• Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 26, 2013
  • Season #: 1
User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 96 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 96
  2. Negative: 16 out of 96

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 27, 2013
    4
    Two words to describe this whole episode...PRODUCT PLACEMENT. This show was about McDonalds trying to rebrand itself in light of all the negative publicity and Kelly Clarkston trying to get her name out there some more. Robin Williams was typical Robin Williams and Sarah Michelle Gellar was not good at all. The writing was horrible and the acting bad. The show was 20 minutes and I couldn't wait for it to get over. The whole storyline has been done a thousand times by a thousand different shows. Expand
  2. Sep 28, 2013
    0
    I saw that one other viewer said that the show has too much product placement, I completely agree with that, with all the Mcdonalds references and Kelly Clarkson just in the pilot to boost her career and get more viewers. I never even made a little chuckle during the show. Even though the show was good in the ratings for the first episode, I guarantee you that the ratings will drop for episode 2, and will definitely loose most of its viewers without the huge lead in from The Big Bang Theory. This show is just plain awful Expand
  3. Sep 30, 2013
    4
    I have really high hopes for this show. The first episode was really funny and witty.
    My only problem was Sarah Michelle Gellar, I didn't find her funny by any means. I this show goes down it will probably be because of her.
  4. Jun 4, 2014
    4
    From episode 4 is going downhill. After the good start of the series builds on a result from 4. The episode actions degenerated into boring 08/15 mass-produced goods.
    Gellar and Williams maintain the quality of the series, although long-distance high but one episode after 10 had only half the audience says a lot.
    It lacks the continuity in the quality of the episode acts.
  5. Oct 25, 2013
    4
    Barely watchable with delight. Dislike the characters and little stories around them. Show HAS it's funny scenes, though making you smirk lightly more then laugh heartily
  6. Oct 4, 2013
    2
    The pilot episode featuring McD as the client left me cold. Williams is Williams. He's annoying. Though some find him funny. I don't. David E. Kelley can't decide whether "The Crazy Ones" is a comedy or sappy drama. Like Robin Williams, there's a feeling of mania and depression. The bottom line is there are few laughs to be found. Geller is a wet blanket. Supposedly the agency creative director, she comes off nebbish, frail and always too conservative. Of course, her dad, Simon (Williams) saves the day. He's a genius. That's what we're lead to believe. Unlike "Mad Men," "Crazy" takes itself to earnestly. There's no sarcasm. No funny look into the inner workings, the "back stage" view "30 Rock" or "The Office" did so well. The writing was much better with those shows. With "Crazy," the jokes fall flat. This is less a comedy, and a show about relationships between the characters. Wolk is fine, but Linklater is genuinely funny...at least subtle. Geller seems uncomfortable. As a person has worked in big Chicago ad agencies, this show has little resemblance to an actual agency. Though one of the co-creators came from one. This is a fantasy world. A platform for Williams' tired roller coaster ride of humor, if it is indeed humorous. I just saw the second episode. While a bit better than the pilot, Geller still seemed like a deer in the headlights. Oh, and Wolk and Linklater seem to be the only creative team working...with huge, big name clients. Amazing stamina. Workhorses. Like episode 1, 2 closed with a sappy feel good ending. Uh huh, just like real advertising. I just want the show to be funny. It just isn't. Expand
  7. Oct 9, 2013
    2
    I LOVE Robin Williams, that is, “Wacky/Loony Tunes/Improvisational Comic Extraordinaire” Robin Williams. The SHOW “The Crazy Ones” does NOT provide the appropriate stage for Robin to SHINE—the way that our King of Clowns can shine. Watched the first show: 2 minute of Vintage Robin; 18 minutes of something else. There was simply too much “drama” (as opposed to “comedy”). Because of Robin, I expected something similar to “I Love Lucy” “The Carol Burnett Show” “3rd Rock from the Sun”, “Seinfeld” or, to name a current show, “The Big Bang theory.” In sum: I expected Filet Mignon—I got served baloney. Oh, the SECOND show? I watched 3 minutes, then switched channels. I just didn’t have the guts to face another big disappointment. Expand
  8. Oct 26, 2013
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The comedy on this show is really forced. Not funny Robin. You can do better.
    The comedy on this show is really forced. Not funny Robin. You can do better.
    The comedy on this show is really forced. Not funny Robin. You can do better.
    The comedy on this show is really forced. Not funny Robin. You can do better.
    The comedy on this show is really forced. Not funny Robin. You can do better.
    Expand
  9. Nov 9, 2013
    0
    This show is terrible. The actors are good, however the writing and plot line is horrible. I could not even get through the first episode. I feel the whole work concept is very boring and poorly written and even after watching the first episode I was not completely sure what their job was. Not funny
  10. Nov 16, 2013
    0
    I have been enjoying the show overall, until the most recent episode. I know I should be used to, and prepared for, Robin Williams having words fly out of his mouth, but this time he went too far. He called his team "autistics" in a negative context. I find this unacceptable. He has now taken a word which describes a very disabling condition and used it as a degrading descriptor. We finally have quit using the word "retards" and now we have this. I am surprised CBS aired the show. Collapse
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 25, 2013
    75
    Williams's humming energy is charming (and more softly winsome than it used to be.) The challenge is to surround him with actors with enough skill to play off or with him. Gellar, as his daughter, doesn't quite pull it off. Hamish Linklater, as an art director, does. [4 Nov 2013]
  2. Reviewed by: Henry Goldblatt
    Oct 11, 2013
    75
    Ultimately your enjoyment still depends on whether or not Robin Williams' patter--which needs to be dialed back about 20 percent--makes you crazy.
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Sep 26, 2013
    20
    The whole thing is so poorly conceived and executed.... It’s a misfire for an undeniable TV talent.