• Network: The CW
  • Series Premiere Date: Jan 14, 2013
  • Season #: 1 , 2
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 66 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 66
  2. Negative: 8 out of 66

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 17, 2013
    10
    Carrie Diaries is a show that makes you think you're watching a John Hughes movie. A show that features 80s fashion, music and NYC is really charming. It definitely doesn't look like a SATC prequel, but its fun to watch a teen show with promising nostalgia.
  2. aev
    Jan 30, 2013
    10
    When I saw the commercials for it I thought that it would be terrible, but I decided to give it a chance anyways. While watching the first episode, I fell completely in love with it. It really doesn't have that much to do with Sex and the City besides the location which is what I think makes it a great show. I would recommend everyone to give it a try as long as they have an open mind andWhen I saw the commercials for it I thought that it would be terrible, but I decided to give it a chance anyways. While watching the first episode, I fell completely in love with it. It really doesn't have that much to do with Sex and the City besides the location which is what I think makes it a great show. I would recommend everyone to give it a try as long as they have an open mind and dont try to compare it to Sex and the City. Expand
  3. Jan 20, 2013
    10
    I thought the shop was adorable and muchly needed. As a fan of Sex and the city I missed seeing a show with a womans voice around. I loved the opportunity to see where she came from and to see her grow and form into who she was in Sex & the City. Though heaps of critics are unsure about AnnaSophia Robb I think she is just sweet and innocent enough to play the role of Carrie. I'm excitedI thought the shop was adorable and muchly needed. As a fan of Sex and the city I missed seeing a show with a womans voice around. I loved the opportunity to see where she came from and to see her grow and form into who she was in Sex & the City. Though heaps of critics are unsure about AnnaSophia Robb I think she is just sweet and innocent enough to play the role of Carrie. I'm excited to see what it brings and I truly didn't want episode one to end. It made me feel like a child again and I loved the John Hughes feel to it. It's exciting and dynamic and the characters have depth to them. Can't wait to see more. Expand
  4. Apr 3, 2013
    10
    This show is the best show ever. It really fascinates me and I am always excited for Mondays when it airs. I really think that its only for girl teens and preteens. I really enjoy this show because I am young. I hate how there's a good chick flick movie and you never want it to end sometimes. That's why I like the Carrie diaries because its like an on going chick flick.
  5. Apr 8, 2013
    10
    I was a huge fan of Sex and the City. The Carrie Diaries is no disappointment. It is fun and charming. The 80's fashion and references is a lot of fun and really adds to the show. I have heard that it has not been picked up for a second season as of now but I really hope it airs for a second season and so on...
  6. Apr 18, 2013
    10
    I love everything about the Carrie diaries the plot the characters, the music and the clothes. Great show! and completely underrated. Plus its the only teen drama I enjoy hope it gets renewed.
  7. Apr 10, 2013
    10
    At first I didn't really pay that much interest in the premiere of the show But than I decide to tune into it because I was bored And I was absolutely hooked This TV show is a real mature image of the complications teenagers go through it's really relatable The only thing I could really say is that it's amazing And I heard that It might get cancelled because of ratings but if itAt first I didn't really pay that much interest in the premiere of the show But than I decide to tune into it because I was bored And I was absolutely hooked This TV show is a real mature image of the complications teenagers go through it's really relatable The only thing I could really say is that it's amazing And I heard that It might get cancelled because of ratings but if it does I'm gone be really upset with cw Expand
  8. Apr 13, 2013
    10
    The Carrie Diaries is one of the best TV shows I have EVER watched, it's fun and amazing, it has great plot, one that keeps you interested and it decently deserves a SEASON 2. In my opinion definitely the best CW show, and I was a big fan of Gossip Girl and also liked The Vampire Diaries, but this show is way better. Every time I watch it I just want more and more, I feel emotional afterThe Carrie Diaries is one of the best TV shows I have EVER watched, it's fun and amazing, it has great plot, one that keeps you interested and it decently deserves a SEASON 2. In my opinion definitely the best CW show, and I was a big fan of Gossip Girl and also liked The Vampire Diaries, but this show is way better. Every time I watch it I just want more and more, I feel emotional after every episode, and I'm completely sure the second season will be lot more popular. I think the only mistake of this show is that, that it is a prequel to SATC and that SATC fans are the ones giving bad reviews because it has a completely different storyline with much more interesting story that everyone should watch and like not just them. It's amazing to see life of teenagers in 1980s and it seems a lot more interesting then ours, the relationship between Carry and Sebastian is so adorable, and I think he should stay the main roll in SEASON 2. Also it would be nicer to have more than just 13 episodes, and the show should start in the beginning of October, right after the Summer when they start school again, when Carry and Sebastian meet and share their feelings! I sincerely hope for Season 2 because it is a great show, that could become even better and it would be disappointing for teens all over the world to cancel it! Collapse
  9. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    I love this show! I loved sex and the city and this is a great insight into carrie before new york. Of course some of the stories dont neccessarily add up but for me if you can detach from it being sjp then you can just enjoy the show for what it is, great characters, storylines that make you laugh and cry, ive really got into it. Great characters, larissa being a fave of mine and lindseyI love this show! I loved sex and the city and this is a great insight into carrie before new york. Of course some of the stories dont neccessarily add up but for me if you can detach from it being sjp then you can just enjoy the show for what it is, great characters, storylines that make you laugh and cry, ive really got into it. Great characters, larissa being a fave of mine and lindsey gort who plays samantha jones couldnt be more accurate with her portrayal. Its like she is literally a young version of kim catrall and youve gotta love her! Spot on! I also love the clothes, accessories and fashion, though its supposed to be set in the 80s i love the fact that i have been able to find key pieces in the shops now and have even bought outfits inspired by the cast. And finally sebastian kydd PHWOAR! What more reason do you need to watch carrie diaries? I hope there is a season 3! Expand
  10. Apr 14, 2013
    10
    I don't understand why this show has received such negative reviews. This show catches the start of Carrie in a huge way, giving such a beautiful and yet complicated start to the character we all loved in Sex in the City. I do believe that you don't even need to be familiar with the show to enjoy The Carrie Diaries. On top of everything, they capture the 80's as it truly was, and not asI don't understand why this show has received such negative reviews. This show catches the start of Carrie in a huge way, giving such a beautiful and yet complicated start to the character we all loved in Sex in the City. I do believe that you don't even need to be familiar with the show to enjoy The Carrie Diaries. On top of everything, they capture the 80's as it truly was, and not as so many movies like to show what the 80's were, a plastic filled tacky world.. It was to a point, but this show is on point. Also, the complexity of being a teenager is timeless, as it shows in this show. Keeping my fingers crossed for a second season. Expand
  11. Nov 10, 2013
    10
    First of all, I never watched SATC before watch TCD, so, to me, TCD it's a wonderful sitcom, that works and make you addicted easily. It's fun to watch, colorful, delightful and a very smart teen show. Also, the soundtrack it's SO amazing. CW should release it.
  12. Jan 22, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Literally love this show so much. I didn't think it would be good at first but after watching the pilot I was hooked. I then showed all my friends the pilot and they told me they were hooked as well! It's an extremely climactic representative of teenage life and the struggles and joys of it. Carrie is an extremely relatable character and her insights are true and helpful to apply in real life. The reason I took one point off is because after finishing the first season on Netflix (which took me a week that's how exciting the show is) Carrie and her boyfriend had broken up AGAIN and I feel like they break up way too much. Sorry for the spoiler.... anyway that deserved one point off but otherwise the show is literally one of the best shows I've watched and it makes me nostalgic when I've finished the new episode on Friday night. I always want more of this show and I would definitely say watch it right now! Why are you still reading my review? GO! Expand
  13. Feb 5, 2014
    10
    This is the most amazing show ever!!!! you must watch it!!!! I will cry soooooo much if it doesnt come back. IT HAS TO!!!! Please don't discontinue the show!!!!
  14. Nov 7, 2014
    9
    I still need to finish the rest of the episodes of this show yeah I know it got cancelled anyways so I loved this show at first. I mean I still like it and all, it's an interesting concept. I have to admit though and don't be mad but one of the only reasons I started to watch this show and still watch it because Austin Butler a.k.a Sebastian is so attractive oh my gosh, and I swear ifI still need to finish the rest of the episodes of this show yeah I know it got cancelled anyways so I loved this show at first. I mean I still like it and all, it's an interesting concept. I have to admit though and don't be mad but one of the only reasons I started to watch this show and still watch it because Austin Butler a.k.a Sebastian is so attractive oh my gosh, and I swear if Carrie does not end up with Sebastian I will be SO mad! Expand
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 23
  2. Negative: 4 out of 23
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Jan 14, 2013
    38
    Diaries is lukewarm and earnest. [21 Jan 2013]
  2. 30
    The problem is that The Carrie Diaries is an inept spinoff that dishonors its source.
  3. Reviewed by: Ed Bark
    Jan 14, 2013
    50
    AnnaSophia Robb is appealing enough in the title role, but Monday's first episode starts to sag from all the CW-ian title character narration and overall pop tune heaviness.