• Network: CBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 26, 2013
  • Season #: 1
User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 100 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 100
  2. Negative: 17 out of 100

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 27, 2013
    10
    The pilot was really fast paced, the 20 minutes felt like 5 but I already love all the characters. Definitely Ally Mc Beal 2.0. A bunch of Crazy people with a lot of heart. Can't hardly wait to know them a little bit more and to explore their universe. All the actors have great chemistry together especially Robin Williams and Sarah Michelle Gellar. James Wolk was a nice revelation and on top of that Kelly Clarkson was hilarious. Yep, this is great TV. The show has so much potential, I hope the writers will meet my expectations. The next episodes should focus a little bit more on the father daughter relationship. This is where, IMO, The Crazy Ones could stand out of the crowd and became a nice "dramedy". Expand
  2. Sep 27, 2013
    4
    Two words to describe this whole episode...PRODUCT PLACEMENT. This show was about McDonalds trying to rebrand itself in light of all the negative publicity and Kelly Clarkston trying to get her name out there some more. Robin Williams was typical Robin Williams and Sarah Michelle Gellar was not good at all. The writing was horrible and the acting bad. The show was 20 minutes and I couldn't wait for it to get over. The whole storyline has been done a thousand times by a thousand different shows. Expand
  3. Sep 28, 2013
    0
    I saw that one other viewer said that the show has too much product placement, I completely agree with that, with all the Mcdonalds references and Kelly Clarkson just in the pilot to boost her career and get more viewers. I never even made a little chuckle during the show. Even though the show was good in the ratings for the first episode, I guarantee you that the ratings will drop for episode 2, and will definitely loose most of its viewers without the huge lead in from The Big Bang Theory. This show is just plain awful Expand
  4. Sep 27, 2013
    7
    The pilot produced mixed feelings. Some moments were laugh out loud funny, but some scenes just fell flat. I think the reason it fell flat was because the pilot felt rushed at points and there was very little character introduction. Additionally, I think the problem is that there may be too much improv thus hampering the story-line. However, one positive aspect of the show is that the casting is perfect! Robin Williams and Sarah Michelle Gellar are great together and their chemistry makes their father-daughter relationship seem believable. Expand
  5. Sep 29, 2013
    10
    I loved first episode and 20 minutes passed really fast with myself laughing all the time and felling in love with characters especially Sarah. David E. Kelly made crazy show worth of my time and i can't wait to see what will happen next. I saw some users talk about "Product Placement" but this show can't really not talk about major companies as this show is about those major comapnies and advartasing and i just believe that people try to see negative in things that should be viewed as positive. Keep up the good work cast and keep making us laugh. Expand
  6. Sep 30, 2013
    4
    I have really high hopes for this show. The first episode was really funny and witty.
    My only problem was Sarah Michelle Gellar, I didn't find her funny by any means. I this show goes down it will probably be because of her.
  7. Oct 3, 2013
    8
    The only thing wrong with The Crazy Ones is Sarah Michelle Gellar who has zero comic timing and zero chemistry with Williams or anyone else. I'll try to stick with it, but she pains me.
  8. Oct 7, 2013
    10
    I'm usually leery of 30 minute shows with live audiences and/or canned laughter but there's nothing to worry about with The Crazy Ones. Robin Williams and Sarah Michelle Gellar along with the rest of the cast are absolutely wonderful! I find that Robin isn't over the top but still presents is fabulous sense of humor while the rest of the case have their own unique personalities that work well together and total heart. I'm looking forward to each episode and applaud the writers and actors for doing a wonderful job!!!! Expand
  9. Feb 6, 2014
    8
    The Crazy Ones is tons of fun. 20 minute episodes feel quick but every moment is entertaining. I can see some opportunities for improvement, but Robin Williams is as good as it gets for fast-paced wit and lead characters. With any luck, The Crazy Ones will be able to create something truly special over time. As is, the show is solid, even if it's a bit too immediate or a tad shallow at times.
  10. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    I absolutely love this show it's witty, funny and all around entertaining. I would recommend it to anyone that enjoys clever comedy. Robin Williams is of course fantastic.
  11. Aug 7, 2014
    1
    Dire. There is a air of desperation surrounding Robin Williams these days and I don't like it. This show and the character dynamics feel forced and unnatural.
  12. Oct 7, 2013
    8
    I like how fast paced the show is, Most comedies I sit through are such a grind but this one it feels like time flies by when I watch it. It is a funny show and Robin Williams does carry it well but his supporting cast is pretty solid too and could easily grow more as the season continues. The pilot episode also does well with the mix of comedy and drama, Mostly comedy but the drama works well with it. Overall, It's definitely worth watching and I honestly do not see how critics can hate it so much. Collapse
  13. Oct 9, 2013
    7
    Possibility of becoming a very good show if they can reduce the drag of obvious product placement, and keep the amount of improv reasonable.

    The actors work together well, giving believability to the story lines.

    I would say the writing is good, but I don't know just how much writing there is for this show. It appears to be [mostly] made up as they go along. So far that has worked
    pretty well, but they have to avoid it being an improv show.

    Improv is funnier and more enjoyable when it appears unexpected.
    Expand
  14. Jun 4, 2014
    4
    From episode 4 is going downhill. After the good start of the series builds on a result from 4. The episode actions degenerated into boring 08/15 mass-produced goods.
    Gellar and Williams maintain the quality of the series, although long-distance high but one episode after 10 had only half the audience says a lot.
    It lacks the continuity in the quality of the episode acts.
  15. Apr 28, 2014
    7
    This show is Great, it has just about everything you need to make a good comedy and that is Robin Williams. He makes this show so great with his classic funny ascents and his rapid talking make for some of the shows best jokes. The shows other main characters are funny at times but have jokes that either grow old or just don't make me laugh. In short this show i great the episodes are only 20 min but that makes them easier to watch if you don't have a lot of time to view longer shows. I recommend this show for anyone who loves a good comedy and Robin Williams Expand
  16. Oct 25, 2013
    4
    Barely watchable with delight. Dislike the characters and little stories around them. Show HAS it's funny scenes, though making you smirk lightly more then laugh heartily
  17. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    Read all the reviews here... disagree with most of them.

    First, the show is 20 minutes long and like all shows with that time length they either feel way too fast, or JUST right. This show feels too fast, even for me. Why? Because Robin williams is a chatterbox and scenes with him fly RIGHT past you, in a good way!

    Robin is brilliant. if you like him, you'll love the show. if you
    don't, you won't. He carries it.

    SMG lame, she always has been in my opinion. She plays the wicked right, but everything else comes off forced. here.... her lameness is PART of the character. It's perfect, she's damaged goods because her father is a crazy man. That simple. The plot? It's Robin williams selling people on "Different is good".

    Different IS good, and while this show has similarities to other Ad agency shows, or procedural detective shows, it's humor is above par.

    Branding- Mcdonalds, clarkson, etc etc.. Uh, Fools, you get product placement EVERYWHERE you look. having it on a show like this is almost anti-product placement. No one is going to buy Mcdonalds that didn't buy it before. No one is going to listen to clarkson if they didn't listen to her before. It's not product placement here, rather it's "look, we got power, money, and fame, and we will make our episodes about real things and real people, and real issues, while being funny as hell about it."The fact that they got mcdonalds/clarkson for the first episode shows you the POWER they have behind the show. Give it some time and this could be our Cameo show w/ Robin williams, and that ain't bad. In fact, it's perfect for what I want.
    I really like the interplay between the two male ad geniuses.

    Give this show some time and I'm sure we will quickly see it grow into it's own, and be even better.
    Expand
  18. Oct 4, 2013
    2
    The pilot episode featuring McD as the client left me cold. Williams is Williams. He's annoying. Though some find him funny. I don't. David E. Kelley can't decide whether "The Crazy Ones" is a comedy or sappy drama. Like Robin Williams, there's a feeling of mania and depression. The bottom line is there are few laughs to be found. Geller is a wet blanket. Supposedly the agency creative director, she comes off nebbish, frail and always too conservative. Of course, her dad, Simon (Williams) saves the day. He's a genius. That's what we're lead to believe. Unlike "Mad Men," "Crazy" takes itself to earnestly. There's no sarcasm. No funny look into the inner workings, the "back stage" view "30 Rock" or "The Office" did so well. The writing was much better with those shows. With "Crazy," the jokes fall flat. This is less a comedy, and a show about relationships between the characters. Wolk is fine, but Linklater is genuinely funny...at least subtle. Geller seems uncomfortable. As a person has worked in big Chicago ad agencies, this show has little resemblance to an actual agency. Though one of the co-creators came from one. This is a fantasy world. A platform for Williams' tired roller coaster ride of humor, if it is indeed humorous. I just saw the second episode. While a bit better than the pilot, Geller still seemed like a deer in the headlights. Oh, and Wolk and Linklater seem to be the only creative team working...with huge, big name clients. Amazing stamina. Workhorses. Like episode 1, 2 closed with a sappy feel good ending. Uh huh, just like real advertising. I just want the show to be funny. It just isn't. Expand
  19. Oct 9, 2013
    2
    I LOVE Robin Williams, that is, “Wacky/Loony Tunes/Improvisational Comic Extraordinaire” Robin Williams. The SHOW “The Crazy Ones” does NOT provide the appropriate stage for Robin to SHINE—the way that our King of Clowns can shine. Watched the first show: 2 minute of Vintage Robin; 18 minutes of something else. There was simply too much “drama” (as opposed to “comedy”). Because of Robin, I expected something similar to “I Love Lucy” “The Carol Burnett Show” “3rd Rock from the Sun”, “Seinfeld” or, to name a current show, “The Big Bang theory.” In sum: I expected Filet Mignon—I got served baloney. Oh, the SECOND show? I watched 3 minutes, then switched channels. I just didn’t have the guts to face another big disappointment. Expand
  20. Oct 23, 2013
    8
    8... just for Rob Willians....
    This show is veeery normal....
    Great job for Product Placement and...
    thats all.......................................
  21. Oct 26, 2013
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The comedy on this show is really forced. Not funny Robin. You can do better.
    The comedy on this show is really forced. Not funny Robin. You can do better.
    The comedy on this show is really forced. Not funny Robin. You can do better.
    The comedy on this show is really forced. Not funny Robin. You can do better.
    The comedy on this show is really forced. Not funny Robin. You can do better.
    Expand
  22. Nov 7, 2013
    5
    Robin Williams is great as usual, but I don't feel that Geller was cast appropriately. I think she's a great drama actress but don't feel it works in this role. Overall though, the writing is just not as creative as I think it could be. Storylines just seem too cliche.
  23. Nov 9, 2013
    0
    This show is terrible. The actors are good, however the writing and plot line is horrible. I could not even get through the first episode. I feel the whole work concept is very boring and poorly written and even after watching the first episode I was not completely sure what their job was. Not funny
  24. Nov 16, 2013
    0
    I have been enjoying the show overall, until the most recent episode. I know I should be used to, and prepared for, Robin Williams having words fly out of his mouth, but this time he went too far. He called his team "autistics" in a negative context. I find this unacceptable. He has now taken a word which describes a very disabling condition and used it as a degrading descriptor. We finally have quit using the word "retards" and now we have this. I am surprised CBS aired the show. Expand
  25. Jan 23, 2014
    8
    I'm glad to see Sarah back and in a completely new genre for her. Its rare that actors who begin in "horror" genre's are able to transfer to comedy or drama but Geller is a gifted performer and from her long-running Buffy series fans are familiar with her distinct brand of humor. Williams can certainly dominate but Geller is a welcome relief from a show that might be all Robin. In Mork and Mindy most of us cant remember Mindy very well, but the same wont be true with Geller is my guess. Hope this one makes it. Expand
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 25, 2013
    75
    Williams's humming energy is charming (and more softly winsome than it used to be.) The challenge is to surround him with actors with enough skill to play off or with him. Gellar, as his daughter, doesn't quite pull it off. Hamish Linklater, as an art director, does. [4 Nov 2013]
  2. Reviewed by: Henry Goldblatt
    Oct 11, 2013
    75
    Ultimately your enjoyment still depends on whether or not Robin Williams' patter--which needs to be dialed back about 20 percent--makes you crazy.
  3. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Sep 26, 2013
    20
    The whole thing is so poorly conceived and executed.... It’s a misfire for an undeniable TV talent.