• Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 18, 2006
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 79 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 79
  2. Negative: 14 out of 79

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Malessa
    Mar 6, 2007
    9
    This is the funniest TV show in a long time....its not full death, surgery or arresting someone....it deals with the quirkey daily lives of these people & I love it
  2. JoanB
    Apr 5, 2007
    10
    I love this show. Please don't cancel it. It was so cute and real. The actors were some of my favorites. I like it better than "How I Met Your Mother" which is great also. I am 71 years old, so I think it appeals to everyone.
  3. DarciS
    May 7, 2007
    9
    I love it! It's on the best night for TV and it's one of the funniest shows I've seen in a long time! They can't cancel it!
  4. DaphC
    Aug 1, 2007
    10
    This show is very funny and has characters you will fall in love with. I would compare it to "Friends" (obviously nothing will every be better) but this show is one of my favorites from last season. I am so glad that it will be on again. I would recommend watching last seasons episodes if you have time... they are all on the CBS website and you can watch the whole season online! You will This show is very funny and has characters you will fall in love with. I would compare it to "Friends" (obviously nothing will every be better) but this show is one of my favorites from last season. I am so glad that it will be on again. I would recommend watching last seasons episodes if you have time... they are all on the CBS website and you can watch the whole season online! You will not be disappointed in this show. Expand
  5. BeverlyA
    Oct 20, 2006
    10
    Very endearing and original comedy with short stories that make me want to continue to watch and see what happens to the characters each week....
  6. AdamY
    Oct 30, 2006
    10
    CBS has FINALLY struck gold with this fresh cast and hilariously funny writing. I NEVER thought I would EVER look forward to Mondays! Please don't cancel this show!
  7. SS
    Oct 5, 2006
    10
    The premiere was iffy, but the last (third) episode had me rolling. This show is growing into itself and quickly. Keep watching!!!!!
  8. JeffK
    Oct 6, 2006
    10
    Best new comedy in many years. Get past the concept and let it grow on you.
  9. BobL.
    Sep 18, 2006
    9
    The next Arrested Developement.
  10. JasonR
    Sep 19, 2006
    10
    While the premise might have been a bit strained (not sure anyone can really hope to track down 3rd grade classmates after 20 years), the characters are interesting, the dialog is crisp and witty, and the acting is excellent. I was well entertained and hope this new show makes the ratings needed to keep going and have a chance to develop its characters into something different than the While the premise might have been a bit strained (not sure anyone can really hope to track down 3rd grade classmates after 20 years), the characters are interesting, the dialog is crisp and witty, and the acting is excellent. I was well entertained and hope this new show makes the ratings needed to keep going and have a chance to develop its characters into something different than the FRIENDS-clone I had worried it would be. It isn't a clone and deserves the time it takes to develop a permanent spot in the lineup. Expand
  11. EricM
    Sep 23, 2006
    10
    I have only one word to say about this show: HILARIOUS! From start to finish I laughed as hard and as loud as I have for any new comedy since Two and a Half Men started several years ago. Paired with that show as anchors for How I Met Your Mother and The New Adventures of Old Christine, the lineup makes CBS the place to be during Monday Prime Time.
  12. georgeb
    Jan 16, 2007
    10
    Extremely funny, unique characters and EXCELLENT actors. i agree, it's almost like watching a live comedy play. I've seen which critics don't like the show and it's the same bunch that thinks every comedy should be edgy and somewhat vulgar. And this from a 34 year old guy.
  13. barryz
    Feb 21, 2007
    10
    consistently laugh out loud funny - hope ikt stays on the air
  14. VeronicaR
    May 3, 2007
    10
    This show did not catch my interest in the pilot season premiere but it has now come a long way since then. I just recently became hooked after watching the last six episodes on CBS.com and i truly hope they will not cancel this hilarious show now that i have just barely discovered it.
  15. LizH.
    Jan 30, 2008
    9
    PLEASE BRING IT BACK! I am stunned it was totally canceled. I laughed out loud ever single episode!!! I have been waiting for it and didn't believe when someone told me it wasn't coming back. I just looked it up! TERRIBLE! It is almost like a show has to have dirty comedy for people to watch it. This show was good clean fun! :( It replaced my Will & Grace (even though that was a PLEASE BRING IT BACK! I am stunned it was totally canceled. I laughed out loud ever single episode!!! I have been waiting for it and didn't believe when someone told me it wasn't coming back. I just looked it up! TERRIBLE! It is almost like a show has to have dirty comedy for people to watch it. This show was good clean fun! :( It replaced my Will & Grace (even though that was a little dirty. Expand
  16. HP
    Nov 24, 2006
    10
    "The Class" is an excellent way to unwind at the end of a Monday. CBS has briliantly brought a show to us, that has elements we all should be able to enjoy. The characters, although, not fully developed--but being only in the first season, how could they be?--are a witty formation of hilarity. Everything to Richies depressment to Kat's witty personality, not to mention the "The Class" is an excellent way to unwind at the end of a Monday. CBS has briliantly brought a show to us, that has elements we all should be able to enjoy. The characters, although, not fully developed--but being only in the first season, how could they be?--are a witty formation of hilarity. Everything to Richies depressment to Kat's witty personality, not to mention the originality in making it a comedy of "old friends" coming together to see just how much life does change from when you are a child. To the familiarity of having a show like "Friends", makes this comical sitcom a winner from the get-go. I give "The Class" two thumbs up! Expand
  17. PeggyO
    Oct 18, 2006
    10
    I LOVE THIS SHOW. I actually care about the characters. It took 4 episodes, but now I'm hooked. Emmy caliber stuff here.
  18. BROOKEh
    Oct 3, 2006
    10
    I love love love this show, havent been able to find anything i really like since friends, but now i do
  19. DavidM
    Sep 18, 2006
    10
    Funny funny funny. Twisted and touching. I dug it. Jon Bernthal is like every dude i grew up with and Sam Harris is the funniest thing on the show. Can't wait to see it next week.
  20. NatalieR
    Sep 19, 2006
    10
    I loved this show. So many of the characters reminded me of friends of mine. I especially loved Richie and Lena. They are too adorable. It is all funny and crazy, but at the same time it is relatable.
  21. Rachel
    Sep 19, 2006
    10
    Heather Goldenhersh (Lena) is a family friend of mine. I loved the show, and thought she was adorable!
  22. MattD
    Sep 19, 2006
    10
    Fantastic show. One of the best shows I've seen in a long time.
  23. PatrickL
    Sep 22, 2006
    10
    very funny. it strings the story lines together like lost, but in sitcom fashion. very great.
  24. WhitneyJ
    Jan 6, 2007
    10
    This show gets better and better. Perry is the funniest character on TV. He should have his own show. Love Kat and Lina. I want to see Perry with more characters besides Holly. Keep it up.
  25. SherriP
    Feb 27, 2007
    10
    I think this show is great and really funny. I almost always get several good laughs out of each episode. I'm glad they got rid of the TV newscaster's role, though.
  26. SashaC
    Feb 27, 2007
    10
    Excellent show! It's a refreshing change from all of the CSI shows.
  27. NikkiG
    Mar 5, 2007
    10
    I LOVE this show! It gets progressively better every week... Now that I've seen the season finale, I can only hope it will be back ASAP! The characters have deepened, and filled out (well, most of them...), and I really care about what happens to them. Ethan and Kat...wow! what a concept! Love them both! I also love Duncan and Nicole...they just have to get together! And Ritchie and I LOVE this show! It gets progressively better every week... Now that I've seen the season finale, I can only hope it will be back ASAP! The characters have deepened, and filled out (well, most of them...), and I really care about what happens to them. Ethan and Kat...wow! what a concept! Love them both! I also love Duncan and Nicole...they just have to get together! And Ritchie and Lina are fabulous! I also like the scenes with Kyle and Ethan... Please, PLEASE, bring this show back!! Expand
  28. DillionF
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    Hilarious, brilliant writing, great cast... it's a sleeper hit...too bad it's not in a different time slot to capture ratings.
  29. HeidiW.
    Jul 11, 2007
    9
    My favorite 2006 comedy. Can't wait for it to return.
  30. BrendaC.
    Sep 12, 2007
    9
    Great show! Please don't cancel it, now that we've lost Friends this show came right at the perfect time...Please, please don't cancel it, we can't wait for it to return.
  31. PhilM
    Nov 13, 2006
    10
    I'm not into sitcoms much, but I gave this a shot, and really enjoy it. I think the writing is very clever, and the cliffhangers are brilliant. I don't know who any of the cast is except Sam Harris, and he is hysterical. If anything, he makes the show. And David Keith was a blast from the past. If I had to say something negative, that would be about two too many characters. But I'm not into sitcoms much, but I gave this a shot, and really enjoy it. I think the writing is very clever, and the cliffhangers are brilliant. I don't know who any of the cast is except Sam Harris, and he is hysterical. If anything, he makes the show. And David Keith was a blast from the past. If I had to say something negative, that would be about two too many characters. But at this point, I cannot imagine cutting anyone. In fact, Sam and Sara should be expanded. I hope they give it a very long shot. It's a really bad time slot and night. Expand
  32. DanP
    Nov 27, 2006
    10
    This is the best show I've seen in years. The actors have great chemistry and the writers are just amazing. Every week usually leaves you with a cliffhanger, wishing for more. Also, I have been moved to tears on more than one occasion. You start to love the characters after a couple of episodes. Richie Veltch and Lina, especially. Just spectacular drama on this show. Especially This is the best show I've seen in years. The actors have great chemistry and the writers are just amazing. Every week usually leaves you with a cliffhanger, wishing for more. Also, I have been moved to tears on more than one occasion. You start to love the characters after a couple of episodes. Richie Veltch and Lina, especially. Just spectacular drama on this show. Especially considering it's also a comedy. I can't get enough. Expand
  33. knowledge
    Dec 10, 2006
    9
    I liked this show quite a lot. Quite a lot of people have commented that it is somewhat slow. I rather like that it is not fast paced like every other American show. It reminds me of some of the very funny British comedies. It also seems more like a play than a TV show. I love the acting of all the main actos except for the actors who play Nicole and Ethan. Making it more multi-cultural I liked this show quite a lot. Quite a lot of people have commented that it is somewhat slow. I rather like that it is not fast paced like every other American show. It reminds me of some of the very funny British comedies. It also seems more like a play than a TV show. I love the acting of all the main actos except for the actors who play Nicole and Ethan. Making it more multi-cultural would have helped. Given that the main characters have already been decided prehaps the creators could introduce characters of other ethnicities as the friends or romantic interests of these main characters. Collapse
  34. CathieC
    Oct 25, 2006
    9
    I was worried at first, I thought it had too many characters to keep up with, but, after the first couple of shows, Im completely hooked!
  35. ritas
    Sep 18, 2006
    10
    this show is so, so awesome
  36. DeborahC
    Sep 23, 2006
    10
    This show seemed to have potential. It reminded me a bit of the feeling I had watching early Seinfeld episodes. It starts by developing characters but seems to have places to go. I liked the characters and they seem to be in the process of developing.
  37. CaitlinS
    Feb 26, 2007
    10
    This show is amazing! It should be back for a second season.
  38. AlisonS
    Feb 26, 2007
    10
    Great show!!!!!!!!
  39. AnthonyP
    Feb 27, 2007
    10
    This shows is consistently funny. Great writing and performed nicely by a young cast. I sure hope CBS brings it back for a complete season.
  40. EricaH
    Apr 22, 2007
    9
    The first episode was OK, the writing and the acting was iffy, but i'm so glad i stuck around! It got so much better than i expected. I like how every show is a cliffhanger and i always want more. Please don't cancel!!! it's the best show i've seen in a long time.
  41. laurah.
    May 17, 2007
    10
    I love this show. Is it coming back???? We have a whole group of us that watch and want to know.
  42. AlissaA
    Nov 22, 2006
    9
    Hilarious, fast and fun! It makes me want to laugh out loud.
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 27
  2. Negative: 5 out of 27
  1. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    70
    In the mostly undistinguished roll call of new comedies, it goes to the head of the class.
  2. Hang out for a while... and you may quickly realize why you didn't stay in touch with most of your fellow third-graders. People like these suck the life out of you.
  3. In addition to some screwball comedy, it also has a lot of heart.