• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 26, 2013
  • Season #: 1
The Crazy Ones Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 91 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In his first TV sitcom starring role since Mork & Mindy ended in 1982, Robin Williams plays Simon Roberts, the unpredictable head of a Chicago advertising agency, where he works with his more focused daughter Sydney (Sarah Michelle Gellar). James Wolk (Mad Men) and Hamish Linklater also star for creator David E. Kelley (Ally McBeal, Boston Legal). Expand
  • Genre(s): Comedy
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 24, 2013
    100
    [The Crazy Ones and The Michael J. Fox Show] have great, always likable stars heading up solid ensemble casts in well-written and mostly plausible shows. Who could ask for anything more?
  2. Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 25, 2013
    75
    Williams's humming energy is charming (and more softly winsome than it used to be.) The challenge is to surround him with actors with enough skill to play off or with him. Gellar, as his daughter, doesn't quite pull it off. Hamish Linklater, as an art director, does. [4 Nov 2013]
  3. Reviewed by: Sydney Bucksbaum
    Sep 26, 2013
    70
    Williams signature brand of comedy and big personality dominate the show, but with an ensemble of Sarah Michelle Gellar, James Wolk and Hamish Linklater, it's less one-note than expected.
  4. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Sep 11, 2013
    60
    The talented cast and upbeat pilot work in the series’ favor, but if the half-hour is to be more than a platform for Williams’ improv, the story will have to go deeper. And make us care.
  5. Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Sep 25, 2013
    60
    Kelley is no stranger to writing comedy, even if it’s traditionally been in service of hourlong shows, and between his gifts as a wordsmith and Williams’ frenetic energy (best displayed in a closing-credits outtake sequence), The Crazy Ones has potential beyond what the pilot demonstrates.
  6. Reviewed by: Erik Adams
    Sep 25, 2013
    50
    The episode has the propulsive pace of a CBS hour-long, but that can leave the fun parts of a single-camera sitcom (like the jokes) behind in its dust. Above all, The Crazy Ones is safe.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Sep 26, 2013
    20
    The whole thing is so poorly conceived and executed.... It’s a misfire for an undeniable TV talent.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 22
  2. Negative: 6 out of 22
  1. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    Read all the reviews here... disagree with most of them.

    First, the show is 20 minutes long and like all shows with that time length they
    either feel way too fast, or JUST right. This show feels too fast, even for me. Why? Because Robin williams is a chatterbox and scenes with him fly RIGHT past you, in a good way!

    Robin is brilliant. if you like him, you'll love the show. if you don't, you won't. He carries it.

    SMG lame, she always has been in my opinion. She plays the wicked right, but everything else comes off forced. here.... her lameness is PART of the character. It's perfect, she's damaged goods because her father is a crazy man. That simple. The plot? It's Robin williams selling people on "Different is good".

    Different IS good, and while this show has similarities to other Ad agency shows, or procedural detective shows, it's humor is above par.

    Branding- Mcdonalds, clarkson, etc etc.. Uh, Fools, you get product placement EVERYWHERE you look. having it on a show like this is almost anti-product placement. No one is going to buy Mcdonalds that didn't buy it before. No one is going to listen to clarkson if they didn't listen to her before. It's not product placement here, rather it's "look, we got power, money, and fame, and we will make our episodes about real things and real people, and real issues, while being funny as hell about it."The fact that they got mcdonalds/clarkson for the first episode shows you the POWER they have behind the show. Give it some time and this could be our Cameo show w/ Robin williams, and that ain't bad. In fact, it's perfect for what I want.
    I really like the interplay between the two male ad geniuses.

    Give this show some time and I'm sure we will quickly see it grow into it's own, and be even better.
    Expand
  2. Sep 29, 2013
    10
    I loved first episode and 20 minutes passed really fast with myself laughing all the time and felling in love with characters especially Sarah. David E. Kelly made crazy show worth of my time and i can't wait to see what will happen next. I saw some users talk about "Product Placement" but this show can't really not talk about major companies as this show is about those major comapnies and advartasing and i just believe that people try to see negative in things that should be viewed as positive. Keep up the good work cast and keep making us laugh. Expand
  3. Sep 27, 2013
    10
    The pilot was really fast paced, the 20 minutes felt like 5 but I already love all the characters. Definitely Ally Mc Beal 2.0. A bunch of Crazy people with a lot of heart. Can't hardly wait to know them a little bit more and to explore their universe. All the actors have great chemistry together especially Robin Williams and Sarah Michelle Gellar. James Wolk was a nice revelation and on top of that Kelly Clarkson was hilarious. Yep, this is great TV. The show has so much potential, I hope the writers will meet my expectations. The next episodes should focus a little bit more on the father daughter relationship. This is where, IMO, The Crazy Ones could stand out of the crowd and became a nice "dramedy". Expand
  4. Oct 9, 2013
    7
    Possibility of becoming a very good show if they can reduce the drag of obvious product placement, and keep the amount of improv reasonable.

    The actors work together well, giving believability to the story lines.

    I would say the writing is good, but I don't know just how much writing there is for this show. It appears to be [mostly] made up as they go along. So far that has worked pretty well, but they have to avoid it being an improv show.

    Improv is funnier and more enjoyable when it appears unexpected.
    Expand
  5. Sep 27, 2013
    4
    Two words to describe this whole episode...PRODUCT PLACEMENT. This show was about McDonalds trying to rebrand itself in light of all the negative publicity and Kelly Clarkston trying to get her name out there some more. Robin Williams was typical Robin Williams and Sarah Michelle Gellar was not good at all. The writing was horrible and the acting bad. The show was 20 minutes and I couldn't wait for it to get over. The whole storyline has been done a thousand times by a thousand different shows. Expand
  6. Oct 25, 2013
    4
    Barely watchable with delight. Dislike the characters and little stories around them. Show HAS it's funny scenes, though making you smirk lightly more then laugh heartily Expand
  7. Nov 9, 2013
    0
    This show is terrible. The actors are good, however the writing and plot line is horrible. I could not even get through the first episode. I feel the whole work concept is very boring and poorly written and even after watching the first episode I was not completely sure what their job was. Not funny Expand

See all 22 User Reviews