The Crazy Ones : Season 1

  • Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 26, 2013
The Crazy Ones Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 105 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In his first TV sitcom starring role since Mork & Mindy ended in 1982, Robin Williams plays Simon Roberts, the unpredictable head of a Chicago advertising agency, where he works with his more focused daughter Sydney (Sarah Michelle Gellar). James Wolk (Mad Men) and Hamish Linklater also starIn his first TV sitcom starring role since Mork & Mindy ended in 1982, Robin Williams plays Simon Roberts, the unpredictable head of a Chicago advertising agency, where he works with his more focused daughter Sydney (Sarah Michelle Gellar). James Wolk (Mad Men) and Hamish Linklater also star for creator David E. Kelley (Ally McBeal, Boston Legal). Expand
  • Genre(s): Comedy

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: David Wiegand
    Sep 24, 2013
    100
    [The Crazy Ones and The Michael J. Fox Show] have great, always likable stars heading up solid ensemble casts in well-written and mostly plausible shows. Who could ask for anything more?
  2. People Weekly
    Reviewed by: Tom Gliatto
    Oct 25, 2013
    75
    Williams's humming energy is charming (and more softly winsome than it used to be.) The challenge is to surround him with actors with enough skill to play off or with him. Gellar, as his daughter, doesn't quite pull it off. Hamish Linklater, as an art director, does. [4 Nov 2013]
  3. 70
    Williams signature brand of comedy and big personality dominate the show, but with an ensemble of Sarah Michelle Gellar, James Wolk and Hamish Linklater, it's less one-note than expected.
  4. Reviewed by: Joanne Ostrow
    Sep 11, 2013
    60
    The talented cast and upbeat pilot work in the series’ favor, but if the half-hour is to be more than a platform for Williams’ improv, the story will have to go deeper. And make us care.
  5. Reviewed by: Rob Owen
    Sep 25, 2013
    60
    It shows the most potential as a buddy comedy focused on Mr. Williams and Mr. Wolk. By comparison, Ms. Gellar’s character is a wet blanket.
  6. Reviewed by: Erik Adams
    Sep 25, 2013
    50
    The episode has the propulsive pace of a CBS hour-long, but that can leave the fun parts of a single-camera sitcom (like the jokes) behind in its dust. Above all, The Crazy Ones is safe.
  7. Reviewed by: Brian Tallerico
    Sep 26, 2013
    20
    The whole thing is so poorly conceived and executed.... It’s a misfire for an undeniable TV talent.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 24
  2. Negative: 7 out of 24
  1. Sep 27, 2013
    10
    The pilot was really fast paced, the 20 minutes felt like 5 but I already love all the characters. Definitely Ally Mc Beal 2.0. A bunch ofThe pilot was really fast paced, the 20 minutes felt like 5 but I already love all the characters. Definitely Ally Mc Beal 2.0. A bunch of Crazy people with a lot of heart. Can't hardly wait to know them a little bit more and to explore their universe. All the actors have great chemistry together especially Robin Williams and Sarah Michelle Gellar. James Wolk was a nice revelation and on top of that Kelly Clarkson was hilarious. Yep, this is great TV. The show has so much potential, I hope the writers will meet my expectations. The next episodes should focus a little bit more on the father daughter relationship. This is where, IMO, The Crazy Ones could stand out of the crowd and became a nice "dramedy". Expand
  2. Dec 27, 2013
    10
    I absolutely love this show it's witty, funny and all around entertaining. I would recommend it to anyone that enjoys clever comedy. RobinI absolutely love this show it's witty, funny and all around entertaining. I would recommend it to anyone that enjoys clever comedy. Robin Williams is of course fantastic. Collapse
  3. Feb 6, 2014
    8
    The Crazy Ones is tons of fun. 20 minute episodes feel quick but every moment is entertaining. I can see some opportunities for improvement,The Crazy Ones is tons of fun. 20 minute episodes feel quick but every moment is entertaining. I can see some opportunities for improvement, but Robin Williams is as good as it gets for fast-paced wit and lead characters. With any luck, The Crazy Ones will be able to create something truly special over time. As is, the show is solid, even if it's a bit too immediate or a tad shallow at times. Expand
  4. Nov 7, 2013
    5
    Robin Williams is great as usual, but I don't feel that Geller was cast appropriately. I think she's a great drama actress but don't feel itRobin Williams is great as usual, but I don't feel that Geller was cast appropriately. I think she's a great drama actress but don't feel it works in this role. Overall though, the writing is just not as creative as I think it could be. Storylines just seem too cliche. Expand
  5. Jun 4, 2014
    4
    From episode 4 is going downhill. After the good start of the series builds on a result from 4. The episode actions degenerated into boringFrom episode 4 is going downhill. After the good start of the series builds on a result from 4. The episode actions degenerated into boring 08/15 mass-produced goods.
    Gellar and Williams maintain the quality of the series, although long-distance high but one episode after 10 had only half the audience says a lot.
    It lacks the continuity in the quality of the episode acts.
    Expand
  6. Oct 4, 2013
    2
    The pilot episode featuring McD as the client left me cold. Williams is Williams. He's annoying. Though some find him funny. I don't. David E.The pilot episode featuring McD as the client left me cold. Williams is Williams. He's annoying. Though some find him funny. I don't. David E. Kelley can't decide whether "The Crazy Ones" is a comedy or sappy drama. Like Robin Williams, there's a feeling of mania and depression. The bottom line is there are few laughs to be found. Geller is a wet blanket. Supposedly the agency creative director, she comes off nebbish, frail and always too conservative. Of course, her dad, Simon (Williams) saves the day. He's a genius. That's what we're lead to believe. Unlike "Mad Men," "Crazy" takes itself to earnestly. There's no sarcasm. No funny look into the inner workings, the "back stage" view "30 Rock" or "The Office" did so well. The writing was much better with those shows. With "Crazy," the jokes fall flat. This is less a comedy, and a show about relationships between the characters. Wolk is fine, but Linklater is genuinely funny...at least subtle. Geller seems uncomfortable. As a person has worked in big Chicago ad agencies, this show has little resemblance to an actual agency. Though one of the co-creators came from one. This is a fantasy world. A platform for Williams' tired roller coaster ride of humor, if it is indeed humorous. I just saw the second episode. While a bit better than the pilot, Geller still seemed like a deer in the headlights. Oh, and Wolk and Linklater seem to be the only creative team working...with huge, big name clients. Amazing stamina. Workhorses. Like episode 1, 2 closed with a sappy feel good ending. Uh huh, just like real advertising. I just want the show to be funny. It just isn't. Expand
  7. Nov 9, 2013
    0
    This show is terrible. The actors are good, however the writing and plot line is horrible. I could not even get through the first episode. IThis show is terrible. The actors are good, however the writing and plot line is horrible. I could not even get through the first episode. I feel the whole work concept is very boring and poorly written and even after watching the first episode I was not completely sure what their job was. Not funny Expand

See all 24 User Reviews

Trailers