013
    50
    The '80s setting does allow the show to be more frank in tackling issues like sex and drugs, but other than that, the premiere deals in typical teenage girl stuff, the sort one can find in any number of ABC Family shows.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jan 11, 2013
    60
    We've seen all the parts of this story before, and frankly, we've seen them told better.
  3. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jan 14, 2013
    50
    It's a sweet, somewhat bland portrait of an Everygirl coming of age in suburban Connecticut in the 1980s, dealing with the class Heathers--here, they're Donna LaDonna and the two Jens--and crushing on the cutie transfer student with long blond hair.
  4. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jan 14, 2013
    50
    The CW series that takes "Sex and the City" fashionista and sexual anthropologist Carrie Bradshaw all the way back to 1984 Connecticut, and high school, the fit's a little off.
  5. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jan 14, 2013
    50
    AnnaSophia Robb is appealing enough in the title role, but Monday's first episode starts to sag from all the CW-ian title character narration and overall pop tune heaviness.
  6. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jan 11, 2013
    50
    Writer Amy B. Harris has crafted a clever, credible script, carefully adding a few veiled life lessons within the witty dialogue: One of the girls will learn that hooking up with a boy you think you love may not always end in happily ever after.
  7. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jan 14, 2013
    40
    The memory of how that touchstone HBO show, at its best, wrapped heartbreak and satire in high comic style makes the ordinariness of The Carrie Diaries a little more disappointing than it would be otherwise.
  8. Reviewed by: Marisa LaScala
    Jan 14, 2013
    60
    The rest of the show goes on to prize sweetness over superficiality.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 68 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    Carrie Diaries is a show that makes you think you're watching a John Hughes movie. A show that features 80s fashion, music and NYC is reallyCarrie Diaries is a show that makes you think you're watching a John Hughes movie. A show that features 80s fashion, music and NYC is really charming. It definitely doesn't look like a SATC prequel, but its fun to watch a teen show with promising nostalgia. Full Review »
  2. aev
    Jan 30, 2013
    10
    When I saw the commercials for it I thought that it would be terrible, but I decided to give it a chance anyways. While watching the firstWhen I saw the commercials for it I thought that it would be terrible, but I decided to give it a chance anyways. While watching the first episode, I fell completely in love with it. It really doesn't have that much to do with Sex and the City besides the location which is what I think makes it a great show. I would recommend everyone to give it a try as long as they have an open mind and dont try to compare it to Sex and the City. Full Review »
  3. Jan 20, 2013
    10
    I thought the shop was adorable and muchly needed. As a fan of Sex and the city I missed seeing a show with a womans voice around. I loved theI thought the shop was adorable and muchly needed. As a fan of Sex and the city I missed seeing a show with a womans voice around. I loved the opportunity to see where she came from and to see her grow and form into who she was in Sex & the City. Though heaps of critics are unsure about AnnaSophia Robb I think she is just sweet and innocent enough to play the role of Carrie. I'm excited to see what it brings and I truly didn't want episode one to end. It made me feel like a child again and I loved the John Hughes feel to it. It's exciting and dynamic and the characters have depth to them. Can't wait to see more. Full Review »