• Network:
  • Series Premiere Date: Sep 20, 2010
  • Season #: 1
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 141 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: Scott Patterson, Ian Anthony Dale, Zeljko Ivanek
  • Summary: While investigating the disappearance of his fiancee (Sarah Roemer), Sean Walker (Jason Ritter) discovers an international conspiracy that may or may not involve the president (Blair Underwood).
  • Genre(s): Drama, Action & Adventure, Suspense
  • Creator: Nick Wauters
  • Show Type: Ended
  • Season 1 premiere date: Sep 20, 2010
  • Episode Length: 60
  • Air Time: 09:00 PM
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. Will The Event turn out to be another "FlashForward" or the next "Lost"? I'm betting cautiously on the latter.
  2. NBC only made the premiere available for review, so I can't offer any guarantees that subsequent episodes will not disappoint, but as a pilot, "The Event" gets this series off to a rollicking start.
  3. The Event seems prepared to make its characters as complex as its storyline, always an event worth attending.
  4. Reviewed by: Matt Roush
    70
    The pilot is such a mixed bag it's hard to predict. Often very entertaining as it piles on the mysteries and cliffhanger climaxes, it's also hopelessly and almost comically convoluted, presenting scenes with a "23 minutes earlier" or "13 months earlier" or "11 days earlier" tag with such frequency you end up barely knowing, let alone caring, when and where you are at any given time.
  5. Its pilot episode (which will be repeated Saturday from 8-9 p.m.) felt like a fusion of "E.T." and a "Frontline" documentary on Guantanamo.
  6. 60
    The Event is an intentional mess, daring you to go wherever it thinks it's going. Within the first five minutes, potential viewers will have to make their own personal choice: Am I up for this?
  7. Reviewed by: Dan Fienberg
    30
    Maybe there is some steak to accompany this sizzle, but I wish somebody would bring it to the table already. It seems rude to extend an invitation to so many people without delivering an event.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 50
  2. Negative: 14 out of 50
  1. Oct 11, 2010
    10
    The flashbacks and complex plot may be annoying at some levels, but when you start putting the pieces together it get so much better. TheThe flashbacks and complex plot may be annoying at some levels, but when you start putting the pieces together it get so much better. The writing is brilliant and although I have little to no clue on what is going on, it only makes me want to watch the show more and figure it out. Expand
  2. Sep 30, 2010
    10
    There are many whining babies on here complaining about The Event so I'm gonna do my part by saying positive things about a show which I thinkThere are many whining babies on here complaining about The Event so I'm gonna do my part by saying positive things about a show which I think is very intriguing. I read a user review which said the acting is bad - absolutely not true! I read another review which said that nothing is happening on the Event. But after three episodes I know for sure that that is not the case. What I have seen thus far is a complex mystery plot which is unfolding by way of dramatic dialogue and light action scenes. It is evident that there is a mysterious group with two factions that don't exactly see eye to eye. This sets up future dramatic conflicts. The trailer for episode four shows mutiny within the mysterious group. To say after 1-3 episodes that this show will have no answers is simply being petty. It's got drama, action, complex mystery and it's fast paced. Expand
  3. Apr 19, 2011
    8
    After watching the first few episodes the show seemed kind of lame and same old generic thriller. But I continued watching it since there isAfter watching the first few episodes the show seemed kind of lame and same old generic thriller. But I continued watching it since there is nothing else good on at the same time slot. I'm fairly surprised at how this show developed quickly. It became very interesting, and there aren't that many questions to answer so it's nowhere near the complexity and confusion of "Lost". Overall, I like the plot now, but the characters not so much still which is not a big problem for me. Expand
  4. Oct 3, 2010
    6
    It's an interesting take on the Lost Premise, however The Event is not seeking to keep all secrets for very long which is good. As it will getIt's an interesting take on the Lost Premise, however The Event is not seeking to keep all secrets for very long which is good. As it will get boring after awhile. I do not see the Event lasting for more then 3 seasons. As the title itself indicates. Expand
  5. Nov 28, 2010
    5
    The premise of The Event was promising, but the show suffers from sloppy writing. It is not a LOST or any other recent popular show, despiteThe premise of The Event was promising, but the show suffers from sloppy writing. It is not a LOST or any other recent popular show, despite the claims of the advertising. The show jumps around between different characters (a guy and his girl, the president, the "others" to borrow from lost, etc), but after the third episode, I found the show to be more annoying than intriguing. Examples of sloppy writing: Vice president is able to slip is secret service detail for a clandestine meeting, where is would be assassin saves his life leading him to want to come clean. Of the 10+ secret service agents who are looking for him, apparently only 1 decides to secure his location and takes him out into the middle of an open street where a van just pulls up and explodes.... Come On! At least pretend some of you audience has some intelligence. Ironically, it might be just because this show lacks intelligence that it will remain on the air for years to come.....I gave it 5, as it is a step above most of the trash on TV. Expand
  6. Feb 7, 2013
    3
    Despite the frankly ludicrous amount of jumping back and forth between different time-lines The Events pilot episode certainly had enoughDespite the frankly ludicrous amount of jumping back and forth between different time-lines The Events pilot episode certainly had enough intrigue and mystery to bring me back for the following episode. From then on however, obviously inspired by the success of Lost, the show became needlessly convoluted to a point where the creators seemed to being trying to make things seem more complicated than they really were. By the mid-season break we had actually learnt very little. Without the pilot episodes constant jumping around it also quickly became clear that both the writing and acting were mediocre at best. As a result by the time the show returned after its extended break it was very difficult to muster any sort of enthusiasm.

    Deservedly cancelled after its one and only season this is not a show I would recommend even to the most ardent sci-fi fan.
    Expand
  7. Oct 5, 2010
    0
    There is little entertainment value to be gained from watching this show. It's just another overdone cookie-cutter plot involving governmentThere is little entertainment value to be gained from watching this show. It's just another overdone cookie-cutter plot involving government conspiracies and an alien cover-up, put together with incessant flashacks that frustrate you right from the start. What is most laughable is how seriously this show takes itself - but it's clearly made for the intelligence of a pre-teen. An African American President of the US with a Hispanic name - can we please be a bit less obvious about who we're trying to brainwash here? This will be a one-season Event at most. Expand

See all 50 User Reviews

Trailers