• Network: NBC
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 20, 2010
  • Season #: 1
User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 140 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 140
  2. Negative: 26 out of 140

Review this tv show

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 11, 2010
    10
    The flashbacks and complex plot may be annoying at some levels, but when you start putting the pieces together it get so much better. The writing is brilliant and although I have little to no clue on what is going on, it only makes me want to watch the show more and figure it out.
  2. Sep 28, 2010
    2
    Two episodes is enough. The Event is just another overblown, glossy, Bruckheimer-esque action thriller with a soap opera-ready cast and plot holes big enough to fly the vanishing jetliner through. The producers clearly wanted to cash in on the popularity of 24 and Lost, but the show lacks the tension and edge that both of those former series managed to carry on occasion. Despite the mystery of the conspiracy theories and the ulterior motives of some characters, The Event falls flat on several levels. It doesn't engage the viewer or give us any characters that hold our interest. It's like one big game of Sims where you drop random people into a prefab plot and just play things out. If you want intelligence-insulting, mindless action TV with plastic actors and no substance, then The Event is perfect for you. For all the explosions, bloodcurdling screams, chases and tense confrontations it has, the show simply has a limited brain and no soul. Expand
  3. Oct 12, 2010
    5
    Good premise, but bad execution. None of the characters I particularly like or relate to. At least with Flash Forward, you related to the characters in some shape or form. The time shifting in the episodes is a bit jarring, I agree.
  4. Sep 21, 2010
    9
    I did not know what this show was all about when I started watching. I will say that for a change I was actually excited to see the following episode. It's got good acting and what would seem to be good possibilities. I have been fooled before though I remember the first Fringe I thought was good and it just went downhill from there. We shall see!
  5. Sep 22, 2010
    7
    I have no doubt whatsoever that this series will leave us without answers in the same way that Lost did, that The X-Files did, etc. But the first episode peeled back just enough layers of the onion to keep me interested. Ritter is a perfect casting choice, and his girlfriend (fiance?) seems solid. Her father (from Gilmore Girls) is terrific - hope he survives the opening couple of episodes. The presidential storyline seems a little on-the-nose, as does the detainees situation. Truly "ripped from the headlines." And that bed in cabin on the cruise ship looked criminally large compared to what I've seen, but I'll let that one go. Count me in for at least another episode or two. Expand
  6. Oct 15, 2010
    6
    I can't get sucked into this like Lost and then feel nothing but disappointment after years of watching. Maybe I'll wait until it's all said and done to watch the whole series (if I'm told it was worth it), or maybe my interest in where that plane went will get the better of me by tomorrow. Who knows.
  7. Sep 21, 2010
    6
    Here's the thing:

    This show has so much promise. But because of Lost ruining that genre, it's going to be hard to succeed. "Oh great. Another show where we have no idea what the hell is going on? No thanks. Not falling for this one again."

    I love these kinds of shows, but Lost did ruin the genre to succeed. The characters in this episode are very dull. Except for Jason Ritter who does a
    great job for his character. But that's all. And with that, the show and writers should focus on him being the main character and write the story around him. Don't write the story based around multiple characters like Lost did. Because of all the previews for this show, you already know what happens in the pilot. Which is a shame, there were no surprises for this episode at all. Not even the closing line when a big accident is about to occur, "I didn't tell you everything." Well no duh. It's a shame that Lost ruined this genre, because shows like FlashForward and "The Event" now have to suffer. Not the greatest episode, but there's still promise. But they can't keep going "17 minutes ago" or "13 months ago" or "11 days ago." It ruins it. Expand
  8. Sep 23, 2010
    1
    Dumb, predictable, preachy. We get it. CIA=Evil. War on Terror=Evil. Secret/Evil/Unconstitutional CIA Prison=GITMO. Location of said EVIL PRISON (Alaska) = Sarah Palin. Event President=Obama. Confusing, constantly time jumping, unlikeable cast, etc. Don't waste your time like I did.
  9. Sep 26, 2010
    3
    Really don't care about any of the characters. None of the actors stand out. And the multiple timelines and plots have jarring transitions and not much appeal. Hope it gets better quick because there are a lot of other things I can spend my time on.
  10. Sep 29, 2010
    5
    Couple issues with the pilot. First, too much time shifting. I like the idea but not every 5 minutes. Second, the hurricane force winds when the plane was coming to the ground, was a bit over done.

    Ill give it another three episodes or so too really hook me.
  11. Nov 6, 2010
    5
    The Event tries too hard. It may have some great actors and intense action sequences, but that's hardly even half of what makes up a good t.v show. The first episode was good, until the writers decided to be unoriginal and blame everything on aliens. Despite it's solid attempt, the Event doesn't provide viewers with likable characters or an original plot.
  12. Nov 7, 2010
    5
    "The Event" suffers from the typical "X-Files/Lost/FlashForward"syndrome which can be summed up like this: We want you to believe that something incredible and world-shattering is happening but we cannot show it to you, tell you exactly what it is or even devote the majority of time to dealing with that because we didn't really work it out well and if we spell out what we mean, it might sound idiotic and be really underwhelming if we ever have to give you the pay-off... therefore will go to endless (and pointless) flashbacks to prolong the back-story which does not interest anyone. Alien conspiracy plot might have been interesting (at least, more interesting than the horrible new "V") but only 15% of the show (if that) is centered around the only thing that matters. The rest is pointless back-story of a bunch of seriously bland characters and that is extremely annoying and unfair to the viewers. Watching this feels like watching a 90 minute football (soccer) match in which there is only 10 minutes of play and the rest of the time there are clips which show what the goalkeeper had for breakfast, who the midfielder was in love with five years ago and why the manager wears a white scarf on Sundays. Expand
  13. Sep 22, 2010
    3
    NBC's the Event had just finished airing its first episode, and man was it completely stupid with its horrendous transitions, and pacing within its story. It goes from future tense to present tense then to future again, then lastly to the past then back to the future then to the present! How ridiciously retarded the st...ory was told, and on top of all of that it turns out this is a science fiction show near the end! Expand
  14. Nov 19, 2010
    4
    Let's just think for a second. What two popular, long running shows ended this year? Lost and 24. So the people behind this show thought, what if we combined those two shows together, the outcome was this show.
  15. Oct 20, 2010
    7
    It definitely holds my attention, and makes me want to watch the next episode. but other then that, its just an average syfi show that offers a lot and keeps me wondering, but its not the best directing, acting, or writing
  16. Nov 9, 2010
    6
    I have watched The Event hoping it would get better. Instead I hate the Timeline back and forth because it tells the viewer absolutely nothing. We know that these people/aliens are in the present so what is it telling it us with the constant time shifting. The acting is excellent but every new week they add one more ridiculous thing to the subplot. In 24 there was bloody murder without apology. In The Event Thomas must apologize for hurting a fly. At some point they have to let the viewer in on what is going on. I will give it just a few more shows before I pull the plug on The Event. Expand
  17. Oct 5, 2010
    0
    There is little entertainment value to be gained from watching this show. It's just another overdone cookie-cutter plot involving government conspiracies and an alien cover-up, put together with incessant flashacks that frustrate you right from the start. What is most laughable is how seriously this show takes itself - but it's clearly made for the intelligence of a pre-teen. An African American President of the US with a Hispanic name - can we please be a bit less obvious about who we're trying to brainwash here? This will be a one-season Event at most. Expand
  18. Oct 17, 2010
    9
    It has the potential to be one of the best tv shows ever. The plot is intriguing and complex, the actors are very good and the special effects are well made and realistic. The continuous flashbacks seem to be the only negative aspect of the first episode, but overall, very good tv show and with huge potential. Let's hope they keep this up.
  19. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    I think The Event is a good show but it started bad. I didn't like the storyline where Leila was kidnapped and her boyfriend was trying to find her. It wasn't interesting. The show focused too much on that. (And let's not forget the annoying flashbacks)... But The Event became so much better once that story arc was over. When the show started to focus on the President and Sophia then it became good. The war between the "Other people" (Aliens) and humans was very interesting. The acting is good and it has some great characters. I really like Simon,Sophia , and the President.

    It's a shame the ratings aren't so good :/. I don't think season 2 will happen. :((((((( i give it 9 points because the 2nd half season was really good.
    Expand
  20. Oct 20, 2010
    5
    Already stopped watching, unfortunately. Characters didn't do it for me, and the time shifting is annoying. For a serial drama it doesn't really end off on cliffhangers...at least I didn't feel they were.
  21. Sep 21, 2010
    7
    I really didn't expect a lot from the first episode. I do hope they don't try to make a "new Lost" cause they will fail in that aspect. From what I saw they are just using the flash forward aspect shows are now using, but that won't make the show in itself. The writing and directing of the show will what makes it a success or a failure. Oh and the Ritter kid, will be a star guarantee it put it in the bank... Expand
  22. Sep 21, 2010
    6
    Love the cast. Hated the editing. I don't mind a few flashbacks. But the constant "X Months/Days Earlier" got nauseating quick. I'm interested enough to watch a few more. I'll decide from there whether or not to keep watching.
  23. Sep 21, 2010
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I still have not seen an episode of 24 and I lost interest in Lost after the first season. So, far I am not impressed with the non-linear timeline, the constant flashbacks, and trying to fit the show for the ADD crowd. The scenes were way to short to develop any character involvement for me, it was more of putting a puzzle together to get to the next piece without seeing what the overall image was about. I actually started to lose where I was because i was not paying attention to it anymore, I was just focusing on small details like, I wonder why the Marshal was asking a potential terrorist (main character, we find out after the show he is not) about what to do. It is a pilot, so I will give the second episode another chance, but I am not impressed. Expand
  24. Sep 22, 2010
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Too much suspension of reality already and the over use of hand-held shake cameras make many parts of this un-watchable. It implication of a superior race or aliens immediately turned me off. Show is way too choppy (unless it is trying to corner the ADD crowd). I was a huge fan of 24 and this is no 24. Expand
  25. Sep 23, 2010
    2
    Total non-event. This was a shocker. A poor man's Flashforward, which was another poor man's Lost. They'll ask infuriating questions about characters we don't care about for the entire season and I already (as you've guessed) just don't care about anyone or anything about this show. The non-linear story-telling is trite and unsubtle, and the twist at the end screams - oh wow I couldn't think of anything more underwhelming. Expand
  26. Sep 25, 2010
    9
    The Event is an exciting attention grabbing show that has non stop action. The suspense and storyline just raises so many questions. I hope it doesn't spiral off into another form of LOST and becomes to confusing to understand. I think the event will be the TV event of the fall.
  27. Sep 25, 2010
    1
    Just couldn't get into this and really didn't want to try, after Heroes, Lost, Flashforward just tired of this genre. Too many characters to follow, get to know, jumps around too much maybe 6 months before the cancel, that is the main reason to not get involved
  28. Sep 28, 2010
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The whole feel kept me expecting Mark Benford & Dimetri to breeze across the screen (Flash Forward). An alien nation with female leader and some living amongst us (V), an African American president doing the right thing (24), not to mention the back & forth timeline - where was Jack in that plane crash? (Lost). Un-Inspiring and Un-Original. Expand
  29. Sep 30, 2010
    10
    There are many whining babies on here complaining about The Event so I'm gonna do my part by saying positive things about a show which I think is very intriguing. I read a user review which said the acting is bad - absolutely not true! I read another review which said that nothing is happening on the Event. But after three episodes I know for sure that that is not the case. What I have seen thus far is a complex mystery plot which is unfolding by way of dramatic dialogue and light action scenes. It is evident that there is a mysterious group with two factions that don't exactly see eye to eye. This sets up future dramatic conflicts. The trailer for episode four shows mutiny within the mysterious group. To say after 1-3 episodes that this show will have no answers is simply being petty. It's got drama, action, complex mystery and it's fast paced. Expand
  30. Oct 3, 2010
    6
    It's an interesting take on the Lost Premise, however The Event is not seeking to keep all secrets for very long which is good. As it will get boring after awhile. I do not see the Event lasting for more then 3 seasons. As the title itself indicates.
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. It's too soon to tell if The Event, the latest entry in the networks' race to find the next "Lost," isn't merely the next "FlashForward," since, by the end of an intriguing-enough pilot, you won't know much more than you did coming in (including whether NBC's willing to hang in there long enough for us to get some answers). But the cast is good.
  2. After all those promos, people have the feeling they've seen the whole first episode, which they probably have.
  3. With its large ensemble cast and frequent flashbacks--visiting and revisiting events that occurred from 23 minutes to 13 months in the past--watching Event is like riding a contraption that is half time machine and half bumper car.