• Network: The CW
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 14, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 23
  2. Negative: 4 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jan 14, 2013
    50
    The '80s setting does allow the show to be more frank in tackling issues like sex and drugs, but other than that, the premiere deals in typical teenage girl stuff, the sort one can find in any number of ABC Family shows.
  2. Reviewed by: David Hinckley
    Jan 11, 2013
    60
    We've seen all the parts of this story before, and frankly, we've seen them told better.
  3. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    Jan 14, 2013
    70
    It's a step above the typical CW soap, and worth penciling in an appointment in your own TV diary.
  4. Reviewed by: Matthew Gilbert
    Jan 14, 2013
    50
    It's a sweet, somewhat bland portrait of an Everygirl coming of age in suburban Connecticut in the 1980s, dealing with the class Heathers--here, they're Donna LaDonna and the two Jens--and crushing on the cutie transfer student with long blond hair.
  5. Reviewed by: Tim Goodman
    Jan 14, 2013
    70
    They are real people with plausible emotions. And in the hands of Josh Schwartz (Gossip Girl, The O.C.), Amy Harris (Gossip Girl), Bushnell and two other executive producers from the CW's Hart of Dixie, the storytelling has a chance to be handled maturely.
  6. Reviewed by: Verne Gay
    Jan 11, 2013
    67
    Mostly boilerplate teen soap that lacks the (umm) zest of "Sex and the City"--a good thing, in case you're wondering.
  7. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jan 14, 2013
    38
    Diaries is lukewarm and earnest. [21 Jan 2013]
  8. Reviewed by: Alan Sepinwall
    Jan 14, 2013
    75
    The new series succeeds on its own nostalgic terms.
  9. Reviewed by: Ellen Gray
    Jan 14, 2013
    50
    The CW series that takes "Sex and the City" fashionista and sexual anthropologist Carrie Bradshaw all the way back to 1984 Connecticut, and high school, the fit's a little off.
  10. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jan 14, 2013
    50
    AnnaSophia Robb is appealing enough in the title role, but Monday's first episode starts to sag from all the CW-ian title character narration and overall pop tune heaviness.
  11. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Jan 11, 2013
    50
    Writer Amy B. Harris has crafted a clever, credible script, carefully adding a few veiled life lessons within the witty dialogue: One of the girls will learn that hooking up with a boy you think you love may not always end in happily ever after.
  12. Reviewed by: Robert Lloyd
    Jan 14, 2013
    70
    The situations are stock--John Hughes wrote this playbook pretty thoroughly--and the dialogue does not exactly crackle. But it is all well-staged and believably played and at times it becomes quite lyrical and, even, moving.
  13. Reviewed by: Hank Stuever
    Jan 11, 2013
    70
    Pleasant surprise, The Carrie Diaries's premiere episode is a nimble and entertaining trip back to Carrie Bradshaw's high school years.
  14. Reviewed by: Glenn Garvin
    Jan 14, 2013
    30
    Carrie's antics in New York are a kind of chick version of Matthew Broderick's madcap adventures in Ferris Bueller's Day Off. But Schwartz can't cut the umbilical cord--perhaps fallopian tube is a more apt metaphor--to his original source material, and that's where The Carrie Diaries goes off the rails.
  15. 30
    The problem is that The Carrie Diaries is an inept spinoff that dishonors its source.
  16. Reviewed by: Mike Hale
    Jan 14, 2013
    40
    The memory of how that touchstone HBO show, at its best, wrapped heartbreak and satire in high comic style makes the ordinariness of The Carrie Diaries a little more disappointing than it would be otherwise.
  17. Reviewed by: Gail Pennington
    Jan 14, 2013
    75
    The CW's attempt to capture the magic of "Sex and the City" in a prequel, set in 1984, could have gone very wrong. But The Carrie Diaries is surprisingly right.
  18. Reviewed by: Dorothy Rabinowitz
    Jan 11, 2013
    70
    This is a different series, one whose good start has to do with its capacity to be affecting, which it is in its picture of loss and longing--a sense this young Carrie projects persuasively.
  19. Reviewed by: Willa Paskin
    Jan 14, 2013
    70
    Unlike the teenagers on the show it replaces on the CW schedule, "Gossip Girl," the characters on The Carrie Diaries are neither disturbingly precocious nor voracious, instead working a welcome John Hughes vibe.
  20. Reviewed by: Rick Porter
    Jan 14, 2013
    70
    Through its first three episodes, The Carrie Diaries works quite well as a coming-of-age story, thanks in no small part to Robb's winning performance and a pretty solid cast of young actors around her.
  21. Reviewed by: Marisa LaScala
    Jan 14, 2013
    60
    The rest of the show goes on to prize sweetness over superficiality.
  22. Reviewed by: Leah Greenblatt
    Jan 11, 2013
    75
    [AnnaSophia Robb is] compelling, and the show has a sweetly corny charm. [18 Jan 2013, p.71]
  23. Reviewed by: Zeba Blay
    Jan 11, 2013
    25
    While it's not surprising that The Carrie Diaries is unlikely to appeal to fans of the HBO franchise, it's still disappointing that much of what made that series work has given way to cliché and oversimplification.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 64 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20
  1. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    Carrie Diaries is a show that makes you think you're watching a John Hughes movie. A show that features 80s fashion, music and NYC is really charming. It definitely doesn't look like a SATC prequel, but its fun to watch a teen show with promising nostalgia. Full Review »
  2. aev
    Jan 30, 2013
    10
    When I saw the commercials for it I thought that it would be terrible, but I decided to give it a chance anyways. While watching the first episode, I fell completely in love with it. It really doesn't have that much to do with Sex and the City besides the location which is what I think makes it a great show. I would recommend everyone to give it a try as long as they have an open mind and dont try to compare it to Sex and the City. Full Review »
  3. Jan 20, 2013
    10
    I thought the shop was adorable and muchly needed. As a fan of Sex and the city I missed seeing a show with a womans voice around. I loved the opportunity to see where she came from and to see her grow and form into who she was in Sex & the City. Though heaps of critics are unsure about AnnaSophia Robb I think she is just sweet and innocent enough to play the role of Carrie. I'm excited to see what it brings and I truly didn't want episode one to end. It made me feel like a child again and I loved the John Hughes feel to it. It's exciting and dynamic and the characters have depth to them. Can't wait to see more. Full Review »